We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Express Inn

Express Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Express Inn to your Saves list
Express Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4042 East Van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The breakfast was ok, not a vast array of things to choose from. A waffle maker would've been wonderful. It's pretty far out from the main part of Eureka Springs, but it's a nice quiet place to stay. The hot tub was nice.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    7
    3
    11
See reviews for
28
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Arkansas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and I went to Eureka Springs this weekend for our anniversary. I checked out the local hotels on Tripadvisor and their rates. I really liked the price for Howard Johnson, and the manager gave us a discount right over the phone. I read a couple of the bad reviews on here, particularly in regards to Mr. Patel, but he seemed very cordial and helpful to my needs with the room. I asked for a first floor king, and told him we were bringing a pet. No problem. When we arrived, and he saw that Lil Bit was a small dog, he knocked the pet price down to $7 from $10.
The room was immaculate. He put us on the backside away from the highway , so it real quiet. We loved it. Mr. Patel is a very nice man, don't believe those who printed bad things about him, for it maybe just about race. I asked him about it and he looked hurt, saying " I try to treat everyone like I treat you." I told him we would stay here again, and I meant it.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a pet ask for the back side. Plenty of grass for them to do their business...awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnscotth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The room was farther away from the others in town. It was very basic. The continental breakfast was a dry muffin and juice. I will try somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoolblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The room was clean and nice-looking. Everything I needed was available and worked well. I even thought the arrangement of the towels was a nice touch that gave the place a little extra class. I also appreciate that the manager personally checked to make sure the electronic card worked properly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very glad we "stumbled" on this one. Reasonably priced and very friendly management. Rooms were clean and accommodating. When looking at reviews while in room I couldn't believe those negative reviews came from this same place as everything was great. I recommend this one to anyone coming to Eureka Springs. We needed a place like this as we came to do a multi - sport event and didn't need any problems. We would stay here again. Thanks Howard Johnson and manager.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My Dad and I went to Eureka Springs to attend a sports event weekend called " the Eurekan". We didn't plan the event well (us crazy men) and drove the 5.5 hours to Eureka Springs without a plan or a hotel. We stopped by the Howard Johnson because it was next door to the lot where we would start a 100 mile bike ride, and we thought we could lose the worry of finding a parking space at the event (and sleep later). The owner of the hotel was super accommodating the whole weekend. He continued to check up on us, offered lots of suggestions regarding eateries, etc. And handled my Dad's quirkiness ( which drives most crazy) very well. I actually felt like he cared we were there. It was great.

Outside of the refreshing owner/ manager, the hotel was clean, conveniently located and had a nice pool area and hot tub. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked a room for two nights here on PriceLine, thinking that a name-brand hotel would at least be OK. Wrong.
The rooms have a moldy smell and are dark and cave-like. I'm guessing the place was built in the 60's or 70's and never remodeled. We took one look and told the manager we were not staying. That's when things got ugly.
We asked for our money back, and the manager said, "No, you will have to deal with PriceLine". I called PriceLine from the parking lot, and they were no help at all. Basically, PriceLine just said, "We will try to get the hotel to be reasonable and refund your money." I could have told them that wasn't going to work, and sure enough it didn't. So, we didn't stay, but our credit card was charged for two nights. Unbelieveable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinGA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka Springs hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Wagner Inn
Wagner Inn
#23 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#6 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 62
Motel 62
#25 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ozarka Lodge
Ozarka Lodge
#20 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brydan Suites
Brydan Suites
#22 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#19 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn

Property: Express Inn
Address: 4042 East Van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Express Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Eureka Springs
Eureka Springs Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing