We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Castle Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de la Flocelliere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Flocelliere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Flocelliere
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dream Castle Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our group stayed at the Chateau for six nights. I had a room at the top of the Tower. Although I whined about the climb up the stairs, I wouldn't have changed a thing. To sleep in the tower of a castle is a dream come true. The bath/shower worked great, and it was kind of fun to have the toilet separate in a cubbyhole off the staircase of the top floors. I chose the smaller bedroom of the top floor suite. The decor was OK, the bed comfortable and the view of St.Michel Mont Mercure across the way was stunning. There was no musty smell at all (I'm very sensitive to that). The castle grounds are simply lovely. I couldn't stop taking photos. We were a self-catering group and made our own breakfast in the Pavilion kitchen. We also used the Tower kitchen one night to make dinner in both kitchens. The chateau is right in the town, so it is easy to walk out to get groceries. We had 3 dinners with the Vicomte and Vicomtess. Each was a gourmet delight, and it was so much fun to eat in their dining room. One of the dinners was the Renaissance Dinner where we were all provided costumes to our measurements. It doesn't get any better than that - dinner in a castle in full costume. By the end of the week, I was ready to come back yearly. The only drawback was that the WiFi worked only in the courtyard, but they were working on it. And it was great fun to do my online work from a castle courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aboutwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

As noted in my profile I am the organizer of cycling and walking events around Europe for the organization For A Cause. This year's trip brought us to France for the first time and the Chateau de La Flocelliere. The Property can be rented as a whole or by individual rooms, we did a little of both... The property is large and can sleep up to 150+ people (and it was fully booked on two nights), but it never felt too big or too small...

We started our stay on the night of Thursday, September 9, 2011 in the Chateau Out-buildings. The out-buildings consist of two types, dorm-style rooms and a few hotel-style rooms and can sleep in total up to 100+ people. We choose the hotel-style rooms with private bath, each room comes with a double bed, sink, shower stall, and toilet for the first three nights of our stay. These rooms are VERY basic, but they served our purpose in advance of our upcoming event. Sheets and towels are extra, these rooms are one step up from a camp style room, in that you have your own facilities.

We did not stay in any of the actual dorm style rooms, but while we were there, there was a large school group and a large wedding party (both 100+) and they seemed to manage just fine and never once did we feel like the place was busy, I found this to be quite amazing.

On Sunday, September 11, 2011 our group arrived and we moved into the Keep and the Pavilion buildings. These are two properties that the chateau rents as self-catering with additional services. We added additional cleaning, 4-hours each day, to assist us with cleaning up after breakfast and then sprucing up the rooms as time allowed. Joshline was wonderful, lives on property, and was prompt at 9am each morning. We cooked our won breakfasts, did some basic clean-up and then Joshline took over, when we got back each day the kitchen and dining area were spotless and all the rooms freshened. At the time of our tip the cost was 12 euro per hour payable in cash at the end of our stay.

We also contracted for several dinners during our stay; the cost was 35 euro per person. Dinners were a combination of buffet and served, in that some courses were served like the appetizer and then the entrée or dessert was buffet style. We were served in three different rooms of the chateau, the first night in their private dining room, the next in the library and finally in the hall of windows. Each meal and each location was better than the last. Dinners, as about everything else, were well worth the price.

One particular note on dinners is the Renaissance Dinner, the chateau provides. The cost was 75 euro per person and includes full renaissance costumes for each person. This was spectacular. We provided measurements in advance of our trip and on the day of our Renaissance Dinner our costumes arrived. These are the real deal and all fit perfectly. It was a beautiful night, so we started with Mead and appetizers in the formal gardens, and some photo taking. We then moved to the formal library, with 14th century stained glass, for dinner and dessert. It was a spectacular night!

Accommodations –
As I noted earlier we rented the property on a self-catering basis, but many of the rooms we stayed in can also be rented individually as “hotel” style rooms. We rented the Keep and Pavilion.

The Keep – these rooms are located in the original (reconstructed) Keep of the Castle. The ground floor consists of a small chapel and a laundry room that was at our disposal. The next floor is a small kitchen and large dining room, and then the rooms start one or two on each floor. There is a spiral staircase that takes you to each room. The spiral staircase is the only way to get to your rooms and there are many stairs, all the rooms have very high ceilings. There are no elevators, this is not a hotel, it’s a home that happens to be an 11th century castle! All the rooms here are wonderful, we found the beds comfortable, the rooms very large, and each has an amazing view!

The Pavilion – This part is located about 50 feet from the Keep. These rooms are decorated a little more rustically than the rooms in the Keep, but they are truly amazing in their own right. The kitchen here is much larger than the one in the Keep and is truly suited for cooking meals for large groups. Neither dining room can accommodate seating for more than 14, so for groups larger than 14 that are staying in the Keep and Pavilion can have their meals in the Hall of Windows, which is just located 50 feet away. Most bedrooms have a private bath either ensuite or adjoining. When you are renting a Hotel Room, you will have a private bathroom.

The Property – is spectacular and well maintained. Please keep in mind that this is not a hotel, but someone’s home that happens to be an 11th century castle, I know I said this earlier, but think it needs repeating. There are no bellman to carry your bags, there are no elevators, you need to walk up the stairs (at times many) to get to your room, there is no room service, and there is not always someone there to be at your beck and call.

The owners – Vicomte et Vicomtesse Patrice & Erika Vignial are wonderful. At the start of our week they welcomed us with a wine reception (from a local vineyard) explained some of the history of the castle and their intent was to welcome visitors like friends. They truly succeeded on all counts.

Location – La Flocelliere is a small provincial town, that had all the services to accommodate us, a good sized grocery store, an excellent patisserie, where we got fresh croissants each morning, a bank, a bar, a restaurant and many other services. The next town is Saint-Michel-Mont-Mercure, which we walked to on several days (about a 20 minute walk). The town is dedicated to Saint Michael, as is the church. Take a moment to visit the church and clime the tower; it is well worth the view. As you enter the church, there is a little door on the right, they ask for a .50 euro donation. Just open the door and walk up, light switches are little buttons located above your head. The climb is narrow and steep, and another spiral staircase, but we found it much more manageable than the climb of the tower in Siena and far less crowded (we were the only ones there!)

I want to thank our hosts Patrice and Erika, they were most accommodating and when we left we truly felt like friends, both came out to wish us continued well travels and we all hugged, kissed, and even shed a tear or two together. We will go back to Chateau de La Flocelliere!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, but the Medievil Room has a domed ceiling, large bed, great fireplace and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie_and_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We visited the Chateau de la Flocelliere in June 2011. The owner of the Chateau, Vicomte Patrice Vignial, was a stately and welcoming aristocrat who spent a great deal of time telling us about all the little details of his chateau's rich and fascinating history. He was, at the time of our visit, the President of the association of french chateaux, so he not only knew about the history of his chateau, but also a great many others also.

The chateau, a mix of 15th and 17th C buildings, is really very much like something out of a fairy tale. Our room in the donjon had a huge domed sky-blue ceiling and carved flower frescos. There were tapestries, fine furniture and antiques. The Vicomte brought us around the whole place, told many stories about each piece of art, shared interesting insights about French history.

We went with our 6 year old daughter and, although we saw many famous chateaux throughout our visit, this remained her favourite chateau. It has beautiful grounds with old ruins and wild flowers dating back to the French Revolution, wonderful walking trials surrounded by old trees, where you can see horses, dogs, donkeys and wild rabbits.

There are people who have complained on tripadvisor about the Vicomte and Vicomtesse, but this is our take: The chateau is their private home, and we are guests. So, during our stay, we took care to conduct ourselves accordingly. We did not enter the antique-filled living room unless invited, dressed decently for dinner and observed the rules of the home, which were very gently made known to us. Actually this is part of the whole experience of living in a chateau with a real Vicomte. I think when we show people due respect in their home, they will be more welcoming and open also.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahShum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Beautifully maintained in a quiet french village -- very personable hosts

Room Tip: The blue tower room on the second floor was very grand-- overall the stay was very positive and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craigmcgrath66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Staying in this castle was utterly wonderful. Our room in the tower was like spending the night in an antique museum, but with all modern conveniences. The bathroom was a treat with huge tub and a cleverly disguised shower and a double vanity made from an antique buffet. The grounds were a course in the history of French castle construction over 600 years.
The Vicompte was a wonderful host who provided a golf cart so we would tour the grounds in comfort. His stories and explanation were illuminating and fun. His son, who seems to be the active operator was also a delight to know.
This was worth every penny we spent to stay there. We will treasure the memory of this chateau.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin97031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Having the chance to stay in this historic property, first mentioned in the 11th century, coupled with the history of the Vendèe section of France we acquired at Puy du Fou, especially at the night show, was a truly unforgettable experience. My room was on the top floor and there is no elevator, no bell boys, so pack light, but the bed was extremely comfortable in a rather palatial room. The bathroom lacked a shower, but the tub was large.
The meal we ate there was simple but delicious. I believe we were 22 at the table, so dinner was served buffet style. A tie was not necessary, but everyone made an effort as this was more like a party than a restaurant.
The next morning, the Vicomte gave us a tour of the property, which deepened our appreciation of the experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Contrarily to some hotel-castle were you will feel, no matter what, just like in a luxury hotel, at the Mrs. & Mr. Vignial's old castle you will feel at home, but a dream home, taking you back in time, for all its beauty & serenity. I advise that you visit the chateaudelaflocelliere.com site for important information about its very long history, and changes of architecture through times. What is amazing is that you can go around the buildings hosting you, and also around the ancient ruins. The castle is nowadays furnished and decorated with the owners' family antiques and heirlooms. Pictures are from the family's members, you are a very welcome guest. Many options are offered as for your housing in the property. As for us, we were two couples, with two rooms in a different location inside the main castle. These rooms were different from each other, both beautiful, comfortable and very spacious, same as the bathrooms. We could keep up with the world through a discreet little TV set, keep snacks in a small fridge, and had all the necessary for coffee or tea. Mrs. & Mr. Vignial are warm, helpful, but never invasive. Many information is available for exploring the region. Breakfasts are somptuously served in a lovely dining room where you can meet other French & international guests. You can tell that everybody is having the same peaceful and enchanting time as you. I had offered a week-end to my parents a few years ago, and they had been very happy with their stay. This time we were the four of us, my parents seem to have enjoyed a longer stay even better, as for my companion and I, we would love to renew this experience. This "Logis de France" is one of the treasures of our deep France, surrounded by a wonderful region, with a lot to visit and to see. Bon voyage !

Room Tip: Make your reservation several month ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia52156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Flocelliere
7.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
Hotel Restaurant Aloe
#2 of 5 in Les Herbiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chateau du Boisniard
Chateau du Boisniard
#1 of 3 in Chambretaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbin...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ibis Les Herbiers
Ibis Les Herbiers
#1 of 5 in Les Herbiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel La Verriaire
Hotel La Verriaire
#1 of 1 in La Verrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
5.1 mi away
Terragora Lodges
Terragora Lodges
#3 of 3 in Les Epesses
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Flocelliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Flocelliere

Property: Chateau de la Flocelliere
Address: 30 rue du Chateau | A 8 Km du Puy du Fou en Vendee, 85700 La Flocelliere, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > La Flocelliere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Flocelliere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the vendee high copse, at 8 km from The Puy du Fou spectacle, immediately next to the little town, the medieval castle of la Flocelliere appears in documents dating from the XIth century. The castle dominates a park planted with hundred years-old-trees. Vicomte and Vicomtesse Patrice and Erika Vignial,lover of history,are thrilled to welcome their guests to dine with them qanbd to offer advice on excursions in the area Heated pool in summer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Flocelliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing