We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice for as old As it is...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice for as old As it is...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The elevator is slow as it can be but functional. I had a bum knee so couldn't take the steps this time but hen this is Eureka Springs where everything is built on the side of the mountains so bum knees are a killer here! We ate at the Balcony and our food was very good and a lot of it and our server was great! Get a table right in the rail if you can...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. No one knows better than us how slow that elevator is. At least it does work though considering it's 108 years old. If you return to Eureka Springs after your knee gets better, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    292
    115
    70
    61
See reviews for
177
509
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Be sure you review the bill, as they try to charge a daily "activity fee" and a daily "service gratuity"! Both these fees add up to about $10 per day! As far as the accommodations, they are fine, as long as you are comfortable with an eclectic mix of furniture, uneven floors, and dim lighting. We had a suite and had a great view of downtown. I would rate the accomdations as just satisfactory. If we had it to do over, we would of stayed either at the Crescent Hotel or the New Orleans.

Room Tip: Check the bill thoroughly for questionable fees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We're sorry that you found your stay with us frustrating and the accommodations lacking. We do our best to keep this 108 year old building in great shape but it can be challenging at times.

Activity fees and service gratuities are optional charges when you stay with us. That is the whole reason we breakout the charges on the receipt we give you so you have the option of removing it if you didn't participate in our daily activities.

We hope you will still return to our lovely town even if you choose not to stay with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this supposedly haunted hotel a week or so before Halloween. It was built over a hundred years ago in the heart of "downtown" Eureka Springs, AR. The hotel was festively decorated for the season with cob webs and the like. We had pulled into the loading zone in front of the hotel where we were told we could only leave the car for a few minutes. We were promptly greated by a friendly clerk who quickly checked us in and directed us to our 4th floor room. The room was large with very comfortable beds made with 1st quality linens. It is an OLD hotel so there were some things one would not notice in a newer facility - painted over transom windows, layer upon layer of paint (often poorly painted) and many creaks and squeaks but I, personally, found it charming. If you want fancy and luxurious, this is probably not the place for you but if you want quirky and charming this is your place. The bath was large and featured high end products. After checking in, we took our car to the free parking lot some distance from the hotel (downtown parking is at a premium in this old, hilly town) and called for the valet service to pick us up. The driver arrived quickly, was friendly and recommended several good places to eat in response to our queries. The hotel is in the midst of all the little shops and restaurants. Since this is an old hotel there was some minor noise during the night but not enough to be irritating. The hotel is supposed to be haunted and we did experience one eerie occurance. I had used the toilet tissue several times over the course of the day/night with no problem. In the early morning however I found that the remaining roll was totally soaked through when it had been bone dry previously. No visible leak in the ceiling above. Ghosts? Who knows but it makes for a good story.

Room Tip: Make sure and check out the balconies and the spa deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for being understanding about our historic property. We do our best to keep it in tip top shape. With this being a 108 year old building it can be challenging at times. Interesting story about your toilet paper roll. People report to us constantly about odd and unusual things happening to them while they stay with us. If you return to Eureka Springs in the future we hope you consider staying with us again.

Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked this a month in advance requesting a fourth floor room. I arrived at 10 Am and was told I could not check-in until 3 pm. At this time I asked if my room was on the fourth floor and was told yes it is. When I got back to check-in at 3:30 I was handed a key to room 207. I asked what happened to my fourth floor room that I had requested and was told at 10 am that I had. I was then told there were no rooms available on the fourth floor. I was not happy but did not have much choice but to pay and move on. The room was clean, but the bath tub faucet leaked non-stop. There was no bellman in sight and the elevator only holds up to 6 people and there was a long line. I had to carry my luggage up 2 floors, so if you are handicapped beware. The beds were comfortable and had nice bedding, but the rooms are very dated. I figure in a historic hotel this is to be expected. The shuttle drivers on both shifts were great! They were much more helpful then anyone else in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're definitely sorry for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We do our best to accommodate all guest request but sometimes issues arrive that prevent us from doing so. We apologize that you had to carry your own bags to your room. It's possible the bellman was busy assisting other guests at the time. If there was a line for the elevator it's probably safe to say that the hotel was extremely busy at the time of your check in. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make a future stay more enjoyable. Once again, we apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a nice, historic hotel right in downtown Eureka Springs. I say historic because it's on the National Register of Historic Places and it's received good maintenance over the years. I say good because although it's neat, quiet and well appointed it's lacking some of the charm that I would have expected. Painted over transom windows for example, poor paint work and obvious repairs that have taken away some of the architectural details of this hotel. And since it's nearly 110 years old it does have some quirks, like stair railings that are loose, squeaky steps and floor boards that creek and groan when you walk on them. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The elevator, of which there's one has a warning sign that if you exceed six people you'll have to be rescued. Other than that, they have two great bars and one restaurant with a great breakfast buffet, included with the room. Parking is free however it is a shuttle trip away because parking in the downtown area is at a premium with either metered parking or "no parking any time" practically everywhere. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and will see to your needs. There's an onsite spa as well, which is a great place to lose the wife for a couple of hours.

Eureka Springs likes to call themselves "Little Switzerland" and it does get its share of tourists, a lot of them. Traffic in downtown Eureka during the weekends is very crowded with lots of cars, motorcycles and people going through all the shops. The shops are great too, there's a lot of them with all kinds of merchandise as well as restaurants. This is a great place to spend a lot of money so keep your credit card away from your wife if you can.

Room Tip: Try to avoid weekends where there are large events, craft shows, car shows or other things going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_evil_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Eureka Springs. It sounds like you had a good experience for the most part. We are aware that our property has some maintenance issues with it being 108 years old. We do renovations every winter and keep up with repairs the best we can throughout season. We hope you will choose to stay with us again if you return to Eureka Springs. Sunday-Thursday the town is a lot quieter and the room rental rates are less expensive than on the weekends.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Re-built on the site of the old Perry Hotel, that burned down, like so many 19th century hotel.

Stayed on the 5th floor, with a great view of the city and of Basin Park itself. Tour package included Ghost Tours of this hotel and the Crescent Hotel (on the hill), as well as "Downtown-N-Underground" tour that explains just how strange the raised streets are in Eureka Springs.

Did you know you can book a stay in one of the haunted rooms at the Basin Park Hotel? Great for All Hallows' Eve.

Room Tip: Most ghost activity is on the 3rd floor, according to the lore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there 2 nights for our anniversary. Room 221. King bed very comfy, nice view of downtown. Bathroom a little narrow but clean Had couples massage which was wonderful and our room was right there, 2 doors down. Staff very nice and accommodating. Shuttle to wherever we needed in the area of the downtown. The food at the balcony restaurant was yummy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stagecoachcampground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. You'll have to return and stay again on your next anniversary. We'd love for you to make a tradition of staying with us on your anniversary. We look forward to seeing you in the future and congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#11 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#18 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#16 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
#9 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing