We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and convenient”
Review of Peabody House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peabody House
Ranked #21 of 69 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jackson, La
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and convenient”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Eureka Springs. We enjoyed four wonderful days at the Peabody. Faryl is a great hostess and innkeeper, full of suggestions for dining and things to do. Our suite was quite roomy - we particularly enjoyed the sitting area with the views of the town. The inn is so convenient to dining and shopping - we only drove on one day. Thank you, Faryl, for such a pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyRetiree023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
116
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been staying at the Peabody House since we began visiting Eureka Springs. There are a variety of rooms available, including the Rivendell, a small cottage behind the main house, which we prefer, because it is cozy and secluded. The owner is personable, and attentive, and available when you need something. Every day we are there we are treated to fresh-baked goodies, and we have a refrigerator stocked with sodas and fresh orange juice when we arrive. The rooms throughout are spacious, and the Rivendell, though small, has all the amenities of home, including a spa tub for 2. We have never been disappointed, and love the treatment we get when we visit. We highly recommend any property owned or managed by the owners of the Peabody House!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Charming! Very cozy, beautiful setting. Quiet and peaceful, yet close walking distance to downtown. Simple style with nice touches of luxury (most comfortable bed with devine sheets and large new jacuzzi tub!) Small, but very surprisingly open and not claustrophobic! Love the balcony! Best use of space - every little nook used well! As an interior designer/ art teacher, loved the space, colors and decor. Very comfortable and wonderfully homey little two story cottage! Really enjoyed our one night stay! Faryl, the innkeeper, is the best at her job and is such fun!

Room Tip: The stairs in the Rivendell might be a bit tricky for some, but we are used to stairs and didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtTripHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This whole trip exceeded all of our expectations, We've stayed in quite a few B&Bs across several states, and none can top Faryl's Peabody House. The room (Dashwood) was very warm, and inviting. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in; the sheets were so soft that we contemplated stealing them! ;-) The room was also quite large, as was the bathroom. The tub was HUGE. The decor was all very interesting.

We've stayed at places where the offical website's photos proved to be a little misleading, but that was not the case with the Peabody. The Dashwood was as good as advertised, and maybe even better. It was bigger than I expected, and what pictures cannot do justice is the hospitality. Faryl was so wonderfully accomodating. She seemed to truly care about us having a great experience, but it wasn't merely about her and her inn. She cared as much about our dining, shopping, entertainment, etc. experiences as anything. She has found her calling; she is a natural host.

The location was perfect. We were within walking distance of all of the downtown festivities. At the same time, we were secluded, and it felt very private. It was the best of both worlds!

The breakfast was light, and served in our room, which was something that we weren't sure we would like. We have stayed in some places like that in the past, but recently we have chosen B&Bs with large, full breakfasts, so we were a bit apprehensive, but it worked out perfectly. It allowed us to actually sleep late and not feel rushed or obligated to eat.

We stayed two nights, and we wish we had more time to spend. We will return to Eureka Springs, and we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have been searching for a quality B&B for over 25 years in Eureka Springs, trying over 15 different ones and discovered Inn at Rose Hall which is owned by the same family. It was over the top for food and rooms. This is how we found out about the Peabody House.

We have now been twice and will be returning in 2012 again. This inn is also over the top for not only the room rate, but everything you could want in a B&B. Quiet, clean, luxurious, walking distance from downtown (like one block above), nice sitting areas, great common living room, etc.

The only down side is no full breakfast, but replaced with a nice continental breakfast of breads, muffins, and juices, which was perfect for us since we are not big breakfast eaters.

We can't say enough great things about the Peabody House and are recommending this to everyone we know. Too bad it took us 25 years to find it.

Room Tip: Any room is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent our honeymoon in the Dashwood Bedchamber of the Peabody House. I read many of the great reviews on TripAdvisor before we went, but honestly the inn exceeded my expectations. The room itself was large, with plenty of space, and very well decorated with interesting antiques. The king bed was comfortable and the giant twin jacuzzi was awesome! A tv with a large movie collection in the 'lobby' (VHS and DVD) with many popular and newish movies was great for relaxing. You couldn't ask for a better location just a couple minutes from the center of town (walking) and all the great restaurants and shopping. Faryl was incredible, easy to talk to, and full of information about all the best (and worst) places to eat and visit. She was very receptive to what our hopes for the week were, and she gave us recommendations accordingly. We had the best experience possible. I couldn't recommend it more!

Room Tip: Dashwood suite is beautiful and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Well, we had a real problem with Faryl and the Peabody House (Rivendell Cottage) ... it was so cozy, quaint, comfortable and relaxing that we DIDN'T WANT TO DO ANYTHING! Oh my gosh. This is the greatest place ever.

First of all, Faryl is sweet as can be and has great dining recommendations. We LOVED every place we ate (The Local Flavor, Ermilio's). I felt like I was at home in the upstairs bedroom of the cottage. Wonderful!

Although there is not a typical B&B breakfast provided, we had a yummy lemon and cranberry bread for the first morning and HUGE blueberry muffins for the second morning. There was a Kureig in the room with great coffee! There was no doubt that WHATEVER we might have wanted, Faryl would have provided it to us.

Spring Street and Main Street are one block away. It's down a steep set of steps, but so close that once you park your car when you get there you don't have to move it again until you leave. The restaurants and shops are just right there. In fact, for lunch I threw on some clothes and ran down to get a sandwich to bring back to the room.

My husband had never been to Eureka Springs before, and we were both in love (with each other and Peabody House). The only complaint was that we didn't have another day to stay. Next time, and there will be a next time, we will plan to stay longer.

Take your spouse and GOOOO!!!!

Room Tip: We LOVED the Rivendell Cottage and I highly recommend it. We didn't look at any of the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole2845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#17 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#20 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliff Cottage Inn - Luxury B&B Suites & Historic Cottages
0.4 mi away
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 69 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peabody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peabody House

Property: Peabody House
Address: 7 Armstrong St, 3 Armstrong, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite Downtown Eureka Springs Historic Inn. All spacious bedchambers and cottage include private bath with spa tub for 2, private entrances, mini bar, antiques, views, off street parking and other surprise extras. Rest easy on the veranda of our Victorian mansion. The Peabody will spoil you with privacy, luxury and convenience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing