We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very satisfy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thirides Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thirides Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Gytheio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very satisfy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a nice hotel, new and modern. The room was big and beautiful. The mediteranean sea was next to the hotel. A wonderful beach and clean sea. The breakfast was ok, traditional cakes. But no parking for the car. We must park on the beach. And many people not from the hotel on the beach and the pool. We never swim at the pool. We stayed in this hotel for three days to see the area. It was nice and old traditional villages. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: It is better not to go on weekends. Many people not from the hotel use the beach umbrelas and the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
30
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trikala, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

i just wanted to thank everyone for the greatest holidays i have ever had,especially and the family who runs this hotel.see you again soon.
P.S:we also loved the beach which was just 30 m from our room's door...we also recommend the italian dishes at the restaurant,they are quiet the best we have ever tried..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kostasmagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

New hotel not very big with good ambience. Just by the great beach with free sunbeds and towels on it and also at the pool. It has a local colour the rooms are spacious and very clean with comfortable mattresses and sea wiew. The staff very friendly. It is a family business. The breakfast among the best I ever had. Very good value for money. (80 euro middle Sept. not weekend). Guys be careful with your cleaning product in the bathroom. Your new tiles will be damaged from calc if you don't use an anti calc liquid and it will be a pitty.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenifoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at thirides beach resort after our round trip. it is the perfect location for relaxing. great beds, beautiful decorated rooms, 30 m to the sea. Breakfast is very good, except for the filter coffee, espresso is not included. If you want to find a good place to eat, just ask the owners, the tips they gave us were very good. We really enjoyed our stay, thank you!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinevioline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thirides hotel is located in Mavrovouni beach, about 1,5 km from Gytheo. It is build in old Mani stone house style and it is build with good taste. Hotel is actually small complex of houses with hotel rooms. Hotel rooms have very good beds and bathrooms. Some of them are with nice patio-terrace, some of them with relatively small balconies. The only small issue we feel was insufficient space for our clothes and belongings and lack of string for drying of swimming suites and beach towels (it was possible to put it over balcony or balcony chairs). Parking is in fron of hotel, and our car was covered soon by dust. But generally it is great hotel, with very friendly and competent staff and incredible good breakfasts. Bread particularly was just fantastic. I would definitely go back, small issue with parking and space for clothes do definitely not overweight style, beauty of rooms and very good location just on beach. There were no signs leading to the hotel. It is necessary to go to the Mavrovouni beach and turn left. Hotel is on right side of the long beach if you look from seaside.

Room Tip: We occupied room 302, whic has some issue with noise insulation and cocodoodledoo from neighborhood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marin881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for almost two weeks, in the beginning of August. It's a new hotel, built just a few meters from the windy beach of Mavrovouni (Gythio is just 4-5 kilometers away).

Hotel's clients have at their disposal brand new and well-designed infrastructure, a nice restaurant, a small pool with a pool bar and sun beds with umbrellas by the beach.

Theoretically.

And that’s because the management's policy is not customer-oriented. Despite all the promises given on the phone that each room has it’s own umbrella, sun beds etc., the fact is that all the aforementioned (plus the pool, restaurant, bar, changing rooms, showers etc.) are given free of charge to noisy and (sometimes aggressive) locals and outsiders.

The result is that you have to wake up very (very) early, in order to occupy a pair of sun beds and an umbrella or a place by the pool, especially on Tuesdays (this is the day that a big cruise ship arrives to Gythio, and dozens of travelers are being carried to the hotel’s beach by taxis).

And this a pity, because the staff is very polite and efficient and the Mediterranean restaurant scores high in terms of food quality (although its prices could be a bit cheaper).

I’m more than sure that this hotel can do a lot better if the family who runs it decides to change strategy.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have curtains or shutters and the morning sun is unforgiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SleeplessInAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paschalia L, Manager at Thirides Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear SleeplessInAthens,
we have posted our response to the review made by your wife two days ago regarding the same complaint. We copy it here as it responds to this review, too.

Dear MysteryTraveler2013,
We are always open to sincere and constructive comments as they help us improve our services. We are glad that you have enjoyed several aspects of your stay with us, such as location, facilities, friendly and polite staff, excellent breakfast and our nice restaurant.
Regarding your main complaint, I think your comments are a little bit exaggerated and not fair with us and let me explain why. During the days of your stay the hotel has been fully booked (as we are talking about the peak summer holiday season of mid-August) and most of our guests were families with children which, as expected, were playing in the pool area and the beach. So, the people and the children you are mentioning were not locals, visitors or neighbors but hotel's guests. And the kids were not unattended but were accompanied by their parents. Concerning the beach, even the huge beach of Mavrovouni might indeed be a little bit crowded in mid-August and we cannot forbid people to use it. We are reserving though the sunbeds and umbrellas for our clients. In any case, when you once complained that all the umbrellas and sunbeds were occupied, we found a solution in less than ten minutes.
You forgot also to comment that you traveled with a small dog (something you didn't mention during your booking) which potentially could have displeased other guests but in spite of this we treated your dog with the best possible way. I have also seen that you have just published a second review for the same stay with the same complaint which I think is quite unfair and even malicious to us (review title: “Nice but...”).
Finally, I would like to state that we will take into account your comments as we do with the opinion of ALL our guests and we will keep trying hard to satisfy ALL our guests' needs in the best possible way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated with quality linen and toiletries. Cleanliness is impeccable. The staff extremely friendly and helpful - the owners and their 4 children are actively involved in the day to day running of the hotel and it makes all the difference. We were there with our two daughters (a 3yr old and a 6mo old) and they really went out of their way to help us with the children and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The beach is lovely and just 20 metres from the entrance of the hotel - you have an umbrella and 2 deck chairs that go with the room as well as beach towels. The food is fantastic: probably the best breakfast you can get in Greece made with local produce; a local lady cooks the daily lunch special (proper Greek home cooking with fresh ingredients); and the owners run the hotel restaurant with an Italian inspired menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grigoris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paschalia L, Manager at Thirides Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Grigoris K,
thank you very much for your enthusiastic words! It's always been our focus to try to satisfy our guests' special needs (as in your case with the children) and we feel really proud when our efforts meet their expectations in both the accommodation and the restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming again to Mavrovouni!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gytheio
1.6 mi away
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
12.7 mi away
Alas Resort & Spa
Alas Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Elea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aktaion Resort
Aktaion Resort
#2 of 12 in Gytheio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mareggio Exclusive Residences & Suites
1.9 mi away
Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land
0.2 mi away
Villa Drossia
Villa Drossia
#6 of 23 in Gytheio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thirides Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thirides Beach Resort

Property: Thirides Beach Resort
Address: 1st Beach of Mavrovouni, Gytheio 232 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gytheio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thirides Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Thirides Beach Resort is a complex of newly-built stone buildings featuring a swimming pool, restaurant and 2 bars, just 30 meters from the beach of Mavrovouni. It offers elegant accommodation with balcony or patio overlooking the gulf.Surrounded by landscaped gardens, rooms at Thirides Beach feature stone walls and pale colors maintaining the local style of Mani. They include a living area with flat-screen satellite TV, a minibar, high quality linens and Cocomat mattresses. The modern bathroom offers free signature toiletries, bathrobes and hairdryer.Guests can start their day with a buffet breakfast and later taste authentic Mediterranean flavors at the on-site restaurant. In the evening, they can enjoy a drink at the lounge area by the fireplace or by the pool.The picturesque town of Gytheio with its cobbled streets and stone-built houses is 3.5 km away. Free high speed internet access is available in the entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Thirides Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thirides Beach Resort Greece/Gytheio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing