We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally enamored”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1905 Basin Park Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
“Totally enamored”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was built in 1905 I believe and seemed to be recently renovated. I expected less but was given much more than anticipated. My husband and I stayed the weekend on the last minute on Friday afternoon and the Basin Park came through. I expected the rooms to be really small but we stayed in a room under the bar-which we knew and we agreed to because it was so last minute--but it was really rather lovely and wasn't loud at all except for a couple hours till midnite and we were up late anyway. We moved the next night to another room and they moved all our things for us while we were out. We were given free breakfast vouchers and the food was very descent. We also had lunch there and it was very good too. There is a little Italian rest. across the street called DeVito's and they had The best trout I have ever had--we went there both nights and the service was excellent. The walk around town was very quaint and the shopping is incredible. The hotel and restaurant staff were top notch and I would definitely stay here again and advise any others to stay here also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dede J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Front Office Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We're a glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It sounds like everything was great about your stay. We try and make everyone's stay just as good as yours was. We'll make sure to let the staff know how much you enjoyed your visit with us. It's always nice to hear positive thoughts about our hotel. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    344
    150
    90
    68
See reviews for
235
632
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay at the basin. The views are gorgeous! The balcony restaurant is the best ever!! We had a suite, the bathroom was incredible. It just needed a mini fridge and micro and it would of been perfect. Beds were very comfortable! Definitely on my great list!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerngirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review of the Basin Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the views from the property as well as your experience at the Balcony Bar & Restaurant. We invite you to return to our historic property and very much hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My Aunt and I were soo excited to return to visit Eureka Springs. Our first visit was 2 years ago and loved the ambiance of the city. We decided to stay right down town to experience the history. Upon researching, the Basin has great pictures that really hide the run down property that is really there. I had reserved the dble queen room with all amenities and advertised private parking.. What wasn't said was the parking is soo far away, you have a red phone at the lot to call for the shuttle. So my advise is to go to the parking lot first and then call if you have alot of luggage. We did this and checked in, went to our room.. First, it was so small, 2 full beds (not antique, just beds) barely fit in the room with very little room to walk. Second, the bathroom was so old and small, the sink was in the bedroom. Not only was the old sink in the bedroom, it was rusty (NOT rustic, rusty). No refrigerator or extras as advertised. We sat there a minute in shock. I called downstairs and stated I wanted to leave. However, instead they "upgraded" us to a king room, it was larger, with a nice walk in closed and refrigerator . The bathroom was a step up and so narrow, if you are larger there is not much room to walk.. The furnishings were old, not quite antique and mismatched. But, the icing on the falling cake was the cheap shear curtans AND a mosquito net!!?? Yep, a mosquito net. This room normally was $129.00 a nite REALLY! I would NEVER stay here again.. I would eat at the resteraunt again..the staff there was nice and the food good.

Room Tip: Look at the room first, you may want to change hotels.. There is no pool, you have to go up the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VICT0RIANC0WGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are sorry that you felt inconvenienced by the distance of the parking lot and much of the set up of the historic property. Although the rooms have been renovated, we undergo a constant process of restoration, preservation, and maintenance. We advertise refrigerators and microwaves in some of our suites and specialty rooms, but they are not advertised as amenities in our standard king and double rooms. We are please to know that you enjoyed your experience at the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, and we invite you to return any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We did not want to leave Eureka Springs so we checked the Basin and they had a room!!! Very clean and the location was awesome!!! Right in town so the shops and restaurants are right out the door. Very friendly staff and the shuttle is great too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyzonlymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Basin Park Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the service, accommodations, and location of the property. We would love for you to visit us again, and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As long as you don't mind historic properties that don't look brand new on the inside, the Basin Park is a perfect choice for Eureka. The location can't be beat, and they top it off with a free shuttle anywhere in the downtown area that is fast and reliable. Parking is always a challenge, so park in the hotel lot (a few blocks away) and let the shuttle driver take you anywhere you can't walk. We had a wonderful room that looked out over the Basin Park and had a Jacuzzi tub nestled under the windows in the corner. Our rate included breakfast and a free walking tour, both of which were appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the historic character of the building and that the location was such a positive part of your stay. Please come back to visit us again and enjoy a unique stay downtown. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First of all, there is just so much to love about this historic hotel. Location is awesome, balcony view lovely, charming place full of history. However, if you are a clean freak, you will be disappointed. It's not. And, it is a bit rundown. We met a couple who were so psyched about seeing an orb. Evidently, ghost stuff is a big big deal here. We saw no orbs, but did see one too many dust balls.

Room Tip: My ipad wouldn't let me deselect the ratings on fitness center and pool. Sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricemilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us, and would love for you to visit again in the future. Our housekeeping staff works hard to maintain high standards of cleanliness at the property. Your comments regarding dust and any disappointment you felt regarding the cleanliness of the hotel will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review. Again we thank you, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a short stay here. We found a good deal online for a Sunday night to Monday stay which included two tickets to one of the downtown walking tours. The deal was for "best room available" so we booked the VIP jacuzzi room (room 102). It has a balcony overlooking Basin Park, a large nicely furnished room with king size bed and a modern two person shower. This hotel definitely has charm and I loved the fact that it sometimes showed its age. Who wants to stay in a completely modern "historic" hotel? We had a bit of confusion about where to park at first but it was all good once we found the parking lot and the shuttle service around town is great. We only used the shuttle when we checked in and out because the hotel is literally in the middle of town and easy walking distance to almost everything you'd want to see. One general bit of advice: though the Basin Hotel has an elevator, most of the town is not handicap accessible. There are plenty of stairs and steep slopes to navigate. Ask for detailed directions to the parking lot. After you park you can use the red courtesy phone in the lot kiosk to call for the shuttle, which will probably take less than 5 minutes to arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for room 102 or one of the others with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1905 Basin Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate the review of your stay at the Basin Park Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations and your experience in room 102. The history of the hotel is certainly one of its charms, and we are thrilled that you appreciated it. We apologize for any inconvenience you found with parking, but hope that the shuttle service was a sufficient help in that area. We welcome you to return to the Basin Park Hotel at any time, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#22 of 35 in Eureka Springs
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edelweiss Inn
Edelweiss Inn
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1905 Basin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1905 Basin Park Hotel

Property: 1905 Basin Park Hotel
Address: 12 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3105
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1905 Basin Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Spring where it all began, The 1905 Basin Park Hotel is Downtown Eureka Springs' full service lodging option featuring the Spa1905, the Balcony Bar and Restaurant, Lucky 7 Billiards & Bar and Jacuzzi Suites. As well as complimentary shuttle, free parking, security, and a 24-hour front desk and bellman service. The hotel is in easy walking distance to over 20 restaurants and bars as well as plentiful shopping and people watching. As a guest of the Basin Park Hotel you get 2 FREE tickets to the Downtown Tour: Hellraisers, Hoodlums, and Heated History. The Basin Park Hotel hosts numerous weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 1905 Basin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Park Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing