We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, everything and more than we hoped for”
Review of Peabody House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peabody House
Ranked #21 of 68 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Peabody. The room was perfect, the extras nice, and the price more than fair. The room was large, with a great view of the valley. We had a wonderful basket of muffins and goodies each day. It was quiet and comfortable, easy walking to downtown.

Faryl took great care of us, and next time we plan to get away, we'll be heading back to the Peabody again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarsKSeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2009

Staying at the Peabody Inn was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives! Faryl was such a great Innkeeper. We felt so welcome! We stayed at the Rivendell Cottage and the pictures do NOT do it justice! It was very cute and so homey! The porch has a great view and the jetted tub was relaxing. It was within walking distance of downtown Eureka, although there were tons of stairs! BUT, why go to Eureka if you're not going to walk around?! Faryl gave us a binder filled with places to eat and where to go. There were menus and maps for many places in and around Eureka. We are definitely going back the next chance we get!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank septimabeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My wife and I visited Eureka Springs and stayed 3 nights at the Peabody's Rivendell Cottage. The Rivendell is awesome - - comfortable, private, and peaceful. The Peabody House is very close to the historic district in Eureka, with only a short walk from the Peabody getting you to the action. Faryl Kaye is a great hostess, very friendly and knowledgeable about area attractions and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzarkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My wife and I spent two nights at the Peabody House and had the most wonderful weekend ever. Attention to detail, customer service, privacy, clean, perfect! The Peabody House had it all. This is where we will stay on our romantic weekends in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Peabody House is PERFECT. The devil... no... DELIGHTS are in the details and the Peabody House is delightful. We loved the fact that breakfast was 2 huge muffins one morning then a breakfast cake in a deep dish the next, both waiting for us in our room with juice, gormet coffee, and soda (Diet Coke). We slept till 10:00 which in a bed and breakfast is a HUGE treat. We've always hated the "breakfast at 8:00" thing. Anyway, Feryl has created a gem in Eureka Springs with the Peabody House, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This was the second stay for my sister and me at the Peabody House in Eureka Spings and we loved it. The innkeeper, Faryl Kaye, is a tremendous hostess. She's very friendly and full of helpful hints about restaurants and things to do. Our room was just lovely and had everything we could want. Faryl drops off home-baked goods each morning and the refrigerator is stocked with soft drinks and juice. There's a nice sitting area facing the front window, which looks out on the historic shops and has a great view of the Crescent Hotel. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom is very luxurious. The location just can't be beat. A few steps down the hill and you're right in the historic district. We'll definitely be staying there again and recommending it to anyone I know who's visiting Eureka Springs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KelB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I love trip advisor, it allows the viewer to siphon through reviews of places that are of interest, and the idea is to arrive at a decision that suits the reader's personal taste.

With that being said, for this trip, our thought process was to have accommodations that felt remote yet was in the heart of Eureka Springs. From all that I had read, the Peabody House was the choice. Well nestled on the mountainside above Main Street, which runs right through downtown Eureka Springs is the Victorian Peabody House.

Standing at the car, I said "Dave, this could not have worked out any better". I had only seen how pretty the Peabody appeared from the outside and its walking distance to downtown, but yet, hidden by the trees, so private. This was going to be a GREAT business trip. If only I could have wrapped my mind around the greatness at that moment.

Do you ever want or desire to stay some place that's nicer than you live when you travel? I do. When reading the reviews, I had paid attention to the types of amenities the different B&B’s provided. However, there is nothing that this innkeeper, her name is Faryl, has not intentionally created, decorated, or surprisingly thought of to make sure her guests feel welcome and special while they are at the Peabody House. It's who she is.

There are the standard luxuries like a large Jacuzzi tub, extra special little touches would be round scented soaps packaged just for the Peabody, nice thick body towels, towel warmer, q-tips and cotton balls in the bath. There’s a sitting room with a pair of wing back chairs that overlook Main St. (The Cheshire) The sitting room is opposite a wet bar which includes a mini-frig, microwave, glassware, utensils, a sophisticated coffee maker and hand-blown coffee mugs stamped with Peabody House all for your use. Right outside the sitting room is a porch with a pair of rocking chairs. Great for morning coffee, which by –the-way, there are several blends to choose from. (If you’re interested in reading, the innkeeper has a nice selection of books.) .

Large portions of food are served at the restaurants in the area, so it’s really nice to have cold storage along with all necessary items to heat and eat any leftovers later on. You will surely enjoy sitting in the wing-backed chairs gazing through the great-size window watching the horse drawn carriage, trolley cars, motorcycles, people walking down Main street or be amused by the squirrels jumping from tree to tree while discussing how you’d fix the world with your husband or companion.

In all this writing, I have not even described the master bedroom and all the extras it offers, and I would never spill the beans on all other little delightful personal touches Faryl includes that will make your stay even more incredibly memorable.

FYI, Faryl provides each suite with a three-ring binder that has very useful information about the Peabody House and Eureka Springs. Make sure you read it. It’s not long; it’s just very informative and will add more value to your stay. That’s another one of those little delightful things Faryl does for her guests that makes greatness. You will enjoy wrapping your mind around the Peabody House.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,898 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Benton Place Inn
The Benton Place Inn
#17 of 68 in Eureka Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Rose Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Heartstone Inn and Cottages
Heartstone Inn and Cottages
#2 of 68 in Eureka Springs
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock Cottage Gardens B&B Inn
Rock Cottage Gardens B&B Inn
#5 of 68 in Eureka Springs
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peabody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peabody House

Address: 7 Armstrong St, 3 Armstrong, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $129 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peabody House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite Downtown Eureka Springs Historic Inn. All spacious bedchambers and cottage include private bath with spa tub for 2, private entrances, mini bar, antiques, views, off street parking and other surprise extras. Rest easy on the veranda of our Victorian mansion. The Peabody will spoil you with privacy, luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Peabody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing