We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the ghost tour and the history of the hotels past. Went to. 9:30 pm tour and got some spots and weird lighting swooshes on camera photos with flash off. Inside the morgue saw several streaks of light and orbs and was closed inside the cooler temperature fluctuated inside. Very informative and amazing how much of eureka springs history was tragic.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Ghost tour. We would love to see your pictures if you would like to email crescentactivities@gmail.com. The history of Eureka can be tragic but very interesting. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,702)
There are newer reviews for 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,702 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel. I was about to reserve a room here, but some of the reviews on trip advisor changed my mind. We ended up staying at the Basin Park, which was so-so. We came to the Crescent the day we were leaving to get a couples massage at the spa and to look around. The second we walked in, we were instantly sad we didn't stay here. I can't speak for the rooms, but the lobby and grounds are beautiful! We arrived well over an hour before our massage was scheduled, so we took the time to look around. We ended up rocking on the backporch soaking in the view and warm sun and it was the most relaxed we've been in quite a while. We could have probably stayed in that spot all day and enjoyed every minute of it. Our couples massage in the spa was wonderful. The massage therapists did a great job and were friendly. We got the 30 minute massage and regretted not making an appointment for the 60 minute. The massages are a bit more costly than other places, but we still left feeling like it was worth the money.
We can't wait for our next trip to Eureka. We always have a good time there, but mostly because we are excited to stay at this hotel for the first time and use their spa again!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BetsyLee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are very pleased that you are coming back to stay with us. The rocking chairs on the back veranda are known as a favorite spot in the hotel as well as the massages offered in the New Moon Spa. We look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

a neat old hotel, clean etc. keep in mind it is over 100 years old. been a few times and always enjoy. review needs to be 200 character so blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc

Room Tip: all are good
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. The hotel is 126 years old this year! We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We made a spur of the moment trip to Eureka Springs and decided to stay at the Crescent Hotel. It was a beautiful building and the lobby w/the grand fireplace was probably my favorite. We did do the ghost tour and that was informative on the long history of the hotel as well as being just spooky enough for my 13 year old son. We were on the first floor and could hear the people above us very easily. I don't fault the hotel for this though. I think we just had some rowdy people above us. I would stay there again in a minute. I loved the feel of the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dijeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you choose the Crescent hotel to stay at and we look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit. Thank you for your review on the ghost tour and it will be passed on to the necessary department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Last New Years Eve, the four member "Mystery Trip Dorks", visited the wonderful Cresent Hotel and Spa in Ureka Springs, Arkansas. Although the Mystery Trip Dork Regulations specifically state that no whining or complaining is allowed, there was no need for either during this visit. We have covered over 20 locations and recognize a well run hotel. Given that the age and history of the hotel makes it unlike the modern resorts, that same age and history makes the hotel a charming location for a great time. The facility was well run, the people very nice but the hotel, decorated for Christmas, was the star. If you understand the difficulty in running a very old building, you will go away with a tremendous amount of respect for the owner and operators of the Cresent. Eureka Springs is a charming little town but do not expect to be enchanted for more than 3-4 days unless you venture out into the countryside for some fantasic hiking trails and natural beauty. Attitude and opportunity make a great trip. If you bring the right attitude, it is impossible to avoid a great and interesting time. The hotel was clean, well organized and responsive to guest's needs and was simply facinating in every way. The young girl who led us on a walk through town was wonderful to us, had a great personnality and was extemely well informed about the hotel, grounds and town. She added the kind of personal touch that makes guest comfortable and want to return, which the Mystery Trip Dorks will do this spring.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities we offer at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the spring. Thank you for your specific reviews and they will be passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love love love your hotel! Everything from your rooms to the ghost tour. Phenomenal! We stayed 2 nights in June of 2012 in room 309 and loved it! It's truly a step back in time! For all the people complaining: IT'S 130 YEARS OLD! WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? The Crescent is my favorite hotel ever! As for the ghost aspect of it, My mom got touched AND her hair pulled! I caught multiple orbs and a couple of apparitions! I would 100% Recommend this hotel to everyone! I can't wait to go back!!!! :D

Room Tip: If you want to get touched or your hair pulled, I recommend room 309 ;)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the hotel and so many amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've visited the hotel several times for functions but just never stayed overnight until our last minute Christmas holiday get-away. While we enjoyed our stay, it was definitely not for everyone.

We were upgraded to the Penthouse suite, which had fantastic views and a jacuzzi tub once you got to the room, but the elevator was not working so we had 4 flights of stairs! Also, the hotel is pet friendly which was fantastic but when you have to take them out early morning and late night, no elevator was a major bummer. Also, for anyone with cat allergies, note that there are 2 resident cats in the lobby.

The Staff were thorough, but not overly helpful and didn't really try to encourage us to book with the spa or eat at the hotel restaurant. And by the time I wanted to enjoy the spa, they were booked through the rest of our stay so that was a bummer.

The hotel location and history are worth putting up with some of the inconveniences, but just make sure the elevator (which is very old) is working or you could end up with more trouble than it's worth!

Room Tip: With the nightly ghost tours the hotel guides, you might ask for a room not on the tour. Otherwise...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are very pleased you were able to join us overnight for your holiday getaway. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator. The older elevator is currently being completely replaced and has been a long process that is near completion. Your review of the staff is noted and will be taken further to the front desk and food and beverage departments. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the spa and all the services they have to offer but hope that you can return and be able to accomplish that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
#19 of 35 in Eureka Springs
132 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Edelweiss Inn
Edelweiss Inn
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Address: 75 Prospect Ave, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3021
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $182 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing