We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice...but be aware of some things” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Bullard, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice...but be aware of some things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

First off Eureka Springs, AR is a great place to get away and enjoy the Ozarks. As many other posters have discussed this is an old hotel and i'll not fault it for that. In fact, that is what gives it its charm. Knowing that though don't expect modern and updated rooms. In our room in particular the water was extremely sensitive. One minute it would be cold and the next scalding hot. You just learn to move it just right. One thing that I believe the hotel can change are its pillows. They were hard as a rock. Maybe it's a preference thing but not to my liking. As for the parking. KNOW THIS! When you get to Eureka there is no parking at the hotel. You have to go down the hill to the Basin Parking Lot and use the phone at the building to call up to the hotel for a shuttle. Not a big deal once you have figured it out but a little frustrating if you didn't know what to expect. For the the price the hotel was a little underwhelming but it did have some great features. Location, Location, Location. Downtown Eureka and a short walk to everything. If you can't walk or don't feel like walking the shuttle service is very good. The bar/restaurant is a nice bonus as well. Great bloody mary's. Finally, the history. Eureka is filled with it and the Basin much like it's sister hotel, the Crescent, is a staple point. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jawood81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We're sorry you had some disappointments during your visit. We are aware of the hot/cold water problem and working to fix it. This doesn't happen in all of the rooms but in a select few.

When it comes to pillows or anything that might be discomforting you during your stay, please feel free to call the front desk at anytime, 24/7. We are always staffed and can attend to all your needs, including getting you some fresh, fluffier pillows.

Parking is a challenge in Eureka Springs, including our hotel. When our property was built in 1905 we were not designed to accommodate motor vehicles. This is why we offer our complimentary shuttle service from our FREE parking lot. If you go to our website prior to your visit, there is a short video you can watch that explains the entire arrival process.

We try and keep our prices reasonable and comparable to other properties in the downtown area. If possible, try visiting our hotel Sunday-Thursday. The rates are less expensive plus we run a variety of weekday specials you can view on www.basinpark.com.

Don't give up on us yet! We'll do our best to make your return stay better than the first if you'll give our hotel another shot.

Have a good day and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    294
    115
    71
    61
See reviews for
178
512
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our first trip to eureka. We went there on wed and find out most restaurant are closed and shops closed early at 3-4pm. After driving around, we stuck in the hotel and does not really have any amenities. No swimming. No fridge in room too. But they do provide a very nice scented shower gel.well, they let you use the swimming pool in cressent hotel which you need to drive and I would be surprised if you want to swimm there, pool were dirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're sorry for your disappointing stay at our hotel recently. Unfortunately, Wednesdays are kind of a slow day in our town. Wednesdays are like the weekends for locals in Eureka Springs. Sorry to say we have no control over how often or long the shopkeepers decide to keep their shops open.

We do not have a swimming pool at the Basin Park Hotel since there is no where to put one. We do have a public Jacuzzi on our 2nd floor spa deck. You should check it out if you return to our hotel. It's open daily from 9am-10pm. Like you mentioned, guests of the Basin Park Hotel do have access to the pool at the Crescent Hotel. You don't have to drive yourself though; our complimentary shuttle service is more than happy to drive you around the historic district upon request. We'll forward your comment about the condition of the Crescent Hotel's pool to them immediately.

Only our suites come with refrigerators unfortunately. If you would prefer a room with a refrigerator and you decide to stay with us again, please let the front desk clerk know and we can go over the amenities of different room types with you. Plus you can always check out www.basinpark.com for listings of our room and hotel amenities.

Sorry once again for your disappointing stay with us. Try coming on the weekend and you'll find no shortage of open shops or fun after 5pm I assure you.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

When checking into this hotel, visitors need to understand this is a very old historic hotel. The floors slope, an elevator which only holds six people and a musty odor. Parking is located about two blocks away and the hotel offers a shuttle to and from the parking. The Hotel is right in the center of downtown Eureka Springs which makes downtown very accessible.

Room Tip: The thrid floor is haunted.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leboland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1905manager1886, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're glad you decided to stay at our hotel. We appreciate your understanding that this is a historic property. We do our best to keep it up to date and properly maintained. The location is the best though!

We hope you will try our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stigler, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love the Basin Park. It feels like your in the center of everything. The hotel itself is comfortable and just what you would expect from a piece of living history. I appreciate that it has probably not changed that much in its hundred years of travelers. The dark hallways add to the mystique of the place. I still expect to see a ghost somewhere along the way,,,and don't miss the haunted tour. :)
At night you will probably hear the guest above you walking on the wood floors but the noise is not that bad. It's a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: The rooms with suites are worth the extra money unless your on a tight budget. If you stay on the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macgregor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi and thanks for staying at the Basin Park Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry you didn't see a ghost. Most of our ghost activity is on the 3rd floor. It was the original top floor of the Perry House that burned down on the sight where the Basin Park Hotel is now. If you return to stay with us again, request a room on the 3rd floor and see what happens. Room 310 has been getting frequent reports of paranormal activity from guests who stay in that room.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everyone there was very helpful when we got married. They helped us out on finding the right location and making sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is located in the center of everything and it is all walking distance. Thanks for a great honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We try and make everyone's stay as memorable as yours was. Hopefully we'll see you back next year for your anniversary or even sooner if you're able to make it. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I want to say that I did not expect a modern hotel. That is part of the charm. However, for the price we paid on the weekend for a jacuzzi room, I did expect a bit more updates. The bed was comfortable. And the view was great. The location couldn't be better. I would stay again at the $100 dollar weekday rate, but I don't think I would spend the $215 for a weekend night again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your room, aside from the price. We try and keep our rates competitive and comparable for our location. Occasionally we do run weekend specials. Next time you might be considering staying at our hotel, call us or check our website for Hot Deals that we may be running. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a historical landmark in a historical city. Nice large room with historical details. Charming to look at, but the doors are original and totally not sound resistant. The drunks in the hall kept us up all night. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant is the best in town. Sometimes old is old.

Room Tip: Don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawgfromTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your room. I agree, the doors made in 1905 are not as sound resistant as new doors but it is part of the experience in staying in a hotel that is 108 years old. If you decide to stay with us again in the future and you have problems with unruly guests make sure you call the front desk. We have security on nightly to attend to matters such as drunks in the halls or anything else that may be troubling you throughout the night.

We hope to see you again in the future. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#11 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#18 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#16 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
#9 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing