We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved our stay here, great experience with the beautiful surroundings, animals roaring into the night, unique rooms with gorgeous artwork and decor, plus we got to go into the park whenever we wanted (during operating hours of course) so we saw the evening feeding and also visited in the morning when most of the animals were awake and talkative. We are definitely planning to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Okavango and would choose that one again. The view from the room to our left (west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 335 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed in the Bengal (or the other side) Suit with my granddaughter and her five-year-old son, and we all loved it. The rooms were very nice, pictures of the animals lovely, and it was an unforgettable experience to sleep with a tiger in our front yard and to hear the lions, tigers and other sounds of the refuge all night. The couch was a little hard for a second bed, but it was ok. There were more extras than I expected, such as the microwave, tv, and refrigerator. To sum it up, we had a marvelous stay and expect to spend the night at Turpentine Creek again. I also was so impressed with the entire refuge, its rescue of so many animals, and the people who care for them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We loved our stay at Turpentine Creek. The Safari rooms are so unique, clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed and more. Very comfortable bed, snacks in the frig, cool decor and wild deer in our back yard. We had a very enjoyable stay, plus all the tigers and other animals we could visit. Turpentine Creek does an excellent job.

Room Tip: The Safari rooms have the hot tub available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I changed our vacation plans so we could spend 2 nights in the Bengal Suite. It was worth every penny. The suite was great for 2 people and included a shower and a tub. We left the windows open at night so we could hear the lions -- I have never experienced anything like it. The animals are well cared for and the staff is helpful and willing to share their love of what they are doing. This isn't a luxury hotel but the suite was quite comfortable. The reason to stay here is the opportunity to be close to the animals and to watch them, listening at night to the sounds from all around. We were right next to a coyote and a tiger. We plan to go back so we can see Bam Bam's new home -- he's a bear. If you love animals, stay here!

Room Tip: We loved the Bengal Suite. We were next to a coyote and a tiger. It was fun to watch the staff arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraryLady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I chose Turpentine Creek as lodging for our honeymoon because we are both animal lovers and wanted a unique experience. We certainly got one with the beautiful creatures and friendly, intelligent staff! The experiences, such as waking up to the sound of tigers roaring right outside our window, or having a picnic breakfast in front of two gorgeous lions, trump any luxury we would have found at a fancy hotel or resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibble81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in the treehouse for 2 nights as the last thrill before school started back up. We loved being so close to the animals and easy access to them. By the end of our 48 hours there we each had our favorites and had to go say goodbye to them. (Bam-Bam their bear is a natural showman (he gets in his water tub and swings a wet towel around getting everyone a little wet) but I liked Thunder the bear who is less showy but equally cute.)

I was told by a board member that the cabin is due to have some updates this fall and that would be nice. Overall we found it in good shape. The bathroom is extremely small so just be aware of that if you are picky about such things. It does have a toilet, sink, small medicine chest and small shower.
The cabin is an A frame with lots of windows so we loved that (flip side is you can't sleep in since the sun comes in.) I do suggest they add a rail to the loft upstairs where they have 2 twin size mattresses. Our youngest slept with me downstairs on the futon bed. I think moms would appreciate that extra safety precaution. The a/c works very well so we were happy with that.
If you are looking for the Ritz this is not it but it is very nice for safari/animal park lodging (compared to what we have seen) and therefore we highly recommend it. We also liked the wraparound porch with nice chairs and there are some folding chairs inside that you can use inside or outside if you need extra seating. There is a small TV with some cable stations if you really need one. Toaster, microwave, coffee pot, some dishes and full size refrigerator are in the cabin too.
It is a few miles south of Eureka Springs but we enjoyed the drive up into town. (Be aware Eureka Springs prides itself on unique shops and restaurants so the only fast food we saw was McDonalds, Pizza Hut and Subway and there is no Wal-Mart or other big box stores. There is a Dollar General if you need anything.)
Don't miss the 45 minute walking tour around the big 1/2 mile loop (and after you do it once with a guide you might want to walk it again) and the 5 pm feeding. Caroling of the animals starts about 20-30 minutes later.

If you or your kids like animals this is a very interesting and wonderful place. I know my kids will be taking about this stay for many years to come.
We wish them the best of luck in their ongoing endeavors to save these beautiful animals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love-to-wander-Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went to Turpentine Creek with the expectations of a wonderful experience; and, indeed, the visit itself was wonderful. However, the campgrounds themselves were a little shabby - no assigned spots, just a large field to camp in. There were also very few trees, and the bathrooms are approximately a half mile from the campgrounds. As well, RV camping is directly across a small gravel drive from the 'campground' However, the campground is well tended, clean, and has enough picnic tables to be used for cooking on. As well, the price can't be beaten - it's a relatively decent campground for the price. All in all, I may camp there again, but only due to the reasonable price and proximity to the refuge, not as a stand-alone campground.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank regoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
6.8 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,845 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
835 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,435 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Trails Inn
The Trails Inn
#1 of 35 in Eureka Springs
584 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sherwood Court Inn
Sherwood Court Inn
#6 of 65 in Eureka Springs
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging

Address: 239 Turpentine Creek Lane, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-9185
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is a walk through facility is open at 9:00 AM every day of the year (except Christmas Day). We now have twenty-seven natural habitat areas, where our 6 black bears and many of our cats can run and play on the grass and under the trees; this is our ultimate goal for all of our Big Cats. All of our cats are beautiful, special and loved very much. Each one has his/her own story to tell and you are sure to find a favorite or two among them. Our prices: Adults - $15.00. Children 4-12, seniors 65 and over, and veterans - $10.00. Children 3 and under admitted free of charge. Our group rates are: Bus Drivers and Guides are always free. Groups of 6-10 / $1.00 off each admission; groups of 11-20 / $2.00 off each admission; groups 21-30 / $3.00 off each admission; groups over 30 / $4.00 off each admission. Your admission is good for all day, and includes a walking tour of our newly opened natural habitat areas as well as a self-guided tour of the cats in our main compound. The time you spend in the main compound can vary from 10 minutes to over an hour, depending upon how much time you spend in front of one cage or another. The walking tour of the habitat areas is about a 30 minute guided tour and they are scheduled every hour on the hour from 11:00 a.m. - 3 p.m. The self-guided portion is all walking, but there are benches throughout to rest. We do have a wheel chair to borrow if needed. The guided tour is also walking, unless special assistance is needed and we can accommodate people with a riding tour on our cart (which carries five maximum). For large groups we will be happy to put one of our staff on your bus to give you a guided tour of the large habitat areas upon special request. Most of our staff are Biologists or Zoologists that come from all over the world to learn how to work with the Big Cats. Our tree house bungalow rents for $150/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 5 or older. It sleeps two on a "clicker sofa" downstairs, and it has two twin beds tucked under the eaves in the loft. Generally, it is comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children. Although small, it also has full kitchen facilities, a wrap-around deck and is quiet and secluded. The cats are located only a few yards away in some of the larger enclosures. Children under 5 years old are not allowed in Tree House due to TCWR's safety policy. Our two Bed & Big Cat suites can accommodate up to four people, with a queen size bed and fold-down clicker couch. Price is$150.00/night for two, $15.00 extra for each additional person 3 or older. Babies are welcome at no additional charge. Both rooms have cats right outside the window, and are open year-round. The Safari Guest Lodge (adults only) is now taking reservations to complete your adventure at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge. Each Room is designed for 2 adults and rents for $150.00 per night. Overlooking the sprawling Eureka Springs Valley, with beautiful sunrises and magnificent sunsets and the caroling of the Big Cats. There are five unique cabins. Rent one or all five units if available. They are perfect to accommodate small groups if you choose to spend time with friends, family, small business retreats, workshops and wedding parties. Each room has an exceptional personality, along with snugly spa robes, luxurious bedding and linens, coffees and coffee pots, continental breakfast, color TV / DVD player, refrigerators and microwaves and clock radios. For rainy days or after hours, the rooms also have their own collection of favorite games and books. Cast iron fireplaces and air conditioning keeps you comfortable during the changing seasons too. Each room is also furnished with African Drums for those who care to start a drumming! Along with the spacious hot tub, the units share a 40' Octagonal Deck, complete with a charming covered Gazebo and Fire Pit. Tables and chairs surround the area for comfortable relaxing or light dining. These units are intended for adults only due to TCWR's safety policy. The price of your overnight visit includes unlimited access to our main compound during daylight hours for the length of your stay. We also have a small RV Park that can accommodate up to 7 recreational vehicles. Rates are $25.00/night plus regular admission to the Refuge on a daily basis. Or, a Family Membership may be purchased for $50.00, allowing unlimited visits to the Refuge throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon so you can book your Turpentine Creek Overnight Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge Bb Hotel Eureka Springs
Turpentine Creek Bb Arkansas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing