We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay, sit awhile, people watch...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Harrah, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay, sit awhile, people watch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Basin Park is a great place to stay! Spa is wonderful! The Balcony is so much fun - great food, great place to people watch. We love it and visit often. Even when we stay in Holiday Island we always make an afternoon trip of hanging out at the Basin. The game room/bar upstairs is a must also. The staff at the Basin Park is always excellent - from the door man to the bartender.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We pride ourselves in our building and the staff. We try and make everyone's experience as fun and memorable as yours was. The Balcony Bar and Rest. is a great place to grab a bite to eat and people watch. Sometimes you see some funny stuff when you're looking down on people and they don't know your up there.

Come back and stay with us again. We'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    273
    101
    70
    59
See reviews for
162
478
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On a recent visit to Eureka Springs, Arkansas, every time we thought of food, we thought of the Basin Park Hotel. The food was always tempting and tasty, the service excellent, the staff very friendly and the atmosphere on the bar verandah was wonderful. Would definitely recommend you drop in for a snack or a meal if you ever find yourself in this delightful little town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DellasMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Balcony Bar and Restaurant. We try to make everyone's dining experience as wonderful as yours was. If you get the opportunity, try staying the night at the Basin Park Hotel and complete your experience of our great, old hotel. We run monthly specials you can look at on www.basinpark.com.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First off Eureka Springs, AR is a great place to get away and enjoy the Ozarks. As many other posters have discussed this is an old hotel and i'll not fault it for that. In fact, that is what gives it its charm. Knowing that though don't expect modern and updated rooms. In our room in particular the water was extremely sensitive. One minute it would be cold and the next scalding hot. You just learn to move it just right. One thing that I believe the hotel can change are its pillows. They were hard as a rock. Maybe it's a preference thing but not to my liking. As for the parking. KNOW THIS! When you get to Eureka there is no parking at the hotel. You have to go down the hill to the Basin Parking Lot and use the phone at the building to call up to the hotel for a shuttle. Not a big deal once you have figured it out but a little frustrating if you didn't know what to expect. For the the price the hotel was a little underwhelming but it did have some great features. Location, Location, Location. Downtown Eureka and a short walk to everything. If you can't walk or don't feel like walking the shuttle service is very good. The bar/restaurant is a nice bonus as well. Great bloody mary's. Finally, the history. Eureka is filled with it and the Basin much like it's sister hotel, the Crescent, is a staple point. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jawood81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We're sorry you had some disappointments during your visit. We are aware of the hot/cold water problem and working to fix it. This doesn't happen in all of the rooms but in a select few.

When it comes to pillows or anything that might be discomforting you during your stay, please feel free to call the front desk at anytime, 24/7. We are always staffed and can attend to all your needs, including getting you some fresh, fluffier pillows.

Parking is a challenge in Eureka Springs, including our hotel. When our property was built in 1905 we were not designed to accommodate motor vehicles. This is why we offer our complimentary shuttle service from our FREE parking lot. If you go to our website prior to your visit, there is a short video you can watch that explains the entire arrival process.

We try and keep our prices reasonable and comparable to other properties in the downtown area. If possible, try visiting our hotel Sunday-Thursday. The rates are less expensive plus we run a variety of weekday specials you can view on www.basinpark.com.

Don't give up on us yet! We'll do our best to make your return stay better than the first if you'll give our hotel another shot.

Have a good day and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our first trip to eureka. We went there on wed and find out most restaurant are closed and shops closed early at 3-4pm. After driving around, we stuck in the hotel and does not really have any amenities. No swimming. No fridge in room too. But they do provide a very nice scented shower gel.well, they let you use the swimming pool in cressent hotel which you need to drive and I would be surprised if you want to swimm there, pool were dirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're sorry for your disappointing stay at our hotel recently. Unfortunately, Wednesdays are kind of a slow day in our town. Wednesdays are like the weekends for locals in Eureka Springs. Sorry to say we have no control over how often or long the shopkeepers decide to keep their shops open.

We do not have a swimming pool at the Basin Park Hotel since there is no where to put one. We do have a public Jacuzzi on our 2nd floor spa deck. You should check it out if you return to our hotel. It's open daily from 9am-10pm. Like you mentioned, guests of the Basin Park Hotel do have access to the pool at the Crescent Hotel. You don't have to drive yourself though; our complimentary shuttle service is more than happy to drive you around the historic district upon request. We'll forward your comment about the condition of the Crescent Hotel's pool to them immediately.

Only our suites come with refrigerators unfortunately. If you would prefer a room with a refrigerator and you decide to stay with us again, please let the front desk clerk know and we can go over the amenities of different room types with you. Plus you can always check out www.basinpark.com for listings of our room and hotel amenities.

Sorry once again for your disappointing stay with us. Try coming on the weekend and you'll find no shortage of open shops or fun after 5pm I assure you.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

When checking into this hotel, visitors need to understand this is a very old historic hotel. The floors slope, an elevator which only holds six people and a musty odor. Parking is located about two blocks away and the hotel offers a shuttle to and from the parking. The Hotel is right in the center of downtown Eureka Springs which makes downtown very accessible.

Room Tip: The thrid floor is haunted.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you decided to stay at our hotel. We appreciate your understanding that this is a historic property. We do our best to keep it up to date and properly maintained. The location is the best though!

We hope you will try our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stigler, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love the Basin Park. It feels like your in the center of everything. The hotel itself is comfortable and just what you would expect from a piece of living history. I appreciate that it has probably not changed that much in its hundred years of travelers. The dark hallways add to the mystique of the place. I still expect to see a ghost somewhere along the way,,,and don't miss the haunted tour. :)
At night you will probably hear the guest above you walking on the wood floors but the noise is not that bad. It's a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: The rooms with suites are worth the extra money unless your on a tight budget. If you stay on the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macgregor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi and thanks for staying at the Basin Park Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry you didn't see a ghost. Most of our ghost activity is on the 3rd floor. It was the original top floor of the Perry House that burned down on the sight where the Basin Park Hotel is now. If you return to stay with us again, request a room on the 3rd floor and see what happens. Room 310 has been getting frequent reports of paranormal activity from guests who stay in that room.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everyone there was very helpful when we got married. They helped us out on finding the right location and making sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is located in the center of everything and it is all walking distance. Thanks for a great honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We try and make everyone's stay as memorable as yours was. Hopefully we'll see you back next year for your anniversary or even sooner if you're able to make it. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 2,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#11 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#18 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#14 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#16 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lookout Lodge
Lookout Lodge
#4 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing