We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the Nordschleife, racers, and a great time”
Review of Hotel Blaue Ecke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blaue Ecke
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Adenau
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the Nordschleife, racers, and a great time”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This hotel is just great. The hotel is in the middle of the historic section of the town, and as I approached the hotel, I smiled as the cars all parked in front of the hotel were race cars. 911's, GT3's, historic's, it was full of car enthusiasts. The bar area is welcoming and full of a mix of people, and good service. I almost forgot to check in I was enjoying it so much. The hotel has famous racers, race cars, race events all over the walls. Some very memorable moments in racing history that bring a smile and a tingle down the spine of a racer. The room was large. Much larger than I was expecting and had two dressers for clothes to be put into, a large bed (king/queen?), and a large bathroom. This can easily be used as a base or place for multiple friends to link up, and explore the ring. There are plenty of places to eat up/down the street, and there is free parking available too. Its a clean hotel, bigger than I expected. The food is pretty good too, and so is the beer. Race car friendly.

Great place to stay!

Room Tip: I booked late and the price was a bit higher, but it was the only place with rooms. I suspect if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorX_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    63
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
68
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here just for 1 night as we drove on the Nurburgring the next day. As the weather was good we were able to sit outside on the terrace of this hotel until late in the evening, which was nice! The terrace faces the main road which, if you are lucky, is passed by quite some nice cars. We had a classic room which was clean and tidy but not very big. Friends of ours stayed in a larger room which had things like a minibar. But all was quite convenient, the bed was good and the shower alright and that was all we needed. The breakfast in the morning was good as well. Besides that, it's a nice location because your in the heart of the centre. However we have also stayed in the 4* Lindner hotel and if you have some money to spend and don't mind a hotel out of town we would recommend this one. If you prefer staying in Adenau this is a very good option and you can park your car behind the hotel.
If you have time for lunch: do try the mega burgers! They are really mega :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in late Feb '12 in what you'd call the "off season". It is a fantastic location, nestled in the historic town of Adenau, 10 minutes or less from the main entrance to the 'Ring (or 2 minutes from the motorcycle entrance).

The room that we stayed in (106) was a decent size, it had two single beds pushed together to make up a double, but the pillows were super thin and super soft - just add more. :)

There is Internet available via Ethernet and not wifi, which is a bit of a let down in this wireless day and age.


The bar/restaurant (connected to the hotel via the 1st floor) is great, but be warned, the portions are huge!

The staff are super friendly and extremely helpful. They surely make sure you have a good stay when you are with them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrChur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Overnighted at Blau Eck for a day at the Nordschliefe. Great hotel, clean and comfortable, great bar downstairs serving decent food and cold beer ! Well located in town with plenty of eating options close by. Very popular place to stay, book early !

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the church bell, it rings all night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minandprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stay at this hotel from the advice from Tripadvisor and found the place to be quite convenient and well located. Rooms were clean, tidy and comfy.

Generally it was pleasant and nice, breakfast was fine. The only major let down was the lack of WIFI. It did not work in the room with a Lan cable or on the 1st floor where you had breakfast. I think its important to have Wifi becoz after the RING, you want to upload photo's and write home about your wonderful time at the RING. This really spoiled an otherwise fantastic trip.

Close to the hotel is a supermarket which I would highly recommend for the Cappuccino and desert. Very yummy and of high standard for supermarket price. We still talk about it now whilst in Vienna hahahaha. Its called EDEKA PRAMASSING.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digi051669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great location right in the centre of Adenau & liked the fact that all the rooms are named after Nordschleife bends.

We found the hotel to be clean & tidy & the staff to be very friendly on the rare occasions we bumped into any of them.
Great bar/restaurant attached which itself had very friendly staff.

The hotel car park is squeezed into a courtyard behind the hotel & although we got a space each night, i would imagine that as there is only space for about 9 or 20 cars it could become an issue all 28 rooms of the hotel are occupied.

Whilst we didn't have breakfast we took a look at the selection & thought that €8 was too much to pay.

If you like a good nights sleep i would email the hotel to request a room at the front of the hotel in the new part as we were at the back in the new part which was in direct earshot of the church next door, the bells of which chime every hour 24 hrs a day including an extra long peel at 7am.

In my opinion Adenau is the best place to stay in the area as it is the only town within the vicinity of the Nurburgring that has shops, supermarkets, restaurants & bars. The other places in the area (including Nurburg) are small villages that only have guesthouses.
I've visited Adenau a few times & have found it a great base for not only the Nurburgring (as the 10 minute drive gets the engine warmed up before hitting the track), but also for heading north into the Ahr valley which is famous for it's red wines. I suggest visiting Altenahr & Ahrweiler.

Room Tip: Email the hotel with any special reqirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuarhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed to watch the World Superbikes.

Location is excellent with other bars and restaurants in Adenau.

Good parking for the bikes.

We didn't eat an evening meal but the breakfast was great with options including cooked bacon/sausages and mugs of tea.

Hotel quality is good and clean. Only negatives were the TV did not work and WIFI overage did not extend to the room (got it working in the bar).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adenau
0.3 mi away
Landhaus Sonnenhof
Landhaus Sonnenhof
#1 of 2 in Adenau
59 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lindner Congress & Motorsport Hotel Nuerburgring
2.9 mi away
Hotel zur Burg
Hotel zur Burg
#4 of 5 in Nuerburg
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dorint Am Nuerburgring Hocheifel
3.0 mi away
Hotel am Tiergarten
Hotel am Tiergarten
#3 of 5 in Nuerburg
89 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lindner Hotel Eifeldorf Gruene Hoelle Nuerburgring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blaue Ecke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blaue Ecke

Property: Hotel Blaue Ecke
Address: Markt 4 - 5, 53518, Adenau, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Adenau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Adenau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blaue Ecke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Blaue Ecke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing