We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and considerate quality establishment”
Review of Lookout Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lookout Cottages
Ranked #42 of 68 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Suite Alice in the Lookout Cottages at the beginning of June. We were in town for a wedding that was taking place at the Crescent Hotel nearby. We chose the Lookout Cottages because they would make it easy to access the larger events but give us greater privacy than we might have staying among a gaggle of wedding guests.

We had two nights at the Alice. Upon arriving, I was somewhat upset that there is no 'view' per se, although the forest around the Cottages grounds is very nice and pleasing. There were several different sorts of plants in bloom, one of which did an exceptional job attracting butterflies and thereby added a nice touch to the trip.

Upon arriving, there was a note with our names on it that welcomed us to the property. The suite itself consisted of a sitting room with three walls of windows, a bedroom, and an exceptionally roomy bathroom. The wallpaper is classic B&B, but that is the only thing about this place that is remotely cheesy. The bed and the couch were both comfortable. The shower had excellent water pressure and temperature. There was a nice closed-off section with the toilet, giving a measure of privacy. The jacuzzi was fantastic--it takes awhile to fill, but we can't really blame Jim & Julie, the owners, for the laws of physics, can we? The porch out back was also fantastic and got some sun and shade on it for most parts of the day.

We did get the wrong key when we first checked in. After walking the short distance to the main house, we were given two replacement keys for our trouble. There were cinammon rolls and orange juice glasses in our refrigerator. If this constitutes the whole of the breakfast, it seems a little spartan. But, if there was a breakfast at the main house (and I suspect that there was) then this represents a nice extra touch!

Overall, I was impressed with the Lookout Cottages and with Suite Alice in particular. Everything wasn't perfect, but I'm not sure that I would want it to be. Everything worked and everything was comfortable. The owners were extremely considerate and thoughtful towards their guests (those pieces of chocolate on the bed are a nice touch!) and I felt at ease while visiting. If I ever have an opportunity to visit Eureka Springs again, I would certainly go back too!

Room Tip: Suite Alice is fantastic--the jacuzzi is a particularly nice touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WashDCTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Celebrated our 20th anniversary at Suite Alice. We have been visiting the most exclusive B&B's in Eureka Springs for years, recently booked Lookout Cottages, Suite Alice, was our best lodging experience in 15 years!! We had beautiful, private accommodations, staff just left key in door and did not bother us thru duration of our stay, by far the most perfect private luxurious stay,( on dead end street, walking distance to Crescent hotel and New Moon Spa) we have found in Eureka, can't imagine booking anywhere else. We look forward to spending many more anniversaries at Suite Alice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a very relaxing time at the cottage! If you want a very comfy, quaint place to stay, I highly recommend staying at Lookout Cottages! If you want comfort and the right amount of privacy, you won't be disappointed! Thank you Julie and family for making us feel right at home!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here on our one year anniversary and we were delighted with our cottage. The decor was charming and the king bed was perfect. We also enjoyed several dips in the large jacuzzi tub. The cottage was immaculate and we had just the right amount of privacy as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinsomeWinslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I have made it a habit to get away to a Eureka Springs B&B or hotel on a regular basis since we moved into SW Missouri in 1995. We've also stayed at B&B's in other parts of the country and Canada so we've been in a bunch and are somewhat picky. So far, we've stayed at several in ES and I have to say that Suite Alice at the Lookout Cottages is our favorite so far.
The Suite Alice is a perfect size for a 2 or 3 night stay. There is a sun room with a couch and table where we read many of the journal entries of previous tenants. (That's always a hoot!) The bathroom was large, contained a shower (with dual shower heads - a surprise!) and large jacuzzi tub. There was also a small refrigerator stocked with bottled water, juice and a couple of sweet rolls (breakfast?) which unfortunately were hard as rocks when we got up the first morning of our stay. But we knew that a real breakfast was not provided with the Suite Alice (as it is in the main house of the Cottages) so we were prepared and brought our own breakfast foods.
Other amenities included a medium to large LCD TV with DVD player and about a dozen or so movies, all of good quality.
The Suite Alice is one of two in the Gatehouse which is separate from the main building of rooms and although the other side was occupied for the entirety of our stay, we never heard a peep from our neighbors. Nor were we bothered by anybody else! It was completely private and relaxing; exactly what we were after in this 3-night getaway. However, when we requested more water and coffee creamer, it was delivered promptly so the service, when we wanted it was great.
Another feature of the Suite Alice and Lookout Cottages is its proximity to the Crescent Hotel and much of the older Eureka Springs neighborhoods and businesses.
Overall we were very pleased with the rooms, the price, the location and the ambiance. We highly recommend the Lookout Cottages.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2004

A wonderful experience. The owners have several suites and one stand alone cottage for rent. We stayed in the cottage and found it to be cozy, comfortable and quiet. The property is located on a hill overlooking Eureka Springs - probably 200 yards from the well known Crescent Hotel. We found the owners to be delightful people which is essential in a cottage/B&B environment. Even the resident dog and cats were friendly. Lookout Cottages is a superior facility in the extremely competitive Eureka Springs market.

6  Thank DaveOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fayetteville, AR
12
Reviewed July 15, 2003

We have stayed in several places in Eureka Springs. This was one of the best. They make you feel very comfortable and are very friendly. It is a nice place and we will enjoy staying again sometime. The off season are very reasonable.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,895 reviews
0.6 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
327 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brydan Suites
Brydan Suites
#23 of 35 in Eureka Springs
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#9 of 35 in Eureka Springs
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Cottages

Address: 12 Lookout Cir, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3042
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing