We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evening Shade Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evening Shade Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 69 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

Fifteen years ago we were married in Eureka Springs and have been visiting yearly ever since. Five years ago we began celebrating our anniversary at the Evening Shade; (after the place we originally stayed at transferred ownership). I have to admit that we were a little nervous about the transfer of ownership of the Evening Shade when we first heard about Donna and Clark taking over. However, they have provided us with the same atmosphere that Ed (previous owner) did in previous years. The Evening Shade continues to provide us the romantic get away that we desire year after year. The morning breakfasts are superb and the afternoon desserts are marvelous. They don't help my waist line at ALL that is for sure. The cottages are immaculate and provide that story book fantasy. They are set back far enough in the trees that the anticipated privacy is there for the seeking. Lets just say here that we do put to use the large Jacuzzi during our weekend and leave it at that!! :) Even though it is July when we visit, we still turn on the fireplace and enjoy a glass of wine. Nothing is like sitting in front of the fireplace, drinking a glass of wine, and simply being in my husbands arms! We do turn the air conditioner way down; don't tell Donna or Clark though. My husband and I also love sitting on the porch in the swing watching the birds and deer in the morning over coffee and in the evening over a glass of wine. Our host Donna and Clark Hinson are simply the best. Every year we read the comments that are left in the "Comment Books" by other guest in the room. Of course we want to make sure other guest are enjoying their stay at Evening Shade like we do. We are not in the least disappointed by what we read in those books. The guest that take time to write in books comment frequently to how their stay is more than a weekend get away and surpasses their own ideal expectations. Donna and Clark go out of their way to ensure that each and every one of their guest are welcomed and feel at home. Through out the entire stay your wish is their desire. They have made The Evening Shade their own now; while still remembering to only build upon the Mission and Values that Ed's own business success and hospitality provided each and every one of his guest with.

Donna and Clark : We truly have enjoyed the last five years that we have visited The Evening Shade. Ed could not have asked for better innkeepers (hosts) when you stumbled upon the property a couple years back. We have every intention to continue our yearly visits. See you in 2008! In July of course!

Babblingnurse

Helpful?
Thank babblingnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
399
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

My husband and I needed to a little time with out children. So for the first time in 9 yrs we found the time. The Evening Shade Inn was a perfect choice. The cottage was wonderful, surrounded by trees, hidden from the crazy world. We enjoyed excellent homemade breakfast every morning and an awesome desert every afternoon. "GREAT FOOD."The Inn helped us find the people we were before children and allowed us to relax. We checked into other Inn's and B&B but this one was perfect. Clark and Donna are great people very helpful. They helped bring a little peace back into our relationship.

Thank you

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank 911voicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
searcy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

We were very unsure about booking this place from the internet. BUT when we arrived at the property we knew we had made the right choice. Clint and Donna had arranged everything for our wedding to take place and it happened as if professionals had done it. The cottage was unbelievable and the food was even better than unbelievable. We could not have had a better wedding anywhere in our book. We are looking forward to our next stay with Clint and Donna. These two really outdo themselves. Thanks again Clint and Donna for the wonderful experience Jeff and Denise !

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
searcy, ar
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

Where do I start....we decided at the last minute we wanted a small quaint wedding on 7/7/7. I had looked online and had actually called a couple of places...but they were already booked up! I then called the chamber of commerce and the lady there highly recommended the Evening Shade Inn. So I first looked online then I called Donna and she was helpful...she told me what they had to offer and it was exactly what we wanted for a wedding and honeymoon! I'll admit we were leary about reserving a place for our "big" day without visiting it first! But the moment we pulled into the drive we knew that we couldn't have picked a better place!
Clark and Donna made our wedding and honeymoon better than we could have imagined! They were so sweet & welcoming! The breakfasts were to die for and the afternoon snacks unreal! Our wedding was beautiful under their gazebo and the wedding cake was delicious! And the honeymoon spent in one of their honeymoon cottages was great (especially the hugh jacuzzi tub!)
I almost forgot....the doe and spotted fawn coming out behind the cottage in the woods the last morning we were there made it perfect!
We to would higly recommend the Evening Shade Inn to anyone! As a matter of fact we have already !!
We think it's the BEST in Eureka Springs!!
Denise : )
Searcy, AR

  • Liked — the hospitality and the good!!
  • Disliked — I can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed at a wonderful Bed and Breakfast for our 25th anniversary! We loved the cottage! It was beautiful and very roomy! The owners are very nice and helpful. The food was AWESOME! We had breakfast brought to us each morning and a wonderful dessert in the evening! Thank you for making our trip memorable.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glrwreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

The innkeepers of Evening Shade Inn, Clint & Donna Hinson, were the answer to our prayers. From the first contact via of phone to inquire of the rooms available to the prices to the food offered they were extremely helpful. Not only did they answer all our questions but were so helpful in making suggestions to help us during our stay.

We were married at this location and it was just beautiful. Again, Clint & Donna were so helpful in arranging our minister, the flowers and even a beautiful wedding cake waiting in our room following the ceremony. Clint took beautiful pictures of our wedding with our camera so we would have wonderful memories long after our stay.

We would recomend this Inn to anyone planing a trip in this area. The rooms are clean and neat. The grounds are well taken care of and the atmosphere takes you away from the noisy, outside world for awhile and allows you to enjoy being together.

We will always remember our time at Evening Shade Inn at Eureka Springs, Arkansas.

Sincerely,

Rick & Ginny Keys

Helpful?
Thank motorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

I was looking for a romantic setting for our 18th anniversary. I wanted something more than just a hotel room. I found the Evening Shade Inn on the Arkansas state webpage and knew I found the perfect place. I choose one of the romantic getaway packages which included dinner and show tickets. Our restaurant was amazing! The breakfast and desserts served at the Inn were romantic, delicious and very well thought out with no detail missing. The room was beautiful with little hidden touches everywhere and I have never been someplace so clean. The towels, the blankets, the comforters all were freshly cleaned and smelled terrific. The wood setting was beautiful and you could see deer and animals from the gazebo. Nothing was overlooked! We even received Motorcycle towels to wipe down our bike every morning and evening after our rides. That was incredible. Donna and Clark made us, (and our Harley) feel welcomed every step of the way! WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Liked — The romantic setting and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all incredible
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shel_kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#11 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#10 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#2 of 36 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 69 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evening Shade Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Shade Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Evening Shade Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3079 E van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-9712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not your typical bed and breakfast. Escape to the Ozarks for an extraordinary Eureka Springs Bed and Breakfast with privacy, comfort and convenience. Enjoy a spacious king bed, a jacuzzi for two, a fireplace, full breakfast delivered to your door and all the other amenities in your luxury suite or private cottage! Everything you need for a Romantic Getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Evening Shade Hotel Eureka Springs
Evening Shade Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing