We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More great stays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Eureka Springs
North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More great stays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Seems we stay at this hotel quite often. we have had 4 more visits since last review and have been in several different rooms. My favorite is 3500 but all have been nice and comfortable. We even got to stay in the presidential suite with private balcony. Our most recent stay was this past weekend for the Mad Hatters Ball. The trip up was beautiful as the tree color was at peak. another favorite place we always frequent is the Stonehouse wine and cheese bar. We are always welcomed there and the decor is very nice and cozy. One great thing about the hotel is that the rooms are always immaculate. So far we have had no ghost encounters but have heard mysterious noises at night. It is very apparent that this is one of our favorite places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for parlor suite or jaccuzi balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    596
    212
    160
    113
See reviews for
576
1,129
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Friendly staff, garden landscape, great views, and a museum-like architecture. This hotel had a very helping concierge in the main lobby. The door was opened for us as we left. The staff working the Dr. Baker's Bistro were very friendly and appropriately checked on you. This Bistro has a great view of Eureka Springs and the mountains. The hotel gave you a feeling of being welcomed and appreciated. You feel like you are on top of the world and being located at the top of a mountain in Eureka Springs makes this literal. There were tour guides in 1800's attire when we stayed which added to the charm. The premium King room was comfortable with 3 windows and a great view. The pigeons outside landing on our window sill seemed to not mind us being there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Sounds like you had a wonderful time, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I have been here a few times, but this was my first overnight stay.

My room was clean, but lacked in the amenities. Not even a pad and pen! It has one stuffed chair, Victorian design. Our bed was king sized and very comfortable. Feather pillows were a nice addition. A 60" hd tv on the wall was a very big surprise. The facilities were from the 80's and do not match the old world (and cheap) charm. However, they were functional.

Service was friendly, but amateurish. Breakfast buffet was expensive and service was very slow. I couldn't believe I had to order orange juice. It's a buffet! Everyone drinks orange juice! Food was only average.

Front desk staff were friendly and casual. You'll know right away this is not the four seasons.

The public areas of the hotel was dirty and run down. Threadbare carpet with stains everywhere. Sagging ceilings. Sloping main staircase. Doors that do not fit properly. I get the distinct impression the owners are milking the property, as they seem to be full nearly all the time

Parking is ample and easy. I did not know about the shuttle to downtown until a shopkeeper told me about it. But, like the hotel, the car was dirty and very worn. The driver was friendly.

It does have its charm, but at the prices they charge I was expecting a much higher level of quality. The girl is due for a renovation, so next time, I'll look for a different place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_traveller071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel has gone through major renovations and we continuously update our rooms and facilities every year. This is a working project and we can only do this by people choosing to stay with us and preserve our historic landmark. This year alone we were able to re-paint various rooms, add new carpet and flat screens. We hope you might decide to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed here about 8 years ago, but had to leave this review because of all the hotels and bed and breakfasts that I've stayed in, this has to be in my top 2. If you love history, beautiful architecture, beautiful landscaping, and even going gift-shopping in the very nearby town, YOU WiLL LOVE this destination. My mom and I vacationed here, we stayed overnight, our accommodations were very nice for what we'd payed and we LOVED the tour of the hotel that we took, I believe in the evening. Loved, loved, loved it ~ want to go again!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with more 'sightings' and I was a little spooked when, just after we tur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is the second time in the past four months that I've stayed at the Crescent and it just gets better every time! The rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious. We had a lovely balcony and had our own little 'happy hour' overlooking the beautiful Ozark hills. The staff is exceptional in it's friendly attitude and ability - and willingness - to provide help in every area. The ghost tour is a wonderful way to learn about the history of this grand old hotel while touring it from top to bottom (ah! the morgue!). The food in the Crystal Dining Room is prepared to perfection and the waitstaff is attentive and friendly. I am already planning my next visit!

Room Tip: I've been on both the 2nd (right next to "Michael's" room) and 3rd floors (a corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seash3ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope you return and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

and loaded with atmosphere. The Crescent only has one elevator and it was out for several hours during our stay. The Ghost tour began on the 4th floor and the trek up the stairs was problematical for this senior. Luckily our room was on the second floor. Because of a private party in the Crystal Dining Room they truncated the menu in the Sky Bar/Bistro probably feeling that more guests would be eating there. So instead of expanding menu choices they limited them. Who knows why? The Crescent is a beautiful piece of history however, and that alone made the trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macdevelopment, Manager at 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience with the elevator being out of order. We are installing a new elevator at the beginning of the new year. Our Baker's Bistro is a different menu from the Crystal Dining Room Restaurant menu and does change after 9pm to our Sky Bar menu, maybe this is what you found when the Crystal Dining Room was closed due to a private event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was our first visit and we upgraded to a Parlor Suite. The room was gorgeous with a semi private balcony (spectacular view) and a whirlpool tub. Everything (the room, the staff, grounds) took us back in time and exceeded our expectations. Even our friendly "supernatural visitor." Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We loved room 202 and will ask for it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#19 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#2 of 36 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa

Property: 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
Address: 75 Prospect Ave., Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eureka Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
#9 Family Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today for Eureka Springs lodging, the full-service Crescent Hotel features 81 rooms including luxury suites and cottages, hot tub and swimming pool, the New Moon Spa & Salon, the 1886 Steakhouse, Sky Bar Gourmet Pizza with al fresco dining, concierge and bellman service, a resort activities coordinator, all surrounded by 15 acres of manicured show gardens and pristine woods with hiking and walking trails. The hotel also offers Daily Activity Programming including a Kids Kamp, Spa Fitness, History Tour, and Back Porch Social. The Crescent Hotel is also home to over 400 wedding events per year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your 1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1886 Crescent Hotel And Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Eureka Springs Arkansas
1886 Crescent Eureka Springs
Crescent Hotel Spa Eureka Springs
Crescent Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing