We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was so excited to get to stay in the hotel we were put in room 422 the floors were so slanted in the bathroom I lost my balance several times I could hardly stand in the shower the room was so hot we could not sleep and it is such a beautiful old place and the upkeep is so bad the hotel was filthy .I really mean dirty they could do a lot better cleaning there for the prices. they charge for a room. The staff was friendly I will never go back to the hotel I can say been-there-done that. I was truly disappointed and you also could add bacon to the breakfast menu not everyone eats sausage and no technically the breakfast wasn't free it was incorporated into the overpriced room charge just make sure you don't get room 422 maybe one day your cleaning staff might possibly clean the glass doors or vacuum the halls more than once a week

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyndalle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay, but we are glad to know that you found the staff to be friendly. The appropriate departments will be informed of your complaints. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,945 - 1,951 of 2,878 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a girl's birthday weekend at the Crescent. It was a blast loved the room and friendly staff. We went on the ghost tour and got some great photos. I am truly looking forward to my next stay at the Crescent. Thanks so much!!!!! We love you!

Room Tip: We picked a haunted room...... do at your own risk - the room was wonderful and the ghost kept a bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maharet_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of the 1886 Crescent Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday weekend getaway. We invite you to return at anytime and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

As usual this place never disappoints! Sisters and I just walked about and enjoyed the feeling of the place. Sat out on the porch in the rockers and loved it! I will always visit the Crescent when in Eureka Springs. It is a place of history and has such a feeling of calm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BooniesMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We appreciate your review of your visit to the 1886 Crescent Hotel. We invite you to return at any time to enjoy the hotel's historic character, sit a while on the back porch, and especially to stay with us for a night or two. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fun place to visit, many weddings taking place in June. Bar was a little pricy, but cold drinks were great! Purchased a t-shirt, of course, but lady was needing to get off work, ;-( not a good impression, friend would bought more but was "put off" by attitude.

Room Tip: Do not arrive at the end of employee's shift E
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank droll224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing your visit to the 1886 Crescent Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed most of your visit, especially the your experience at the bar. We would also like to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while purchasing merchandise. The appropriate departments will be notified of your experience and dissatisfaction. We invite you to return at any time, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a destination wedding with 75 of our closest friends and family and had our reception in the conservatory. Myself and bridesmaids stayed in the Governor's Suite which was perfect for getting ready and having a "home base."

This property is beautiful and was the perfect place for my dream wedding. Our reception was great, the staff was great, wedding day itself was really great.

There's a couple problems no one can really help, and that is noise. It's a 127 year old building and you can hear EVERYTHING from the rooms next door and above. I couldn't sleep because the people above us were so loud. I could literally hear conversations. I called the desk at 1am and he was not super nice, just a "ok, I'll go and see if I can hear anything." Apparently, I was telling the truth because the noise quieted down and I could sleep after that. We had a couple other issues with less than hospitable staff, mostly at the front desk. They might be getting overworked since it's wedding season? I guess we all have bad days. There's a couple other issues we had, but the hotel made it right so I won't go into it.

The food is fabulous, both the breakfast buffet, brunch, and the catering for our reception. Overall, this place is great. We would choose it again. I would still stay there again because of the convenience of getting ready and having pictures at the hotel. Come to the hotel, go on a walking tour or ghost tour, eat in their restaurant, but stay in their Victorian house or cottages if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharpschruter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We appreciate that you took the time to review your wedding and stay with the Crescent Hotel & Spa. We are so glad you had a wonderful experience on your big day, especially with the reception staff and your dining experiences. We apologize for any inconveniences caused by noise, and you are correct that the age of the hotel comes into play. We are sorry for any inhospitable encounters you had with the front desk staff and the appropriate departments will be notified of your experience. We welcome you to come back any time and take advantage of the hotel and its amenities. We loved having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We last stayed here several years ago and vowed never to stay again. But, my niece wanted to stay here, so we tried it again and were more than surprised. The front desk staff were nice, informative. The room was clean, decorated tastefully. The hotel itself seemed more well-kempt than last time. The grounds and pool area were beautiful, as always. The ac worked great, there was plenty of hot water for showers....we were all very impressed. There is a small ice cream store on the main floor and it offered delicious gourmet cupcakes (I had one, it was amazing) and ice cream among other things. The breakfast offered in the Crystal dining room was buffet-style and very good. The coffee was amazing. The elevator seemed new also and worked well. Overall, we will definitely stay here again. Great job Crescent hotel on your improvements!!! :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We very much appreciate your review of the hotel. We have worked hard to make improvements to the property and continue to work daily. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experiences with the staff, grounds, rooms, and other amenities on the property and welcome you to return any time. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a unique hotel....and, frankly, a bit creepy. We staying in Room 213 for three nights. Room 218 is reported to be the most haunted room in this hotel...which is reported to be the most haunted hotel in the US. The location and history is interesting. The repair is frankly so-so, the value -especially on the weekends - is questionable. Every night there is a ghost tour that goes right outside your room. There are three on the weekends. I found, for a family of four, the room to be small.

The service is fine, and the included breakfast for two is nice.

Bottom line....tour here, have a meal here....seek out other nicer, less haunted, Bed and Breakfast's in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed your experiences with service and dining at the hotel as well as the unique atmosphere. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the ghost tour gathering outside of your room and with the lack of space for your family of four. We hope to see you again soon and welcome you to come back for tour and dining opportunities any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#12 of 35 in Eureka Springs
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
#19 of 35 in Eureka Springs
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
491 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
835 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 75 Prospect Ave, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3021
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $139 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing