We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land
Nearby Hotels
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pantheon City Hotel(Gytheio)(Great Value!)
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aktaion Resort(Selinitsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stavros Tou Notou(Mavrovouni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alistos Hotel(Gytheio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gythion Hotel(Gytheio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Gi Theon(Mavrovouni)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Palace(Mavrovouni)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
43
10
4
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
10
4
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome grownolive grovespoolmanisea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 64 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked the hotel quite by chance and must say that at first were surprised with the unusual location. We soon realised that we would like it to stay this way I.e. unspoiled, wonderfully restored, hospitable. The whole family looked after us providing us with tons of information. If I would make a suggestion it would be to sign post the place so you know you have arrived! We were present when the lady arrived with the child and never witnessed arrogance (only politeness) her comments are unfair! Her loss they did not stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked and confirm via Booking.com a room for a couple plus kid. We arrived found out that they could only provide a double-room!!! They intended to fil a third bed WITHOUT ANY AVAILABLE ROOM. We can provide photos to prove.
Arrogant and deceiving. If they cannot offer a room for three, don't do it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inesgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Petropoulakis in October 2010 for 1 night. It is definitely an unusual place. We liked the face that it has a story behind it, and the host Dimitri was kind enough to tell it to us. We took a small walk around the territory surrounding the place with Dimitri answering our questions and explaining about family history. It was very interesting. The view is stunning, and the place is quite - just the way we like it. We also liked the fact that the place was remote, though still not too far from Gytheio to have dinner.
Breakfast was very good. We tried to eat it outside near the pool but there were a lot of bees so we had to get into the main building and eat inside.
Our room was very small and did not have enough light in it (the room was up in the little tower). But it was nicely decorated and even though it was tiny it was clean, with high quality furniture.
We didn't use the pool as it was too cold so I can't say anything about it other than it looks nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 9. I would recommend to request a different room as it was too small and a bit dark.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Dimitri and Giota are warm and welcoming hosts. The inn is a short distance from the seaside town of Gytheio on the road to Sparti, making it the perfect location to explore the Mani and also visit the archaeological site of Mistra. Rooms are clean, quiet and well furnished. The bath is modern and well equipped with a powerful shower head and fluffy towels. The large swimming pool was a bonus after a hot day visiting Mistra.
The inn is set amongst the ruins of a small village of stone tower houses that belonged to Dimitri's ancestors. He has beautifully restored some of the buildings and others have been left as he found them.
Be sure to take advantage of the home cooked dinner of typical Greek food, it is a great experience and a real bargain at 15 euros per person including wine. I would be remiss not to mention the breakfast which was truly one our best in Greece. Plates of local cheese, meats, eggs, fresh bread and cakes, fresh squeezed orange juice and a large tray of fresh fruits, many from the farm.
Hotel Petropoulakis is an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorgegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

.....as well as a most relaxing holiday in perfect temperatures. This hill-top hotel has outstanding views over the wooded countryside and towards the sea. The buildings have been lovingly restored to provide a wide selection of bedrooms all with high quality furniture and bedding including - joy of joys - feather pillows. All the rooms are spotlessly clean. Our week long stay coincided with the Greek Orthodox Easter weekend and the family Petropoulakis welcomed us into their traditional celebrations. These included a church service for family and friends on the Easter Saturday followed by a banquet and then the traditional lamb spit roast on the Sunday. Dimitris explained many of the customs to us and how the family have gradually restored the buildings. We could feel ourselves gradually unwinding as we toured the Mani to revisit villages we had last seen 41 years ago! Surprisingly little change except that the roads are now all first class and the countryside appears to be more lovingly managed once again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews