We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington TX
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge”
Reviewed March 16, 2006

I rescue domestic cats full time so I am aware of the abysmal nature and hardships of shelters. This one is a little different. While the facility must be extremely easy to maintain and keep clean, it must also display the animals in an open climate and safe manner. This place subsists mostly of donations and entry fees. You can adopt a large cat for $100 a year or sponsor one completely for $2000 a year. We chose to adopt one. They have about 100 large wildcats. Tigers, lions, bobcats, cheetahs, cougars, etc. They even have accepted a couple of black bears, a badger, a monkey and lots of farm animals. The most hilarious yet saddening case is a mixed breed tiger. He is very beautiful but has a...........distinctive face. His mom and dad are also his sister and brother and, with that sort of inbreeding, you can imagine the result! You truly fall in love with him when you see him. His name is Kenny and they actually sell T-shirts with his face on them because people want to keep on seeing him! You really should go and, in the process, help these guys to finish building their wildlife reserves to get out of their cages.

Helpful?
5 Thank futurelawyer2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    30
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
95
116
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We stayed 1 night in the Blue Room of the Call of the Wild B & B at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge. Right outside our room window was a beautiful white tiger, who serenaded us throughout the night with her "purring". We could also see some of the lions and cougars through our windows. The front deck was equipped with a love seat swing to sit and watch the big cats all around you. The room was clean and comfortable. In the refrigerator, was our "breakfast", a muffin, cup of mandarines, & bottle of apple juice for each of us. There was a coffee pot also in the room. The bathroom had an oversized tub and separate shower. The guided tour was very informative and a nice easy walk around the compound. We enjoyed listening to the lions caroling throughout the night. Reading each animal's story was very interesting. What a great place!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank lovnlivnnalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2006

The place has quite a few animals, from tigers to cougars.. to lions, bears, to even deer. It's a wonderful place and the tour was quite informative. The guides are generally interns who are studying for zoology, bilogy, veterinary medicine, etc.. very informative. We loved how this place tells the story of each animal and how it came to get rescued. It's a shame people believe a tiger or cougar can be a housepet.. but that's another story altogether. The place was very clean and you can walk quite close to the enclosures. The animals are treated quite well (as well as they can, considering they are in the US). One thing that did bother us were some kids, like 4-8 years old.. whose parents allowed them to scream and bang on the cages.. when the male lion roared and swatted at the children (caged).. the parents and kids laughed like it was a big joke.. we asked them to show the animals more respect and the workers at the place actually warned the family they would be asked to leave the park if that continued.. anyway, it's a nice place to visit, but it's also quite sad to read the rescue stories of people who bred these animals as pets, or mistreated them. The deer in the place were VERY friendly, as they'd been rescued from an accident. Highly, highly recommended if you love animals, but please don't bang on the cages and tease the animals.. sorry to lecture, but we could not believe actual parents would allow their kids to bang the cages, scream at the animals, and then laugh about it after the fact.. future problems from such kids will undoubtedly surface with age.. $15 per person. It did not really appear to be that nice a place to stay. Your fee allows all-day entrance. 4PM seemed to be when the animals were fed. Take the actual "tour" which goes beyond the gated area as well. On the hillsides, there are more enclosures with loads of space compared to areas right beyond the entrance.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank blah114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis, mo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2005

We visited the wildlife refuge on our last day in Eureka Springs. It is definitely a location to add to your itinerary. The staff were very friendly and talkative with us. The animal enclosures were clean and provided a short background on each animal. We got there late and were unable to take the guided tour, will make sure we take it on our next visit. Five o'clock in the evening is feeding time for all the animals. Wow! That was a really educational and time consuming experience, we could have stayed all day.
This is one of the few locations in the country that takes in lions, tigers, bears etc. that were once owned by people who failed to educate themselves on the care and danger involved with owning these types of animals.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane&louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 6, 2005

We visited Turpentine Creek and there is no way to explain the connection you get with the animals. To see big cats up close and personal. To know that these animals are being returned to natural habitats where they belong is rewarding. I think kids big and small can beneift from visiting Turnpentine Creek.

Stayed August 2003
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 16, 2004

Back in the late 90's I was in Eureka Springs for a wedding and afterward headed to Turpentine Springs to look around. When we were in the front office to pay admission, the staff had a big box of baby Lions and Tigers that they would let you hold and snuggle. I have to say that the experince was the best thing in the world. No zoo in the world could have given me as much joy as that time spent with those adorable little cubs. Thank You for that and for the excellent, loving care you give these rescued animals. God Bless you! Dena Pratt

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2004

My 12-year-old and I visited for an hour or so, and she now wants to work there when she is old enough. It was nice to see these beautiful animals up close and be reassured they have someplace to go. It was a good lesson in what happens when people try to keep cougars and tigers as pets, and it was also a good lesson in what can happen with too much inbreeding and too little nourishment when some of these cats were kittens and getting poor care. Every cat had a story to tell, and of course personal stories and personal experience are always the best teachers.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
6.8 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
6.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
5.9 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#20 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging

Property: Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging
Address: 239 Turpentine Creek Lane, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-9185
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is a walk through facility is open at 9:00 AM every day of the year (except Christmas Day). We now have twenty-seven natural habitat areas, where our 6 black bears and many of our cats can run and play on the grass and under the trees; this is our ultimate goal for all of our Big Cats. All of our cats are beautiful, special and loved very much. Each one has his/her own story to tell and you are sure to find a favorite or two among them. Our prices: Adults - $15.00. Children 4-12, seniors 65 and over, and veterans - $10.00. Children 3 and under admitted free of charge. Our group rates are: Bus Drivers and Guides are always free. Groups of 6-10 / $1.00 off each admission; groups of 11-20 / $2.00 off each admission; groups 21-30 / $3.00 off each admission; groups over 30 / $4.00 off each admission. Your admission is good for all day, and includes a walking tour of our newly opened natural habitat areas as well as a self-guided tour of the cats in our main compound. The time you spend in the main compound can vary from 10 minutes to over an hour, depending upon how much time you spend in front of one cage or another. The walking tour of the habitat areas is about a 30 minute guided tour and they are scheduled every hour on the hour from 11:00 a.m. - 3 p.m. The self-guided portion is all walking, but there are benches throughout to rest. We do have a wheel chair to borrow if needed. The guided tour is also walking, unless special assistance is needed and we can accommodate people with a riding tour on our cart (which carries five maximum). For large groups we will be happy to put one of our staff on your bus to give you a guided tour of the large habitat areas upon special request. Most of our staff are Biologists or Zoologists that come from all over the world to learn how to work with the Big Cats. Our tree house bungalow rents for $150/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 5 or older. It sleeps two on a "clicker sofa" downstairs, and it has two twin beds tucked under the eaves in the loft. Generally, it is comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children. Although small, it also has full kitchen facilities, a wrap-around deck and is quiet and secluded. The cats are located only a few yards away in some of the larger enclosures. Children under 5 years old are not allowed in Tree House due to TCWR's safety policy. Our two Bed & Big Cat suites can accommodate up to four people, with a queen size bed and fold-down clicker couch. Price is$150.00/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 3 or older. Babies are welcome at no additional charge. Both rooms have cats right outside the window, and are open year-round. The Safari Guest Lodge (adults only) is now taking reservations to complete your adventure at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge. Each Room is designed for 2 adults and rents for $150.00 per night. Overlooking the sprawling Eureka Springs Valley, with beautiful sunrises and magnificent sunsets and the caroling of the Big Cats. There are five unique cabins. Rent one or all five units if available. They are perfect to accommodate small groups if you choose to spend time with friends, family, small business retreats, workshops and wedding parties. Each room has an exceptional personality, along with snugly spa robes, luxurious bedding and linens, coffees and coffee pots, continental breakfast, color TV / DVD player, refrigerators and microwaves and clock radios. For rainy days or after hours, the rooms also have their own collection of favorite games and books. Cast iron fireplaces and air conditioning keeps you comfortable during the changing seasons too. Each room is also furnished with African Drums for those who care to start a drumming! Along with the spacious hot tub, the units share a 40' Octagonal Deck, complete with a charming covered Gazebo and Fire Pit. Tables and chairs surround the area for comfortable relaxing or light dining. These units are intended for adults only due to TCWR's safety policy. The price of your overnight visit includes unlimited access to our main compound during daylight hours for the length of your stay. We also have a small RV Park that can accommodate up to 7 recreational vehicles. Rates are $25.00/night plus regular admission to the Refuge on a daily basis. Or, a Family Membership may be purchased for $50.00, allowing unlimited visits to the Refuge throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge Bb Hotel Eureka Springs
Turpentine Creek Bb Arkansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing