We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #37 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location, Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is like much of the lodging around Eureka in that it is old. That being said, with that come an incredible history, story, and location. This is directly in the middle of down town, and within walking distance of almost everything. (shops, restaurants, tours, bars). Jacuzzi available in rooms, cool victorian architecture and don't forget about the ghost stories!!

Room Tip: The first floor is not counted in the levels as it has no guest rooms. So as the story goes, the 4t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landon90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again when you return to Eureka Springs in the future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    270
    101
    70
    59
See reviews for
162
474
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was concerned after reading other reviews about the noise level, I am a light sleeper. We stayed in 421 which faced the street but was a spacious, lovely room. Street noise was minimal, upstairs room above us, noise again was minimal. Great comfy bed, slight wear and tear on carpet, bathtub and furniture but the spacious room and great view made it not matter to me at all. Floors creak a little but not enough to bother me. Very clean: have stayed at Hermannhill in Hermann, MO and Big Cedar Lodge in Ridgedale, MO and found the Basin to be as clean or better than these newer "luxury" hotels. Shuttle drivers are amazing, staff very nice overall, spa services were great. This is the second time I have stayed here and love the location, spa, and shuttle services. Only complaint I have is that the hot tub on the spa deck has not worked either time I have stayed, I would have enjoyed a soak after a day on my feet. Lisa in the Billiards Bar is a sweetie. Curtis, Rick, Rich, Leah and all staff super. Enjoy staying downtown and let them know what you want so they can help you with all you need. I stayed during the week and off season, I'm sure festivals/parades/weekends could be different. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98BevL98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We thank you for returning. Sorry about the public hot tub. It has been consistently giving us problems lately and we are working to correct this matter. Also, the carpet in room 421 is scheduled to be replaced in the next 2 months. We appreciate you being understanding on these matters. We hope you will stay with us again when you return to Eureka Springs in the future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Our room was comfortable and clean with an Arlington Hotel (Hot Springs) charm. Parking takes a bit of extra thought, but after all, you're in Eureka Springs!!! Enjoy!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RufusLindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel. If you return to Eureka Springs in the future we hope you will choose to stay with us again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Basin Park Hotel is a charming old building. It is a perfect reflection of the town's character! We purchased a vacation package and received vochurs for all of our chosen activities and meals. It was a wonderful way for first time visitors to Eureka Springs to experience what the town had to offer! The staff was extremely attentive, kind, and helpful. We enjoyed the gorgeous view of Spring Street from our room's windows. Our room was very quiet and comfortable, located on the 2nd floor (spa level). I really feel like the staff loves the old building a lot and tries to keep it nice.
We also took the Ghost Tour of the hotel because it was included in our package. The guide was fun and interesting. It was neat to hear some of the history of the town and of the hotel. $16.50 per adult ticket seems pretty steep for a one hour lecture, though.
Our experience at the Balcony Restaurant was uneven. We loved our appetizer sampler! The soups and bread that came with our meals were made in-house and were wonderful! Unfortunately, service was extremely slow. He repeatedly forgot things we, and the patrons around us, requesed. The server did apologize several times for this. I'm not really sure of the cause, but it got to be rather frustrating. We each ordered steaks: rib eye and New York Strip. My strip steak was acceptable, not the greatest of my life, but it was good. The side of frozen vegetable medly was unfortunate. My friend ordered the ribeye steak, medium. They brought it out bloody rare. He sent it back to be cooked longer. When the steak was returned to him, parts of it were a nice medium, others were extremely well done. He was pretty disappointed because he loves ribeye. It was most expensive item on the menu. We were expecting a lot more. We did receive a discount on the bill, but having a better quality entree would have been ideal.
All in all, I'd recommend staying at the hotel. It's very charming, comfortable, and convenient. Get a drink at the bar. They're strong, and you definitely get your money's worth. I would just avoid the Balcony Restaurant. Eureka Springs has many consistently delicious dining options. Choose one of them instead!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GH_CH_FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Basin Park Hotel and our sorry you had inconsistent service at the restaurant. We do our best to provide excellent service throughout the property but on occasion we do fall short. We will be reviewing the circumstances surrounding your experience at the restaurant so it will not be repeated in the future. We do look forward to seeing you in the future when you decide to return to Eureka Springs. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice. We got a suite that was too expensive for what you actually get. The suite was nothing special, other than having a jacuzzi. It was a bit noisy in the morning. We got woke up a couple hours earlier than we would've liked.
The location is awesome. We was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do.
The restaurant and bar was good. We had a lot of fun at both places

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsfamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Our apologies for your disappointment with your room price. We try and keep our prices comparable for our location and service. If a jacuzzi room is not important to you, may I suggest that if you return to our hotel that you try a king suite. They are less expensive and are on the corner of the hotel with a great view. And if you are still in the mood for a jacuzzi, we have a public one on our spa deck you can utilize.

We hope to see you again in the future when you return to Eureka Springs. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Checked in and was given a room that had ripped carpet, paint splatters on wall, the toilet was on a raised pedestal and was 4 inches from the wall...so to use you would have to side saddle it, stand in shower was 30" x 30" and grungy...water kept changing temp from ice cold to blazing hot. Needless to say I wanted to just check out and go to one of the many other hotels I've stayed at in town. Went to front desk and he said he could move my room...so he gave me a key to a dirty room with a pair of old panties on the nightstand...went back down to desk again and went to look at next room. It was clean and not as beat up...cracked tiles in shower and a tub that would not drain were the only issues.
This is highest rate I have paid to visit this town and it wasn't much, but give me value over a ghost story legend. Was charged a gratuity and an additional 6.95 for some kind of attraction fee???

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOMINARJVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We're sorry for your disappointing experience at our property. I will be reviewing the room you were booked into with housekeeping and maintenance so we can fix the issues you've described. We're sorry for any inconveniences you may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The price is inflated because of its age and location. Cleanliness does not appear to be high priority. Reminded me of a roadside motel in that respect. Spa was nice but still not clean as I would have expected. Was charged for services that were given but not asked for. Spent over $600 and did not get offered any discounts or even dinner vouchers that are normally given with spa packages. Disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahohara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We're sorry for your disappointing stay at our property. We are aware of the cleanliness issues. We have been renovating multiple rooms and floors recently and this has caused dust and debris to settle over everything. We are rectifying this issue as we speak.

As for your spa experience, we apologize for inconsistencies with your bill. The staff is not perfect and mistakes get made occasionally. I hope you were able to sort out your bill prior to departing. We didn't overcharge you on purpose I assure you.

I've reviewed your reservation with the spa director and noticed that you didn't reserve a spa package when you booked your stay with us. You were apparently aware that we offered spa packages according to your review but chose not to reserve one. We would've been more than happy to alter your reservation if you would have requested it at the front desk. I am sorry though, we don't just give away free vouchers because you chose to spend $600 in our spa.

We're sorry for any inconveniences you may have experienced at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#13 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#8 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#18 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#17 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lookout Lodge
Lookout Lodge
#6 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing