We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Get Away”
Review of Lookout Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lookout Cottages
Ranked #43 of 69 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Grotto Spring Cottage. The cottage was very clean and large, beautiful inside and out, the hot tub was great. This is located just outside of town. You could walk to town but it's a long walk. There is a trolley you can take. We drove in town and parking was not a problem. The cottage was very private on the back deck were the hot tub is. We saw lots of squirrels and a few deer in the woods right behind the cottage while we sat on the deck. We really liked staying here and will do it again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Lookout Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Virtually in the shadow of the famed Crescent Hotel, just past its parking lot, is a real treat for tired wallets and couples seeking solitude and pampering. Lookout Cottages not only is one of the best bargains to be found in Eureka Springs, the isolation of each unit guarantee the privacy so vital to truly unwinding.

We have stayed in the spacious Carriage House on the property on a previous visit, but this time we opted for the more compact Lookout Cottage, a charmingly decorated two-story place for romance to get a restoration. Upstairs, the king-sized bed is softly inviting, What I believe is a 42" HDTV in the openly connected livingroom is hooked up to Direct TV and a DVD player and is comfortably visible from the comfort of bed or a close-by sofa. When we arrived, romantic music already was playing on a CD player with a remote control.

Down a narrow stairway are bathing areas and a small kitchen. The first thing you see is one of the largest whirlpool baths around. About 20' away is a generously sized shower with opposing showerheads. A vanity area is literally highlighted with Hollywood-style bulb lighting around the mirror. Nearby is a compact kitchen with a microwave oven and a small refrigerator-freezer.

Just outside the lower floor is a porch deck with a chaise lounger and a table, chairs and a BBQ cooker. The view is undisturbed by any trace of civilization. Sweet breakfast treats and orange juice awaited us in the fridge.

A short walk away is the Crescent Hotel with its lauded New Moon Spa and a choice of dining pleasures. Rates can vary, but chances are excellent you'll pay a lot more at the hotel for a lot less space, far fewer amenities and far less privacy.

The only negative was the need to carefully parallel park in a tight space just off the very narrow drive that circles the property. Hey, when the biggest complaint is needing to take care parking, well, that says a lot about the quality awaiting the guests at Lookout Cottages!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kukid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Suite Alice was perfect for the two of us. We appreciated how John & Julie were creative with the mini fridge and microwave along with a variety of utensils for our use. The property and cottages were peaceful and relaxing. Great location off the beaten path. Marilyn (the family dog) welcomed us at the gate, and instantly made us feel at home. Everything was in order, very clean, comfortable, and private. We enjoyed breakfast on the deck, and our walks and fetch with Marilyn. John was welcoming and attentive to our needs. During our jaunts to town we were often asked where we were staying. We always happily replied and highly recommended for future returns. Thank you for a pleasant vacation, and we will defiantly be staying again!

Room Tip: Suite Alice is good for 1 couple and maybe a small child. Mini fridge and small microwave available...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We did not realize we were to be the first to use The Grotto. We thoroughly loved it. Loved sitting on the balcony sipping coffee or drinking tea. The spa tub was wonderful. That was exactly what we needed the evening we got there. We drove for 12 hours and it was so relaxing. The property is beautiful. John and Julie made our 45th anniversary very special for us. We were scheduled to stay 7 nights...but with Hurricane Isaac headed into Louisiana (our home is in Alexandria LA) we needed to be home for family that might have needed a place of escape. They were very understanding us leaving a day ahead of time. I wouldn't exchange our stay with them for anything. We had a wonderful relaxing time of enjoyment. We highly recommend this place.
Milton and Janelle Boney

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nell0749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have been staying at Lookout Cottages since our Honeymoon 19 years ago. This property continues to be our favorite place in Eureka Springs. Our most recent trip, we stayed in the Lookout Cottage, which is a small two-story cottage. We have stayed in this cottage before and we enjoy it very much. The Lookout Cottage isn't real big, but is has everything you could ask for. The top floor, which you enter from the road, has a bedroom and living area. Downstairs is a two person jacuzzi, a kitchen area, and bath with a double shower. From the bottom floor, you can walk out onto a nice sized deck that is surrounded by many large trees.

What we like best about the Lookout Cottages, and particularly the Lookout Cottage itself is that this location is very quiet, but not too far off the beaten path. Many of the other cottages and B&B's that are in Eureka Springs are right next to a fairly busy road. You will not be bothered by traffic noise when staying at the Lookout Cottages. We have noticed an increase in motorcycle traffic through Eureka Springs in recent years, so it's nice to not hear all of that noise when staying here.

My wife and I love this place and can't wait to return. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Suite Alice in the Lookout Cottages at the beginning of June. We were in town for a wedding that was taking place at the Crescent Hotel nearby. We chose the Lookout Cottages because they would make it easy to access the larger events but give us greater privacy than we might have staying among a gaggle of wedding guests.

We had two nights at the Alice. Upon arriving, I was somewhat upset that there is no 'view' per se, although the forest around the Cottages grounds is very nice and pleasing. There were several different sorts of plants in bloom, one of which did an exceptional job attracting butterflies and thereby added a nice touch to the trip.

Upon arriving, there was a note with our names on it that welcomed us to the property. The suite itself consisted of a sitting room with three walls of windows, a bedroom, and an exceptionally roomy bathroom. The wallpaper is classic B&B, but that is the only thing about this place that is remotely cheesy. The bed and the couch were both comfortable. The shower had excellent water pressure and temperature. There was a nice closed-off section with the toilet, giving a measure of privacy. The jacuzzi was fantastic--it takes awhile to fill, but we can't really blame Jim & Julie, the owners, for the laws of physics, can we? The porch out back was also fantastic and got some sun and shade on it for most parts of the day.

We did get the wrong key when we first checked in. After walking the short distance to the main house, we were given two replacement keys for our trouble. There were cinammon rolls and orange juice glasses in our refrigerator. If this constitutes the whole of the breakfast, it seems a little spartan. But, if there was a breakfast at the main house (and I suspect that there was) then this represents a nice extra touch!

Overall, I was impressed with the Lookout Cottages and with Suite Alice in particular. Everything wasn't perfect, but I'm not sure that I would want it to be. Everything worked and everything was comfortable. The owners were extremely considerate and thoughtful towards their guests (those pieces of chocolate on the bed are a nice touch!) and I felt at ease while visiting. If I ever have an opportunity to visit Eureka Springs again, I would certainly go back too!

Room Tip: Suite Alice is fantastic--the jacuzzi is a particularly nice touch!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WashDCTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Celebrated our 20th anniversary at Suite Alice. We have been visiting the most exclusive B&B's in Eureka Springs for years, recently booked Lookout Cottages, Suite Alice, was our best lodging experience in 15 years!! We had beautiful, private accommodations, staff just left key in door and did not bother us thru duration of our stay, by far the most perfect private luxurious stay,( on dead end street, walking distance to Crescent hotel and New Moon Spa) we have found in Eureka, can't imagine booking anywhere else. We look forward to spending many more anniversaries at Suite Alice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,700 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edelweiss Inn
Edelweiss Inn
#2 of 35 in Eureka Springs
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmwood House
Elmwood House
#18 of 69 in Eureka Springs
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 69 in Eureka Springs
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Cottages

Address: 12 Lookout Cir, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3042
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing