We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Hotel, Victorian Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We love going to the Crescent, it has been a favorite of mine for 20 years, It is old and very beautiful! The rooms are all decorated in Victorian style rooms, no room is the same. We love the history the hotel has about it. They have a couple of cats who roam the hallways and in the entry of the hotel. They have one huge house to play in! The gift shopis very nice, pretty pricey but it is all art stuff, which my daughter I loved! It is a perfect place for a marriage! Anyone thinking of getting married this lovely place would be perfect! The restaurants in the hotel are so good! You will want to take lots of photo's inside the hotel, you might just catch an orb or two! We did! Crazy, but very fun and it is not scarey! but they do have ghosts tours available, or roam the hotel yourself, as we did. Wonderful Place!

Room Tip: Room 218 is the most happenings as far as the ghosts! I have a picture in front of this room, and we...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armymom86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

We appreciate your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to meet our cats Jaspur and Caspur. Thank you for the picture and room tip. We look forward to the next 20 years with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,697)
There are newer reviews for 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,791 - 1,797 of 2,697 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Being in one of the most haunted hotels in america is exciting but to hunt for ghost in the same hotel was awesome. Atmosphere incredible, workers enjoyable, tour exciting. Take the time while in eureka to take the tour you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protectyourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I were recently in Eureka Springs. We had heard of this historic hotel and just had to make a visit. We decided to have lunch and a drink in the Sky Bar, which is on the 4th floor. The view from the bar is breathtaking. The service was good, the food average. The hotel itself is dirty and in poor condition. The elevator has been broken for 1 1/2 years as reported by a staff member. Walls, carpet and floors were dirty. Never again! Historic should not mean expect a dive!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdrlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate your review. We apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator. It has proven to be a long process that is near completion. We are pleased that you enjoyed the sky bar. The public areas are cleaned daily by our housekeeping staff although your review has been noted and will be taken further to the correct department. Thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Eureka Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is at the top of a mountain and look over the Ozarks. From the outside the hotel is gorgeous and the grounds are well kept. As you enter you realize the hotel is in need of major renovations. Everything is dated. The service was awful. The front desk staff says maybe 5 words to you and gives you the key to figure things out. The elevator is broken and no bell service to help with the bags. After a long day it was upsetting to get to the room and see how small and old room was. Paint chips, stained carpet, dust and non functioning doors. You share a deck with several rooms and the smoke seeps into room. With a small baby we tried to stay our room. Bar up top looked nice but drinks overpriced and service terrible. Dinner in the main dining hall had the potential to be perfect, but food was terrible. Nice touches like salads made at table and complimentary wine. We ate at 6:30 pm and were the only ones there, so we expected to have service been top notch. Staff was no where to be found. I asked 4 times to desk to get a crib and desk girl even argued saying it was delivered. Finally someone brought it and didn't even apologize. Ghost tour is way overpriced for the hour you get. It was cool and all, but after paying to much the tour guide basically demanded tips. Beds were not comfy and you hear every sound and movement within hotel. Would not stay again for the price. Love Eureka Springs though and can't wait to go try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrynp816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. Updates are made daily by our maintenance crew to make sure that the historical hotel is updated and functioning properly. The elevator is currently be completely replaced for your safety and convenience in the future. It has proven to be a long process that is near completion. At check in you are informed of all the necessary items and tools that are needed and can be taken advantage of during your stay. We have a bell man on staff at all times at request starting @ 7AM until 11PM to assist you to your room and with other things needed. Your review about the staff, overpriced drinks, and the crib not being delivered are noted and will be taken further. We look forward to your next visit and hope to improve your opinion in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a very beautiful room with an amazing view, granted. However, the extremely overpriced breakfast was not worth it. Go elsewhere to eat. We didn't eat at the Crystal dining room for dinner in fear our money would be wasted on more overpriced, under-delivered food. Although, with this in mind, the Crescent is not in walking distance to any other food. The patio restaurant on the top floor closes at (or before) 8 pm, too. We had lack-luster pizza delivery, as well.

Keep in mind when you visit: A majority of business and restaurants close to the Crescent are closed on Tuesday and Wednesday (when we visited) and downtown closes at 5 pm.

Now, about the loudness, we were woken up both nights of our stay at 9 am by hammering, drilling, yelling, and construction--As the hotel is being renovated. I found it inconsiderate of their guest to do loud construction so early in the morning.

We took the ghost tour. I think our guide was intoxicated. It was uneventful and poorly staged, at best. At one point, we were asked to take a picture into a mirror of a wall, so we could see a ghost dog. However, the mirror is dusty, the walls are heavily textured, and the human brain, through the closure principle, automatically rearranges abstract images into a recognizable forms, especially when primed. I did not see the purported dog. She kept pointing out e-meter readings on the stairs where this girl fell to her death, without realizing the can-lights were causing the "activity".

At any rate, being "haunted" is good for business (but not good enough to fix the elevator, I guess) and the hotel is gorgeous. I would recommend staying, provided they are not doing construction.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneJetLaggedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate your review. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused due to updates of the hotel. Your review is noted and has already been passed to the correct department. We are aware that there is some distance between the downtown area and the hotel so we do offer a shuttle to take you down and back up when ready. The hotel is also surrounded by walking trails that are very well maintained for the guest to use. Your review on the ghost tour will also be passed on to the correct department. The elevator is currently being completely replaced and has proven to be a long process that is near completion for your safety and convenience in the near future. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

First things first, who waits until Spring Break 2013 to replace an elevator that has been breaking down intermittently since at least summer 2003? Now, onto the philosophical rant...

When I was a girl, I stayed here and it cast a spell over me. Ten years later, I am sad to say, the magic is gone. Instead of retexturing the well-patched walls, the management has merely gone over them with lime green paint. The matresses and pillows are growing tired. Kitschy resort activities abound, as do staff members and posters practically screaming at you to participate. The previously elegant Crystal Dining Room, home to champagne fruit crepes for breakfast and cherries jubilee for dessert, is now the generic 1886 Steakhouse, where the steaks are underwhelming and the desserts are brownie sundaes, and breakfast is an expected buffet. Even their legendary Sunday Brunch isn't what it used to be. The rooftop lounge used to serve interesting things like fried brie and excellent burgers with unexpected cheeses; now, pre-frozen mozzarella sticks and cheap, bland pizzas they bill as "almost world famous."

The Crescent has a storied history full of ups and downs. One day, I hope, it will have an owner who truly appreciates it as a historic gem capable of real Victorian elegance and grace, not a cash cow panting for the Branson crowd. I know this sounds harsh, but my memories of being thirteen, feeling so grown-up with my crepes and miniature bottle of Perrier, so elegant on the Victorian sofa in our suite, surrounded by dark green walls covered in golden fleurs-de-lis are so powerful to me. I'm worried that the Crescent is losing what made it so special, and is now just another hotel with peeling paint and an egg-and-biscuit breakfast buffet, things that are all available at the Best Western up the highway, minus the markup and the risk of having no restaurant or available staff because someone's having a wedding downstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ContessaPaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate your review. We are very glad that the Crescent has proven to be such a special place to you in the past. We apologize that it has changed in your eyes. We are currently replacing the whole elevator unit which has been a long process that is near completion. Updates are made daily to keep the historical building looking the best possible. Your review on breakfast and dinner is noted and will be taken further. Next time you visit the 1886 Steakhouse maybe you should try the Crab Lorenzo for it was the first dish served in the Crystal Dining Room in 1886. We hope to improve your opinion in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday and Monday and it was full capacity but surprisingly quiet. We stayed in the 3500 suite which is supposed to be one of the more haunted rooms. We did not experience anything spooky at all, which was fine by us! We did enjoy the jacuzzi tub which was very relaxing. We went upstairs to the top lounge and enjoyed a couple of beers. We ordered the cheese sticks for a snack. They were just your regular frozen cheese sticks you can buy anywhere. Bar food. The elevator is still out, so expect to walk the stairs. Can see how it can be a real inconvenience to some guests. We went downtown both nights and the shuttle service was a real plus. We thought that was one of the best features. Overall, it is full of history and very old, something out of a movie almost. We enjoyed our stay here with no real complaints!

Room Tip: Stay in the suite if it is in your budget. Much bigger rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We appreciate your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and so many of the amenities we have to offer. The elevator is currently being replaced for your safety and convenience in the near future. It has proven to be a long process that is near completion and we are sorry for the current inconvenience. We look forward to seeing you in the future on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 35 in Eureka Springs
164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
#20 of 35 in Eureka Springs
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
482 reviews
1.3 mi away
Edelweiss Inn
Edelweiss Inn
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 75 Prospect Ave, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3021
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $182 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing