We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalavrita Canyon Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kalavrita Canyon Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kalavrita
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Would not expect to see such a fab hotel in this little town in the mountains. Very Chic! Very Nice ! Very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was wonderful price incredible for a hotel of this calibre if you go to Kalavrita stay here !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Only saw our room which wasn't maybe in the most fantastic location but still thought it was won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandBMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
57
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lenaman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We had a superior room, which was very celan, spacious and nicely decorated. The public areas are nicely decorated, yet a bit more modern than one would expect from a hotel in a rather small village. I am not sure it fits the environment so well.
Parking is available free of charge, which might be useful during the weekends, when the village is rather crowded. Brekafast had the basics.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the canyon hotel and had a very pleasant experience. The hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of the town - the rooms are attractive and very comfortable - the bed is superb!! The breakfast is delicious with a large variety of food to choose from.The modern decor is a pleasant surprise in a country town hotel
Did not try out the spa due to lack of time. Only negative was that the central heating was too hot and could not be regulated.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pafsanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I have just returned from a several day stay in the hotels and I am pretty sure that I will not stay in this hotel again for many reasons.

To start with the good points, this hotel is very nicely decorated (maybe a bit too shinny and goldish, but that's ok), with luxurious rooms and located in the town of kalavryta. Personnel is quite kind and helpful, except a person in the middle 50s (the owner?) with whom we did the check in, who was rather not professional and quite arrogant. But as I said before, personnel was on total one of the pros.

The issue with the hotel is that is a very costly one and services, location and overall value are not near to the cost. For a 4-day stay the charged was 540 €.

Under this perspective the expectations should be high. But the value offered is not...

1) Very poor breakfast. A full american breakfast is expected for a 4 star hotel and not a 2 star hotel breakfast with leftovers from the hotel's restaurant. Cakes, croissants and lots of breakfast delicacies were missing and there was no variety or quality, except maybe a nesspesso coffee machine.

2) Location is comfortable, but nothing special. You have no view since you are in the town, and there are dozens of hotels offering the same convenience and beautiful rooms for a handful less €. And there are many luxurious hotels just outside the town with beautiful view...

3) Rooms are missing the whole joy of a winter hotel. They are luxurius, but very have a strict business decor, no fireplaces, and they are not spacious enough.

4) Doors in the rooms were quite tricky to operate. The door could automatically lock without been closed. So you could hear in your room all day doors continuing slamming. Not quiet I must say...

5) Room service was up to 10:30pm. This is from my point of view unacceptable, especially taking into account that after 1am you have no place to eat anything in the whole town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kostis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at Canyon for 3 nights and the experience was very good. The hotel is very new and is located at the centre of Kalavrita. We booked a superior room which was very well decorated and spacious enough for me my wife and our 5yr old daugter (with extra bed). All facilities were great and bathroom was also very spacious.Personel very polite and helpful. Breakfast was tasty but it may definitely be enriched more. Hotel had also an underground parking which is very helpful especially if you happen to be there in a bad weather. Wifi was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS,GREECE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on October 2011. The hotel is very new, the stuff is friendly and the location is super. It is not the traditional hotel that you would expect in Kalavrita but it has a highly sophisticated sense of modern decoration. We really loved it.
The room is very well equipped, the bed is super (too soft for my taste but you can ask them to change it with a less soft). The bathroom is more than modern, you would expect something like that in a more expensive hotel.
The bar / café areas are very nice and spacious.
The breakfast is not as good as you may expect in this kind of hotel.
In general, the hotel is very good and you are 100m from the center. We would stay again in this hotel, but not for a very expensive price (whatever that means for everybody). The luxury is a lovely ‘extra’ but not really needed inn Kalavrita.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rommel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

A surprising find - very modern with beautiful reception and awesome rooms. I can't remember being in a hotel where I have taken so many photos of the interior! Beautifully decorated bathrooms..Only complaint would be the soft beds... Too soft.
Located in the centre of the small town of Kalavrita.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnni147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalavrita hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel All Seasons
Hotel All Seasons
#5 of 12 in Kalavrita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finday Suites Eco Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Guest House Fanaras
Guest House Fanaras
#2 of 12 in Kalavrita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anerada
Hotel Anerada
#7 of 12 in Kalavrita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kynaitha Hotel
Kynaitha Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalavrita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anesis Hotel
Anesis Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kalavrita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalavrita Canyon Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalavrita Canyon Hotel & Spa

Property: Kalavrita Canyon Hotel & Spa
Address: Kalavrita, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Kalavrita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kalavrita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalavrita Canyon Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Kalavrita Canyon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing