We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a destination wedding with 75 of our closest friends and family and had our reception in the conservatory. Myself and bridesmaids stayed in the Governor's Suite which was perfect for getting ready and having a "home base."

This property is beautiful and was the perfect place for my dream wedding. Our reception was great, the staff was great, wedding day itself was really great.

There's a couple problems no one can really help, and that is noise. It's a 127 year old building and you can hear EVERYTHING from the rooms next door and above. I couldn't sleep because the people above us were so loud. I could literally hear conversations. I called the desk at 1am and he was not super nice, just a "ok, I'll go and see if I can hear anything." Apparently, I was telling the truth because the noise quieted down and I could sleep after that. We had a couple other issues with less than hospitable staff, mostly at the front desk. They might be getting overworked since it's wedding season? I guess we all have bad days. There's a couple other issues we had, but the hotel made it right so I won't go into it.

The food is fabulous, both the breakfast buffet, brunch, and the catering for our reception. Overall, this place is great. We would choose it again. I would still stay there again because of the convenience of getting ready and having pictures at the hotel. Come to the hotel, go on a walking tour or ghost tour, eat in their restaurant, but stay in their Victorian house or cottages if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpschruter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to review your wedding and stay with the Crescent Hotel & Spa. We are so glad you had a wonderful experience on your big day, especially with the reception staff and your dining experiences. We apologize for any inconveniences caused by noise, and you are correct that the age of the hotel comes into play. We are sorry for any inhospitable encounters you had with the front desk staff and the appropriate departments will be notified of your experience. We welcome you to come back any time and take advantage of the hotel and its amenities. We loved having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    610
    217
    162
    114
See reviews for
595
1,148
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We last stayed here several years ago and vowed never to stay again. But, my niece wanted to stay here, so we tried it again and were more than surprised. The front desk staff were nice, informative. The room was clean, decorated tastefully. The hotel itself seemed more well-kempt than last time. The grounds and pool area were beautiful, as always. The ac worked great, there was plenty of hot water for showers....we were all very impressed. There is a small ice cream store on the main floor and it offered delicious gourmet cupcakes (I had one, it was amazing) and ice cream among other things. The breakfast offered in the Crystal dining room was buffet-style and very good. The coffee was amazing. The elevator seemed new also and worked well. Overall, we will definitely stay here again. Great job Crescent hotel on your improvements!!! :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your review of the hotel. We have worked hard to make improvements to the property and continue to work daily. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experiences with the staff, grounds, rooms, and other amenities on the property and welcome you to return any time. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a unique hotel....and, frankly, a bit creepy. We staying in Room 213 for three nights. Room 218 is reported to be the most haunted room in this hotel...which is reported to be the most haunted hotel in the US. The location and history is interesting. The repair is frankly so-so, the value -especially on the weekends - is questionable. Every night there is a ghost tour that goes right outside your room. There are three on the weekends. I found, for a family of four, the room to be small.

The service is fine, and the included breakfast for two is nice.

Bottom line....tour here, have a meal here....seek out other nicer, less haunted, Bed and Breakfast's in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed your experiences with service and dining at the hotel as well as the unique atmosphere. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the ghost tour gathering outside of your room and with the lack of space for your family of four. We hope to see you again soon and welcome you to come back for tour and dining opportunities any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The reason we picked this location was because they allow pets. After looking at the website and reading up on the internet we expected exactly what we ended up in. This is apparently a haunted hotel, but I didn't see it or feel it and neither did our 2 dogs. I'm not disappointed.

The entire town is on the State Historic Register. The view is amazing from the 4th floor bar. There are rocking chairs on the porch on the east side of the hotel and it's peaceful and relaxing. I've stayed in nicer hotels, but I'm not sure there are any nicer one's in Eureka Springs. It's a small town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your experience at the 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa. We are glad you enjoyed the view and the historic presence of the hotel and surrounding area. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My 9 year old son and I stayed here as an early (ghost hunting) birthday present for him. We booked Theodora's Room 9 months in advance because of high demand for the room. If you're looking for luxury, this is not it. The room had seen better days but they did attempt to keep it authentic to the hay days of the grand, old hotel. If you're going for a haunting adventure, I highly recommend it. While I am somewhat skeptical, my son is a believer in ghosts. Staying the night in Theodora's room tested my skepticism. From a door opening without explanation to someone / something patting my head to shadowy figures, there was a lot we could not debunk. Not a scary experience but a darn interesting one.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KatzFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay in Theadora's Room at the 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience in one of the reportedly haunted rooms in our hotel. We welcome you to come back any time and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Check-in was very quick, and we were in our room in about 10 minutes from arrival, with a bellman carrying our luggage. The bell person was very nice and helpful, though I did find it unusual that he did not use the luggage carts that were readily available to take our luggage to the room, and instead struggled to take all 5 bags to our room by hand.

The hotel is obviously old, as shown by the name, and it does show. If you're looking for a brand new resort, you shouldn't come here. The hotel is maintained nicely, but its impossible to make a 130 year old building look new. There has been some settling, the floors are a little crooked, the doors don't quite align, and the floor creaks when walking on it. This is part of the charm of staying at this old a hotel though.

We stayed in a basic room, which was nice. It had a shower/tub combo, flat screen tv, king size bed, and a window air conditioner. As mentioned the rooms are older, but nice. The rooms used traditional keys, not the electronic type, something I hadn't experienced in quite some time.

There was a restaurant on-site. We ate there for breakfast both mornings, which was a buffet, with one of the mornings being Sunday brunch. The meals were included in our room, and were pretty expensive if they were not. The food was good, though not great.

We also did the ghost tour which was very interesting and my wife and I both thought was well worth the money.

The one negative thing I can say about this hotel is the parking. Quite simply they need hotel guest only parking. Both nights we were there, multiple weddings were going on. This made parking very hard. It would be nice if they could have parking for hotel guests only, because it was very hard to find a spot.

The only other slightly negative thing is the location. Though not very far from the main area of town, the streets in the town make driving rather difficult.

All in all, I really liked this hotel. Very old, very nostalgic, with nice grounds and friendly people. If I visit Eureka Springs again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with parking at the hotel and will dispatch your comments to the appropriate departments for consideration. Although we recognize that the location has its challenges, we find that it is part of the hotel's charm as well. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and your experiences with the staff, rooms, restaurant, and ghost tour. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was not able to stay overnight as there was a wedding and the rooms where all booked. However I had a look around in all public places. How sad the condition of the building is including the gardens, some major areas either bare or full of weeds. The bar on the upper floor has been turned into a very ordinary black "dungeon" looking pizza joint, not one touch of history left..... After seeing all that I was actually glad that I did not have a reservation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#19 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#16 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Property: 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Address: 75 Prospect Ave., Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing