We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to visit meteora”
Review of Orfeas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orfeas Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great to visit meteora”
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and also has a swimming pool. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfy. There is wifi at the reception, but no signal in the rooms. However, we were on a tour and had dinner at the hotel, but the food was awful albeit the portions were large and numerous. On the bright side, the breakfast was good, with good variety.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    57
    54
    24
    10
See reviews for
42
56
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here as part of a side-trip excursion that I took from Athens. Accommodation in this hotel was provided as part of this package.

Overall, my stay was comfortable here. It is located close to the main shopping district called Trikalon Street of this quite small town. There was a serene atmosphere prevailing, which I think has to do with the size of the town. There was a view of one of the monasteries of Meteora from the entrance to the hotel.

My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a safe in the room and a balcony with a view of the swimming pool and the faraway mountains which I really liked. The hotel personnel was courteous and helpful. They offered some helpful suggestions before I took an evening walk after my arrival.

Minor drawbacks to this hotel include the water pressure in the shower, slow water drainage speed in the sink and the fairly ordinary food that was offered for breakfast/dinner. However, as a traveler these did not matter to me much on a one night stay as I was excited about visiting the monasteries perched on top of the hills above.

If I visit this town again, I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYPhysician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I organised a Shool group of 35 Australians that stayed here on 19/4/11 to 21/4/11. The location is excellent with one of the Monasteries precariously perched high up on a mountain nearby (visited it also) Service was spectacular from every person here, they bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable including providing advice on where to go and what to see. Rooms were clean,pleasant and spacious. Dining was Greek traditional and of high quality and they had no mproblems adjusting meal times for such a large group. I would definately stay here again as it's a short walk to shopping and restaurants. Even though it was out of season, they were happy to get the swimming pool going for the many students in my group.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubencanobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Firstly, this hotel is a budget hotel. So if you're looking for luxury, look somewhere else. The rooms are basic (ours was a twin-bed) with a small TV, and an attached bath. That's about it, no more frills here. The dining hall is spacious and pleasantly done up. The buffet dinner and the breakfast the subsequent day were quite nice. All in all, for the price, you cant complain. No problem whatsoever for a night-stop on the Meteora tour.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tanmay_Joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Terrible stay. Beds not comfortable, no water pressure, hairblower does not work, balcony chairs dirty, no fridge, safe. Breakfast terrible. Everyonje else must be visiting 2 star hotel if they think this great. As far as we are concerned this is no star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalambaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scotts Valley CA
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Probably the nicest of the three hotels on our package tour, the Orfeas is just a few steps away from the shops and restaurants of Kalambaka. It looks fairly new and had the only functioning shower on this trip as well (the hand held actually can be rigged up as a shower head).

The bathroom is large enough to accommodate two people at the same time and the shower setup adequate to contain all of the water in the tub. (by the way, check out the cute tile over the mirror – scenes of Meteora !)

The floors are covered in worn out industrial style carpeting, over a tile floor. It seemed as though tile was the first idea, and then runners were placed the entire length of the hallway and then the same type of rug over most of the bedroom. Perhaps someone told the management that tile is not to the international standard ?? In any case, the tile was much nicer than the rug, so it was a shame to have it covered up !

The room was a bit small and cramped, with desk, chairs, nightstands and twin beds. The furniture was not cheap laminate and the look was spare and clean.
We ran the air conditioner at the max level during dinner and a half hour stroll in the very warm night; even so, it was like sitting in a sauna for another couple of hours before the room was cool enough to take a shower and remain fresh ! In the middle of the night, it felt like the aircon actually stopped and the room heated up again. It wasn’t until after we got up and opened all of the balcony doors that the room was finally cooled down to a comfortable level.

Breakfast was of the “continental” style – meat, cheese, hardboiled eggs, breads, coffee and tea, as well as hot chocolate, olives, tomatoes, canned peaches and Greek yogurt.
There is a lovely garden and pool area for relaxing (if there is time !) There are quite a few tables on the terrace overlooking the pool, which makes breakfast more comfortable, as it was still quite warm in the dining room, even with the doors open.
WiFi is available in the lobby; please ask at reception for the security code.

Overall, it is a nice, newish hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel while on a tour to Meteora. It was a nice hotel, very clean, good breakfast, in an excellent location. We had a fantastic view of the monastries at Meteora. Would recommend this hotel for people who would like to stay in Kalambaka who are on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyChocolateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalambaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Divani Meteora Hotel
Divani Meteora Hotel
#6 of 34 in Kalambaka
560 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amalia Hotel Kalambaka
Amalia Hotel Kalambaka
#7 of 34 in Kalambaka
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaikis
Hotel Kaikis
#8 of 34 in Kalambaka
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
#5 of 34 in Kalambaka
59 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Meteora
Hotel Meteora
#16 of 34 in Kalambaka
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alsos House
Alsos House
#11 of 34 in Kalambaka
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orfeas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orfeas Hotel

Property: Orfeas Hotel
Address: 58 Pindou, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Kalambaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orfeas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orfeas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfeas Hotel Tríkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing