We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel, accommodating owners, beautiful setting!”
Review of Alsos House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alsos House
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel, accommodating owners, beautiful setting!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Alsos house is located very close to the monasteries of Meteora, in the heart of Kalambaka. It has stunning views at night-time, and offers the perfect setting for couples/families with a desire to climb the rocks!
The owner speaks brilliant Greek and English, is very accommodating and provided us with a map of the area and recommendations for routes to walk and climb. The rooms are sufficient in size and have their own balconies (one of the family rooms also has its own kitchenette). Breakfast is pleasant but not excessive - cornflakes, bread and jam, coffee/juice, and is served in the kitchen which guests have open access to and can use at their leisure. The wifi is free with relatively good signal.
My only slight criticism of Alsos house is that the showers lack power, otherwise it is perfect!
Overall, I would recommend Alsos house to couples of all ages and small families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    62
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
66
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great location about 400 meters away from the bus stop and taxi stand. Its a the foot of Meteora and near town. Excellent view of the rock. Friendly staff with good recommendation on trek and restaurants. No frills hotel. Rooms are clean with shower curtain. The only disappointment is that I cant find any breakfast as others had mentioned here. Only a few cold bread, butters, jam, orange juice in the fridge at the self service kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Beautiful rooms. Top location for hikes. Well stocked kitchen. Everything which is written about this hotel is true. We would definitely come back. :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dido37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had prebooked this hotel prior to leaving Athens and was not in the least disapointed. We started the hike 200 meters from the front door. The hotel owner is very accomidating and even helped us connect with 21 greek relatives with his extra efforts and without a charge. The breakfast was really nice and plentiful! THANKS!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

What a great place to stay! The rooms are clean, and very quiet! I am only mentioning this because it is a bit noisy in Athens, where I had stayed previously. It is a very comfortable place to stay with a wonderful view of the Meteora rocks! Only a matter of minutes for a taxi to take you up to the monastaries. Plus, Yiannis is a true wealth of information! He is extrordinarily friendly, and knows a lot about the area. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDeMora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My friend and I stayed for two nights. Great value. excellent view from the little balcony of the room, kitchen, ok bathroom, good bed, clean, quiet, nice host, chairs and tables on the veranda, internet, excellent suggestions on what to do, how to get there, where to eat dinner etc.
Easy access - also for backpackers . taxi to the railway station was 4 euros.

Short walking distance to cafes, restaurants, shops.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We received a recommendation for this hotel from a friend who'd been there before. The hotel staff was friendly and was really accommodating when we took a wrong turn and showed up late at night. I'd highly recommend visiting meteora if you are staying in mainland Greece. Incredibly beautiful and peaceful. This hotel was a good location and good price. If I visit again, I'd definitely stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klwalker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalambaka hotels
0.9 mi away
Tsikeli Hotel
Tsikeli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kastraki
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dellas Boutique Hotel
Dellas Boutique Hotel
#1 of 34 in Kalambaka
1,191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kastraki
Hotel Kastraki
#9 of 34 in Kalambaka
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
#5 of 34 in Kalambaka
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Meteora
Hotel Meteora
#16 of 34 in Kalambaka
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaikis
Hotel Kaikis
#8 of 34 in Kalambaka
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsos House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsos House

Property: Alsos House
Address: 5 Kanari Konstadinou, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alsos House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The''ROOMS & APARTMENTS'' ,ALSOS HOUSE, is a good selection of small lodgings that can be found in the town of Kalambaka, clean rooms with good quality, price and fantastic views of the cliffs. Hiking in the primitive path through a green landscape with breathtaking views of the morning towards the monasteries, Holy Trinity and St. Stephen, can elevate your spirit, to travel in time and have a refreshing day. Alsos House is located in the Old Town of Kalambaka, literally in the shadow of the huge towering rock ''ALSOS'' (Monastery dedicated to the chain that was in the middle of St. Peter), is ideal for families, friends, and couples who want to explore the historical and natural monuments near the town of Kalambaka. You are welcome and make this holiday a life time experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alsos House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alsos Hotel Tríkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing