We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Greek experience.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land
Ranked #8 of 17 Gytheio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

.....as well as a most relaxing holiday in perfect temperatures. This hill-top hotel has outstanding views over the wooded countryside and towards the sea. The buildings have been lovingly restored to provide a wide selection of bedrooms all with high quality furniture and bedding including - joy of joys - feather pillows. All the rooms are spotlessly clean. Our week long stay coincided with the Greek Orthodox Easter weekend and the family Petropoulakis welcomed us into their traditional celebrations. These included a church service for family and friends on the Easter Saturday followed by a banquet and then the traditional lamb spit roast on the Sunday. Dimitris explained many of the customs to us and how the family have gradually restored the buildings. We could feel ourselves gradually unwinding as we toured the Mani to revisit villages we had last seen 41 years ago! Surprisingly little change except that the roads are now all first class and the countryside appears to be more lovingly managed once again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although this place is not easy to find (make sure you download the directions map), it is well worth the effort once you get there. We have just stayed one night and wish we has booked another. The owners have lovingly restored this historic family home, and our room although not large was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Our hosts were most hospitable, they found a small bed for our son at no extra charge, and made us feel most welcome. Make sure you stay for the evening meal; the locally produced home cooked food was amazing, meat eaters should try the home made sausage. And breakfast was great too. Add to that the swimming pool and fantastic views, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanwarrencox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We discovered this delightful spot purely by chance. Nestled high up in midst of beautiful unspoilt Mani countryside with incredible 360 panoramas all around. Its private, tranquil, and hidden away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. The owners are delightful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are very special. Beautifully designed and furnished with taste and style and set in either the main tower or smaller buildings around the site. A truly delightful place to relax and unwind by the pool or as a base for many excursions. The small harbour town of Gythion is just about 4 miles away and is a delightful place with neoclassical architecture, many restaurants and cafes and friendly people. we will be back very soon.

Room Tip: There are 3 suites in the Tower, All with amazing views across the countryside down to the sea. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mischa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

On a brisk November evening, we were welcomed by an inviting fire and the warmth of the hosts. We had arrived late in the evening from Athens, but enjoyed a fantastic meal made from home grown products. Everthing was so flavorful. The architecture is typical of the Mani--but the hotel is outfitted with modern comforts and conveniences. Sitting high on the hill, the views are stunning. This could be a destination in and of itself, or used as a base to explore the Mani peninsula. The Petropoulakis family truly loves their land, and it t is "God's Land." We are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giftissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This hotel is just out of this world.......it's a feast for all the senses......beautiful views all around, delicious breakfasts and meals made from all home grown products, lovely rooms with amazingly comfortable beds, the sound of birds waking you up and owned by a really lovely family..
We stayed there for 2 nights and we are already longing to go back.
Pyrgos Petropoulakis is situated high up on a ridge near Gythion in Mani. The views from our bedroom window were stunning.....Mt. Taigetos to the north, endless olive groves all around and the sea to the south.
We have stayed in many beautiful hotels but what we felt in this place is rare....a feeling of truth and sincerity....the family REALLY LOVES the land . The joy of living in harmony with nature is their biggest offering to all the lucky travellers who happen to stop by .

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank travller370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank kookoobadi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gytheio hotels
0 mi away
Alistos Hotel
Alistos Hotel
#4 of 11 in Gytheio
21 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
Thirides Beach Resort
Thirides Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Mavrovouni
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aktaion Resort
Aktaion Resort
#2 of 2 in Selinitsa
151 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pantheon City Hotel
Pantheon City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Gytheio
131 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mareggio Exclusive Residences & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land

Address: Gytheio 23200, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gytheio
Price Range: $92 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petropoulakis God's Land Greece/Gytheio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing