We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our stay at the Crescent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved our stay at the Crescent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I went for our wedding anniversary and the place was better than we anticipated! The beds were extremely comfortable, the staff was extremely helpful, breakfast was delicious, the hotel and historic district below has to be seen to be believed! It is absolutely beautiful!

I suppose some rooms might be considered to be on the small side (as other reviews are quick to point out), but the room we stayed in was a perfect size for us and our pets (yes, they allow some pets for an extra fee, a big plus for us) and the high ceilings helped add a feeling of spaciousness to the place. Honestly though, there's so much to do and see that you really don't want to stay in your room for too long!

And about the ghosts... we didn't realize the hotel was purported to be haunted until we got there. We took the fun ghost tour and tried our hand at ghost hunting. We actually came up with some interesting tidbits that we posted on YouTube (GhouledKS, Crescent Hotel Ghosts) if you're interested that sort of thing. : )

Room Tip: If you're worried about the elevator, book a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedediah_Ghouled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and some of our amenities offered. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    596
    213
    161
    113
See reviews for
577
1,130
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay at the 1886 Crescent Hotel. We stayed in a King Balcony Room (Room 314) which had a very nice view from a shared balcony. The room was ok in looks & in size but I had a difficult time getting out of bed from my side due to the radiator (and I am a small person). I think a queen bed would work better in the space. The room was clean and bed was comfortable, but please please please Crescent, put a small chair in the room so there is a place to sit & put shoes on without falling over. The hotel's common areas, grounds and being a short walk to the town were all a plus. The hotel should tell you about the $10/night resort fee and the $5/night service gratuity. I was leaving housekeeping a tip not realizing they were also going to bill me for it. We ate at the 1886 Steakhouse for dinner, my husband had the 10 oz filet and I had the seared tuna and we both enjoyed the dinner. It was probably more that we usually spend, but my seared tuna was excellent. For dinner, we also enjoyed Ermilios (very busy) and Rogue's Manor. Overall we enjoyed the hotel and it’s a great place but don't go there expecting some luxury resort. AAA rates it a three diamond, not a four diamond hotel. It is an old hotel so with all its charm always comes some inconveniences (I agree with a prior reviewer regarding the water going back & forth from hot to cold which made washing my hair a challenge) . Things to do: Must see! Drive about an hour to Branson and go to the Titanic Museum. It is self guided and they say it takes a minimum of 1 1/2 hrs, but my husband and I were there for almost 4 hours. It was very well done and interesting. Also, go to Crystal Bridges Museum (great free American art museum in Bentonville) and stop at the Pea Ridge Military Park along the way. Make sure you watch the 1/2 hr film before you drive through. Eureka Springs is a beautiful town and we were lucky enough to see fall foliage and have 70 degree temperatures.

Room Tip: Ask for room that over looks valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and so many of the surrounding amenities. Your review about the chair is noted and will be taken further. We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newalla
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Years back we'd seen inside the 1886 Crescent Hotel but hadn't stayed there. The zillion online reviews are either good or they focus on the long-term out-of-order elevator, so we were ready to tolerate that. Let me note here my single favorable observation: the Saturday morning complimentary breakfast was quite good. But our room was very unappealing -- small (the door almost hits the bed, and there are only a few inches between the bathtub & the toilet, just where your knees must fit); the furniture is so old & substandard that the drawers didn't even have bottoms all the way across them; despite spactular views outside the hotel, our view (through windows that couldn't have been cleaned this century) was of a roof; the bathroom window was only partially covered (keep in mind that the roof outside it was flat and had a ladder propped up against it); the extra-cheap TP was only sporadically 2-ply, and pieces dropped off it onto the floor; and the extra-cheap tissues disintegrate when you blow your nose with them. Obviously they are operating on a shoestring. Because there was no decaf coffee packet in the room, we asked for one; they kindly brought us a carafe of decaf; but when we went to use the coffee mugs in the room, one of them had a used teabag in it. Then, because of an evening "event" they were hosting in the restaurant, of which we had no warning beforehand, we had to have dinner in their bistro, which was barely adequate for not going to bed hungry. But the clincher was that the "event" bombarded us with 4 hours of pounding base from the music that left my head, face & teeth hurting. After it was finally over at 11 p.m., there were still constant thudding footsteps overhead and/or in the hallway that didn't stop till 12:30. When we checked out next morning, two days early, they gave us a discounted rate but couldn't explain why they'd given us a room directly over a thunderous party without even having acknowledged it. Finally, while packing up, I read on the back of the "Complimentary Parking Pass" for downtown that "A daily resort fee of $9.98 will be added to your room account" for the "free" parking and a few other services that you may or may not want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. We are constantly updating the hotel, including the elevator for your safety and convenience in the near future. No two rooms in the hotel are a like and some run smaller than others for the hotel is over 126 years old and several renovations and remodeling have taken place. We look forward to improving your opinion in the near future on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it.
This a very old property located on a hill top with a gorgeous view over the Ozark Mountains. Hotel's history is fascinating since it has transformed from a luxurious hotel in late 19th century to a hospital, then abandoned for a while and now is back on track!
The hotel lobby has lots of character with a gorgeous fireplace. The restaurant and ballroom are really beautiful with lots of Victorian style decoration and beautiful chandeliers. Getting to your room will be a pain since the elevators are not working and you have to haul your luggage all the way up! Rooms are finely decorated, all the furniture is old. But they are in good shape. Towels and sheets were clean. Some of the rooms have gorgeous view to the mountains. Wireless internet worked fine. We had the coupon for the breakfast. It was sufficient and there is a guy who makes good omelets for you! We didn’t use the spa and cannot comment on it. The hotel grounds are really beautiful and with all the fall foliage, it was even more memorable.
BTW, if you are into haunted places, ghost tours and such you will even like this place more. Since it is assumed to be a haunted place and they run ghost tours every night! And there are two cats roaming around the place which seems to be a tradition for this hotel after late Mr. Morris!
Pros: historic hotel with lots of character, beautiful grounds and nice surroundings
Cons: the elevators are not working. If you don't like cats, you will have problem with their cats! If you don’t like creepy places with ghost hunter freaks running around, you won’t like this place either.
This is not your typical glitzy 5 star spa. This is an old property and you should have reasonable expectations from a 130 year old place before booking your room. If you are into historic places, go for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and so many of the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for commenting on the history of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having a 2013 convertible and NO AGENDA for two plus days, looking for mini vacation ideas online landed us in The “Haunted” Crescent Moon Hotel in Arkansas. The drive from Tulsa Oklahoma to Eureka Springs this time of year is so beautiful and our weather was perfect allowing us to keep top down on car the entire trip. Arriving at hotel we were all very excited, the winding mountain up to facility, then seeing this grand old hotel was awesome. There was no check in service from car, but the clerk and lobby experience was good. Then BOOM, when I opened door and seen our room, my heart sank, it was horrible, two elevated beds, (they seemed to be higher than usual off floor) and were not twin size, but not full either. You could stand on tip toes and see over top of HUGE window ac/heating unit, just seeing tops of trees. We were put on the first floor after being told the elevator was broken and apparently had been for some time which no one mentioned when reserved room This would have been very important to us because we are all three 100% disabled, one of us is even an amputee and mobile via wheelchair or crutches only. No toiletries in or closest sized bathroom and a 27in box TV from the 80s on top large dresser missing knobs needed to open drawers. The "Ghost tour" costing $19.50 per person was so disappointing, from hiking up (4) flights of stairs, standing outside other rooms hearing stories. Tour ended going through unkempt laundry facility in basement to what they called the "Morgue" was the deal breaker, a basement tool/storage area, with old freezer and rusted out utility table. What a rip off. In fact the shuttle service and the breakfast provided the next morning was THE ONLY THING enjoyed about the Crescent Hotel I am still confused that there are so many different city taxes there, the hotel charged 16.75% on room, the tour charged 10.75% and then a t-shirt purchase had standard 8.75%, LIQUOR, 35% tax, so if you dare come here, BRING YOU OWN BOOZE. Got home to find that hotel staff not only could NOT explain my hotel charges without swinging arms and actually raising their voices at patrons, but the place DOUBLE CHARGED me on my credit card. This place could be so much, just has no management what so ever. Very disappointing. Recommend trip to Eureka, but stay in Days inn up on bypass if you’re smart.

Room Tip: Days Inn on bypass
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. Updates are being made throughout the hotel on a daily basis. The elevator is currently being replaced for your safety and convenience in the near future. We look forward to improving your opinion on your next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macks Creek, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel room was very clean, and we thoroughly enjoyed the third floor balcony. The beds were very comfortable with the exception of small pillows. My suggestion is to add a couple more to each bed. There was a huge flatscreen television and plenty of coffee for us to drink. The bathrooms are a little tight, but what do you expect from an hotel that has been there for so long. We took advantage of complimentary services the hotel offers such as the wonderful breakfast buffet and the shuttle driven by "Uncle Rick" that would take us downtown. Our main reason was the take part in the Ghost tour which we absolutely loved. Ramsey was a wonderful ghost tour guide and really gave us a scare in the morgue.The staff was very friendly and I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our experience at the Crescent. Looking forward to revisiting.

Room Tip: Choose a room that goes out on the balcony. What a wonderful space to sit and watch people visiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and so many of the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel had some nice benefits like a shuttle to the main businesss area when ever you feel like hopping on it. They also had a gread breakfast that was free. The employees were very nice. The building was old and the elevator was completely broken. They were waiting for a new one. We had to carry our luggage up 4 flites of stairs and back down when we left. the room was nice and the bed very pretty. The room appeared cean. However, the radiator was not putting out any heat, so in the morning the room was very cold. It was a very windy night and wind was blowing in and making ghostly sounds. No ghost seen, however. drats!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the elevator for it is being completely replaced for your safety and convenience in the near future. We always have a bellmen or two on staff to help assist you with your bags. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and so many of our amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#19 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#2 of 36 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Property: 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Address: 75 Prospect Ave., Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing