We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent stay at Castello Antico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello Antico Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gytheio
Certificate of Excellence
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excelent stay at Castello Antico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was our second visit in Gytheio. At the first time we stayed at one of the hotels in Gytheio itself. This time we choose to be at Castello Antico and the difference is huge, We stayed here at the begginning of March which is off season but enjoyed the stay so much. The hotel in on the beach in a quiet and peaceful area. We walked on the sandy beach in the morning and early evening and it was magical .
The hospitality there is great. The owner of the hotel and other stuff were so friendly, smiley and welcoming . Breakfast is also very good.
If you intend to visit the Manni area from the eastern side it is highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    34
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
105
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steenbergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Last October my wife and I stayed at Castello Antico for 5 nights and it was our second visit in the last 2 years. The second time felt even better than the excellent 3night first one and we are already looking forward to the next. To describe our feelings and experiences from this hotel, we can only use terms in the superlative form. Everything concerning this hotel as a touristic enterprise providing hospitality, is very well functioning. What mean more to us as guests? The spacious, tasteful, comfortable, quality furnished, clean, well equipped rooms and other public spaces of the hotel, the delightful, super tasty, innovative, with premium quality traditional and homemade products breakfast buffet, the excellent wines and drinks? The sublime location overlooking a magnificent beach with clear water, the stylish architecture … too many to mention. I will go for all the previous but most of all, their warm and kind welcome and their genuine and unselfish effort to treat a guest as a friend. At Castello Antico thanks to Dimitris, Panagiotis, Iliana, Stavroula, Kyriakos, Xenia, Tereza we feel right at home. As far as we are concerned NO complains whatsoever or remarks as they are themselves capable and busy to improve functionality and service IF and where needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiannis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Country chic stone buildings, wide rooms, water and soft drinks in the mini fridge for free, bathroom with window and pool towels, modem for wireless internet connection, excellent breakfast with fresh orange juice you can prepare at the moment and gourmet local delicacies, very safe parking space. Despite the restaurant was closed in off season, they prepared us a rich and tasty "snack" with cold and warm bites at a very reasonable price. The pebble beach is very clean and at the end of October the temperature of the sea is still very pleasant.

small TV with few foreign channels, no hooks and shower gel in the pool showers, not enough shade in summer season but I'm sure they are still working to increase customer's comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view at the first floor in one of the buildings nearest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is made up of a fine set of buildings in a low density arrangement, perpendicular to an outstanding stretch of beach. Rooms are good value if a bit spartan. Host is very friendly and helpful. Served as an excellent entry point to the wonderful Mani region. My one regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outtahere-gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Excellent staff above all,unselfishly kind staff, hospitality, idyllic beach.
Food, especially variety of vegetables and salads, freshness could be much better. Of course the lady that works at the buffet was really kind and cute. After all, this doesn't reduce at all our impressions associated with this beautiful place.Recommendaction without dilemma.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent and impressive room; professional hotel staff; it is a pity that the restaurant/bar/breakfast, although inexpensive, are very bad for the greek standards, you cant even have a real coffe, glass of wine or a simple greek salad

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberis, Διευθυντής at Castello Antico Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear aaret,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Castello Antico hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed in general our accommodations and facilities. We feel uncomfortable for your dissatisfaction regarding our food and beverage choices.
We seek to keep our standards in high levels concerning the quality and the variety. As you already noticed we provide a Mediterranean menu and a breakfast buffet which consists of local goods and handmade specialties, cooked with the traditional way. We provide a big variety of coffee blends for all tastes and our wine list offers local wines from the region of Peloponnese, from the area of Monemvasia and of course, from our vineyard, which we produce by our own every September.
About the Greek traditional salad, we use extra virgin olive oil that we produce in our farm, pure oregano herb from Taygetos Mountain and fresh vegetables from small local producers and farmers which arrive daily in our kitchen.
We will take under consideration your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Castello Antico in future!
Sincerely yours,
Liberis Dimitris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel at a very nice location. The hotel is new, built using the local architecture. The staff is super friendly and they go out of their way to take care of their customers. Their service is top notch and they make your stay very pleasing. Highly recommended for families and also non families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosfami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gytheio
16.5 mi away
Citta dei Nicliani
Citta dei Nicliani
#1 of 1 in Koita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
14.2 mi away
Alas Resort & Spa
Alas Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Elea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
18.7 mi away
Kyrimai
Kyrimai
#1 of 2 in Gerolimenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 2 in Areopoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
18.3 mi away
Ilaeira Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Diamond Palace
Diamond Palace
#6 of 12 in Gytheio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Antico Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Antico Beach Hotel

Property: Castello Antico Beach Hotel
Address: Mavrovouni | Gytheion, Gytheio 232 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gytheio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gytheio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Antico Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
''Castello'' The mni style towerCastello Antico Hotel is built in the traditional architectural style of Mani, in 2010. It is situated on the 5 Km long sandy beach of Mavrovouni, just few Km away from the beautiful sea side town of Gythion, in Peloponnese. Exposed stone walls internally, beautiful beamed ceilings, traditional wooden windows and shutters, balconies with wooden rails as well as a stone exterior, a beautiful garden of roses and bugambilia flowers are some of the features of this hotel. The location of Castello Antico is a crossroads for tours and excursions to Areopolis, Diros caves, the picturesque Vathia, other beaches and villages of Mani area as well as to Mystras and Monemvasia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castello Antico Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Antico Beach Hotel Greece/Gytheio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing