We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spirituality and Tranquillity”
Review of Guesthouse Arsenis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Arsenis
Ranked #25 of 29 Kalambaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A fantastic place to stay, with great owners, great hospitality - all in a marvellus spot near the Meteora. The rooms are comfortable and spotless, and the location is so convenient to enjoy the wonderful monasteries. Excellent value, consider nowhere else in the region.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Arsenis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

The guesthouse is in a wonderful location with great views of Meteora. The room was simple and clean, and OK for the price. Food was average but what really put us off was the overly touchy-feely host and the fact that he tried to make us pay an additional "online booking fee" which we refused to pay and were not impressed by.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Unlike the previous reviewers, my husband and I were not enamored with Arsenis. It wasn't terrible, but I don't know if I would stay here again if I were to ever go back to Meteora. We found the owner to be a bit obnoxious and he certainly did not create a relaxing environment. The other hotel guests felt the same way, with one couple even canceling their second night.

Pros: great location, quiet, nice view from balcony, free wifi (although it wasn't the strongest single in the rooms)
Cons: terrible shower (there was no place to hang the shower head), mediocre breakfast that was certainly not worth the extra cost, really uncomfortable bed that squeaked every time you turned, hotel owner was obnoxious

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laut0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a truly wonderful place to stay, by being away from the two main centres you maintain the spirituallity and tranquility of this wonderful site, rather than living in the tourist mayhem down below. A family run establishment, the hospitality is great. Although the menu is not extensive, who needs more than charcoal grilled meat anda Greek salad, washed down with an Amstel. The rooms are comfortable and spotless, and the location is so convenient to enjoy the wonderful monasteries. Excellent value, consider nowhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms to the east view St Stefano monastery, rooms to the west look over a lovely hillside - upstair...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Immediately upon arrival we were greeted by Costas who helped us carry in our bags and take them to our room, then we were invited from dessert and homemade wine next to a fire. The next day Costas drove us to the monasteries and then continued to appear as if summoned and then take us to the next monastery. The meals were homemade and simple but really good. Again we shared drinks with our host and sat and talked with Costas. Like others have said Costas is friendly and make anyone feel welcomed, his mother doesn't speak English but will make you a drink if you want one. I would highly recommend staying here and with the amazing views of the monasteries and great location, you can't beat it! Seriously this an must stay hotel. Patios were amazing, rooms were very clean, and everything was available if we asked for it. "You very nice, very kind, very friendly" you'll get it if you stay here.

Room Tip: If you do want to go to bed, be sure you are direct and ready to immediately get up otherwise you ma...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footballgurl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

After staying just one night at this guesthouse (we wish it had been more), we were already part of this big family. This guesthouse is runned by their owners, who are very polite, helpful and friendly.
Dinner is homemade as well as the breakfast.
The overall place is clean and tidy.
What makes this place special is the people that goes out of their daily responsabilities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We needed a telephone line and a internet connection all together in the same room for two hours in a quiet place due to a particular job need. Despite the fact that we had already checked out, they provided us with those things, even though it was not their concern any more.
Keep in mind that it is very good placed, but that you need a car to get there by night as it is near the monasteries.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have been travelling around Turkey, Italy and Greece for the past couple of months, staying in small family owned hotels and guest houses wherever possible.
Much more than any others we have experienced, at Arsenis you are almost made to feel part of the family. Costas and his mother are very welcoming and obviously enjoy spending time with their guests. Costas speaks passable English (and I suspect a few other languages), while his mother speaks very little. You rarely pass through the lounge without the offer of a chat, some help or a small treat. Costas is the most generous host we have encountered, "very kind, very nice, very friendly" (you will get it after you have stayed;). Indeed he is so sociable that you need to be firm if want to leave and go to bed!
Our room had a wonderful view over the family olive grove from the balcony. It had basic furnishings, but was very clean. The bathroom only had a small shower with a curtain and no hook for the handheld rose which made showering a little awkward.
The free wifi worked from the lounge and to a lesser extent from some rooms. The complimentary breakfast was basic but OK for the price.
I would recommend Arsenis to anyone who was after a Greek local experience.
BTW, we loved Meteora and would love to go back again in nice clear weather, rather than the thick fog we encountered on this trip.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the olive grove are nice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalambaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaikis
Hotel Kaikis
#8 of 34 in Kalambaka
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meteora Central Hostel
Meteora Central Hostel
#2 of 13 in Kalambaka
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Philoxenia
Philoxenia
#18 of 29 in Kalambaka
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Toti Boutique Rooms
Toti Boutique Rooms
#10 of 29 in Kalambaka
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mythos Guesthouse
Mythos Guesthouse
#11 of 29 in Kalambaka
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Greco
Hostel Greco
#3 of 13 in Kalambaka
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Arsenis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Arsenis

Address: East road of Meteora | East Road of Meteora, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kalambaka
Price Range: $39 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Arsenis 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse "Arsenis" is located in the eastern area of Meteora, in the mid of an olive grove, with fantastic view to the rocks, the thessalian valley and the mountains of Pindos. Fully equipped rooms with A/C, TV, bathroom and WC in each room, central heating, fireplace in the reception, free high speed Internet access, a restaurant and above all traditional greek hospitality and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Arsenis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing