We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve at The Cresent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve at The Cresent”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Last New Years Eve, the four member "Mystery Trip Dorks", visited the wonderful Cresent Hotel and Spa in Ureka Springs, Arkansas. Although the Mystery Trip Dork Regulations specifically state that no whining or complaining is allowed, there was no need for either during this visit. We have covered over 20 locations and recognize a well run hotel. Given that the age and history of the hotel makes it unlike the modern resorts, that same age and history makes the hotel a charming location for a great time. The facility was well run, the people very nice but the hotel, decorated for Christmas, was the star. If you understand the difficulty in running a very old building, you will go away with a tremendous amount of respect for the owner and operators of the Cresent. Eureka Springs is a charming little town but do not expect to be enchanted for more than 3-4 days unless you venture out into the countryside for some fantasic hiking trails and natural beauty. Attitude and opportunity make a great trip. If you bring the right attitude, it is impossible to avoid a great and interesting time. The hotel was clean, well organized and responsive to guest's needs and was simply facinating in every way. The young girl who led us on a walk through town was wonderful to us, had a great personnality and was extemely well informed about the hotel, grounds and town. She added the kind of personal touch that makes guest comfortable and want to return, which the Mystery Trip Dorks will do this spring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities we offer at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the spring. Thank you for your specific reviews and they will be passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    638
    231
    173
    123
See reviews for
655
1,219
40
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love love love your hotel! Everything from your rooms to the ghost tour. Phenomenal! We stayed 2 nights in June of 2012 in room 309 and loved it! It's truly a step back in time! For all the people complaining: IT'S 130 YEARS OLD! WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? The Crescent is my favorite hotel ever! As for the ghost aspect of it, My mom got touched AND her hair pulled! I caught multiple orbs and a couple of apparitions! I would 100% Recommend this hotel to everyone! I can't wait to go back!!!! :D

Room Tip: If you want to get touched or your hair pulled, I recommend room 309 ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the hotel and so many amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've visited the hotel several times for functions but just never stayed overnight until our last minute Christmas holiday get-away. While we enjoyed our stay, it was definitely not for everyone.

We were upgraded to the Penthouse suite, which had fantastic views and a jacuzzi tub once you got to the room, but the elevator was not working so we had 4 flights of stairs! Also, the hotel is pet friendly which was fantastic but when you have to take them out early morning and late night, no elevator was a major bummer. Also, for anyone with cat allergies, note that there are 2 resident cats in the lobby.

The Staff were thorough, but not overly helpful and didn't really try to encourage us to book with the spa or eat at the hotel restaurant. And by the time I wanted to enjoy the spa, they were booked through the rest of our stay so that was a bummer.

The hotel location and history are worth putting up with some of the inconveniences, but just make sure the elevator (which is very old) is working or you could end up with more trouble than it's worth!

Room Tip: With the nightly ghost tours the hotel guides, you might ask for a room not on the tour. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are very pleased you were able to join us overnight for your holiday getaway. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator. The older elevator is currently being completely replaced and has been a long process that is near completion. Your review of the staff is noted and will be taken further to the front desk and food and beverage departments. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the spa and all the services they have to offer but hope that you can return and be able to accomplish that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lots of history-beautiful hotel. Our rooms was clean, good size however we could hear our neighbors next door partying it up until 3am. That was annoying, I felt like I could have carried on a conversation with them it was that loud. The breakfast buffet was great, but for $15.00 a person??
It was the basics muffins, bagels, omelette station, hasbrowns, bacon, etc just not for $15.00 a person.
Dr Baker's Lounge was a fun spot, but beware for pricey drinks.. My friends drink was $10.00 for one!! Your paying to sit outside on the balcony..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the noisy guest next to you. With the hotel being at the age it is the insulation could be better to accomidate guest today. Thank you for your reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a really fun, interesting place! Go on the ghost tour, it's a must! The location is kind of far away from more happening parts of town, but that's okay. The restaurant/bar on the 4th (?) floor is decent; more bar type food, but it's a fun atmosphere. Sit outside if the weather is nice, the view is great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased you were able to enjoy your stay and so many amenities we have to offer. I hope that you were able to take advantage of the shuttle we offer to guest everyday to deliver you to downtown for no extra charge. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Crescent Hotel is a fine historic hotel; its structure is beautiful. Our room was large and comfortable; however, there are serious management issues. Let’s start with the check in process. We arrived around 3AM our first night and the Front Desk Clerk was busy entertaining his friends. We got through the check in process and then realized that the elevator was out of order. My husband is disabled and if we would have had this information we would have checked into another hotel. No assistance with luggage was offered by the clerk. Later that day we were able to enjoy the Thanksgiving Buffet. There was an excellent spread and the service in the Crystal Ballroom was first class. In the evening, we went on the Ghost Tour. The tour was informative and filled with interesting historical information. Note that the hotel website is misleading on where the tour departs. The information on the War Eagle Breakfast is truly false advertising. The website provides a menu with descriptions of War Eagle Mill granola, pancakes, and grits with a large assortment of War Eagle Jams and Jellies...none of which were to be found. We asked the server about the items and she said that as far as she knew they have never had them. The breakfast is nice and better than most places, but not as advertised.
Still, with the problems that I have mentioned, I would recommend staying here. It is a beautiful place. Just please come with no expectation of customer service, ADA compliance, or anything as described on their website. Management does not hold the hotel to this standard.
My 4/5 rank for the hotel is on the structure and the experience of being in this historical building. It is only slightly weighted from management issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. Your review of the customer service is noted and will be taken further to the correct department. The elevator is currently being rebuilt and it has been an on going process that is near completion. Steps have been taken to ensure that guest are informed of the elevator situation while making their reservation. We do offer bellman service from 7AM-11PM everyday and we apologize that there is not one staffed over night. The war eagle breakfast is served everyday in the Crystal Salon including the jams upon request if not made readily available to you. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

First off, the elevator is not working and it's no where posted on their website it's under going maintenance. If you have problems walking up 3-4 stores of stairs I would recommend staying somewhere else.

Second, be prepared to have ghost tours lasting until around 10:30PM. If you're going to bed around 10PM be prepared to be woke up by the last ghost tour.

Third, the walls are extremely thin and the halls echo due to the age of the Crescent. Be ready to hear doors slamming, teenagers being loud, kids whining, until 1AM or later. The Stanley hotel, similar hotel structure and age as the Crescent, in Estes park has this figured out. They have signs posted throughout the hotel informing guest to be quiet in the halls after 10PM or 11PM, I can't remember. Also, the Stanley does a walk though of their hotel frequently to see if their are any noise issues. I think the Crescent should follow a similar guide line for couples wanting a peaceful and romantic getaway. If you're on your honey moon or a romantic getaway; Would you want to hear annoying teenagers trying to communicate with ghost at 1AM in the morning?

Fourth is price, we got a deal at $99 for a night in a room which is usually around $250 (tax included). I know the Crescent has history and 'ghost' but I wouldn't pay $250 for this room. The room is very basic with nothing special in it. The carpet is beginning to come up, paint is chipping, shower head leaks if you're taking a bath, wall paper is coming off, and the over all interior is just very basic in which nothing really stands out. The most I would pay for our room is $125 a night during the weekend.

I've read many reviews regarding the staff being rude. We did not experience this problem at the Crescent, they were extremely nice, helpful, and made it worth staying at the Crescent. The rooms were extremely clean, the bed was comfortable, and the view from the balcony was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator not working. It has been an ongoing process that is near completion. The ghost tours are scheduled until 11PM on the weekend nights and sometimes on the weekdays. The walls are thin and noise travels easy but quiet hours are in effect. You review is noted and will be taken further. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#22 of 35 in Eureka Springs
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 35 in Eureka Springs
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Property: 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Address: 75 Prospect Ave, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3021
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing