We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite small local restaurant”
Review of La Petite Cave - CLOSED

La Petite Cave
Price range: $45 - $67
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This perched village overlooks the entire Calavon valley. In a 12th century cellar that belongs to the old fortifications a secret address is waiting, open evenings only from Easter to November. Andrew Goldsby, young British chef who trained with Raymond Blanc in Oxford, spent three years renovating the vaulted room, and has created a truly romantic atmosphere. His cooking is equally impeccable. Red pepper baked with crab; pink grapefruit and red beetroot; quail eggs and mango salsa; pork filet, white beans, chickpeas, artichoke barigoule and girolles; sandy biscuit with raspberry and banana, passion fruit coulis, and Bourbon vanilla... Is good work in high relief - original flavor marriages, exotic and spicy notes, exuberant colors, refined presentation.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exquisite small local restaurant”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a find! We could not stop raving. Mousseline of crayfish with bloody mary soup was probably the highlight, but the pork fillet, with red cabbage and cauliflower puree was first class. Chocolate fondant and goats cheese with local honey were also unbelievably good. One of our best meals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CoupeColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“still very good”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

was here again, still very good food, service super , and fully booked in November! The chef showed us the menu for Christmas which will be served untill December 23rd so have to go back soon as it looked VERY interesting!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place to return to.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I come to Saignon every year for a month or so. La Petite Cave is our go-to dinner spot this year. Last year we rented next to Le Bistro du Vin which was run by the same people and had a simpler but equally good menu. Sadly, it closed.

This year we have been to La Petite Cave five times and go again tonight for our last dinner in Saignon for the year. (Our last meal, as always, will be pastries and cafe au lait at Chez Christine in the morning)

The menu is small but wonderful. The duck rilette is perfect in size, texture and flavor. The soups have been grand. When we got here it was a composition of crayfish in a hot gazpacho soup. As we wound into Autumn he changed the soup to an incredible cepe (wild mushroom) soup with the same crayfish. Even better. Tonight it has been changed and I'll try that.

There have been two wonderful pork variations, pork belly on a bed of potatoes with an incredible cauliflower puree and roasted garlic. When the pork bellies aren't up to standard Andrew uses filet mignon du porc....or pork tenderloin as we call it. Equally good but the textures change, less crunch, more juice. The current salmon dish, cooked in duck fat, melts as you eat it. The hake over chickpeas has not been tried by either of us only because we don't really like fish with curry. We're from Florida so we like the fish to speak. I would bet that it's perfectly prepared and delicious.

The desserts from the berry soup to the chocolate fondant are lovely, light and palate clearing. We will try the local goat cheese with Saignon honey tonight.

We have been there when it was full and once half empty. Each time the manager, Alistair, gave us great service, enjoyable stories and perfect wine selections. All of this after hitting two wild boars on a motorbike, cracking three ribs and tearing his ACL.

Andrew and his girlfriend have been most outgoing and greet us in the village when they see us and tell us of menu changes.

The place itself is a wonder. A small vaulted cave that was completely restored by the chef and his father. There are numerous vaults and about 10 or 11 tables. There is one table in an alcove that has echo problems, I am told, but we have never sat there and the people who do seem very happy....you don't talk much around this food.

We will be back in Saignon next year and will eat at La Petite Cave often.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jymbo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serpentine, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cherry Soup Desert”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a wonderful little restuarant. We were staying so close and decided we would have to eat here before we left the wonderful village of Saignon. Our host Alistair was charming and very funny. We had a wonderful meal but the Cherry Soup Desert was to die for. Wish I could have more of that. Keep up the good work, highly recommended by us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best things come in small packages”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A tiny restaurant , probably less than 30 covers, set right into the hillside of the picturesque village of Saignon. A small menu - absolutely always a good sign - with very interesting and unusual combinations give you a choice of three entrees, three mains etc. Food was cooked and served to perfection, small selection of local wines and all at a very realstic prices. Not large portions but quite adequate. Often you will need to book but definitely worth a detour. Magnifique.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandalfasWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Cave also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing