We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chose another hotel if you can”
Review of Hotel Haus Schons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Haus Schons
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mettlach
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I have stayed here before. I had the best sleep I can ever remember so I jumped at the chance to return. My prior stay was in the hotel while this stay was in one of their apartments.

We booked 3 nights.

While a seeming value a 99 euros a night, it turned out to be just not for us.

The suite we were assigned was in the second level (North American 3rd floor) with 39 steps and no elevator. A challenge when you have been travelling a month and have a bunch of luggage.

The entryway to the room smelled of cooking onions when we entered. It dissipated when we left the windows open when we went for a walk.

Upon returning from our walk we decided we would only stay the one night.

The limited kitchen (1 water glass) was dirty (we had to clean everything we touched before using it). I would bet the soup ladle hanging on the kitchen wall still has food stuck to it.

During the night we discovered we could hear the traffic on the busy highway outside of our bedroom window.

At breakfast the next morning we informed the very helpful and cherry staff we would be leaving. They made a call to the main hotel and told us it should not be a problem.

Breakfast did not have a huge selection but was adequate and included an offer to boil, poach, or fry an egg.

When we packed up and went to check out the owner told us she would be charging us for 2 nights as she said she had many inquiries for the suite. I asked her to consider that the reservation did not say there was an early departure fee. She declined and still charged us 2 of the 3 nights. For this reason alone I would say stay somewhere else.

This is a shame as the documents on the owners desk indicate she has a lot of business from the towns major factory.

A few weeks later and we still feel it was a good thing to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2009

Booked this hotel after visiting the website where the rooms looked bright and airy.
On arrival at 1730 we noted what we assumed to be the breakfast tables still with grubby cloths on. The reception was in a cubby and very untidy. The receptionist was in the hall dealing with another guest and attempted to tell us something. We tried to explain that we could not understand and the other guest translated saying that she would be with us shortly. After finishing with the other guest the girl then came down and spoke very good english to us. The room we were shown was dismal felt a bit grubby as did the rest of the hotel. Its only redeeming feature was the view of the river. We declined to stay at the hotel and the girl said she would show us the "house" over the road. She was also taking the previous guest we had met to the "house" so it was a possibilty that she had also rejected her room. We decided not to stay at all and moved on to another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

Ideally located by the river Saar over the bridge from Mettlach and close to the famous Saarschleife, (U bend in the Saar river), this small hotel, run by women is a gem. The owner, Angelike and her staff go out of their way to make your visit as pleasant as it can be. The hotel is spotless and full of homely touches. The breakfast is organic and you can tell. Your breakfast is by appointment so your eggs arrive freshly cooked. On leaving I asked for a flask of hot water to make coffee. I got coffee. I cannot praise this hotel enough. Ask for a riverside view, when you reserve your room.

I reccommend Mettlach as a nicer place to stay than the characterless town of Orschloz, which seems to exist merely to exploit the Saarschleife. A stroll across the bridge brings you to Mettlach where you can find many fine restaurants or you can eat in the Chinese restaurant next to the hotel. Excellent stay.

5  Thank Dexter48507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loetje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiesserich-Peter, Manager at Hotel Haus Schons, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nirak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiesserich-Peter, Inhaber at Hotel Haus Schons, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wenn schon hier übernachtet wird dann nach hinten zur Saar gelegene Zimmer buchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank inot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiesserich-Peter, Inhaber at Hotel Haus Schons, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mettlach
0.6 mi away
Mettlacher Hof
Mettlacher Hof
#3 of 5 in Mettlach
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwan Mettlach
Hotel Schwan Mettlach
#1 of 5 in Mettlach
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saarblick
Hotel Saarblick
#2 of 5 in Mettlach
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saarpark
Hotel Saarpark
#5 of 5 in Mettlach
32 reviews
2.6 mi away
Landhotel Saarschleife
Landhotel Saarschleife
#1 of 1 in Orscholz
83 reviews
11.6 mi away
Parkhotel Weiskirchen
Parkhotel Weiskirchen
#1 of 1 in Weiskirchen
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Schons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Schons

Address: Von-Boch-Liebig-Str. 1, 66693 Mettlach, Saarland, Germany
Location: Germany > Saarland > Mettlach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mettlach
Price Range: $98 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Schons 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Haus Schons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing