We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Historic Inn to spend our last night in Eureka Springs!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1881 Crescent Cottage Inn
Ranked #19 of 68 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Let me start by saying the online reservations were very simple and easy to follow and all policies were stated up front. The reservation confirmation arrived soon after making our reservation and also included a listing of the policies.

We reserved Charlotte's Room for one night and wish we could have stayed more. We stayed in the old business district at the New Orleans Hotel for two nights and when we decided to stay an additional night we decided to try something different. The 1881 Crescent Cottage Inn was a great find! It is across the street from the Crescent Spring that has a nice walking trail up to the Historic Crescent Hotel. The evening and morning walks along the historic Spring Street were peaceful and enjoyable. The 1881 Crescent Cottage Inn is the oldest and most historic inn in the area. Powell Clayton, the 1st Governor of Arkansas after the Civil War, built this beautiful home.

When we arrived Ray greeted us and gave us a tour of the house and the grounds. There were fresh cookies waiting for us in the parlor. Our room was on the lower level and had a private entrance along with a private sliding door out to the veranda in the back. We had access to the living area along with our room. The mini refrigerator was stocked with complementary soft drinks and every detail in the room was perfect. They even had a nightlight in the bathroom and Ray had the fireplace going. Free WiFi is available and worked very well. Sitting on the veranda in the evening and the next morning was very nice and relaxing. Coffee and tea were available at 8:00am in the morning with breakfast served at 9:00am in the dining room. They said that they usually have breakfast out on the veranda but moved it inside do to the crisp morning air.

We met Elise at breakfast and let me tell you she not only enjoys cooking but she can cook. She does not have a set menu and will cook to meet any special dietary needs. Another couple from Texas was staying here and joined us for breakfast. We laughed as we live about 45 miles apart. We told Ray at check-in we could eat anything and she fixed the best breakfast, which was also the best meal of the trip. Anyone up for strawberry stuffed French toast? Elise joined us at the table and was very knowledgeable about the area. She shared many interesting stories about the town and people of Eureka Spring.

We would highly recommend staying here. Elise told us they also have Murder Mystery Weekends a couple of times a year. It was nice to meet both Ray and Elise and thanks for the great hospitality! We hope to make it back soon. Travel safe_ JAGIN

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2010

I made reservations and gave credit card info and received confirmation which states if you cancel at least 10 days before the reservation you will be charged $25.00.

Two weeks later I called (still 20 days before the reservation) and told the owner I was considering cancelling. Elise, the owner, informed me that I would be charged half of the cost of my stay.

I called my credit card company about 30 minutes after speaking with Elise and told them although my card had not yet been charged, that the merchant and I were disagreeing on what the cancellation fee would be and I needed to know what my options were. Boy was I surprised to be told by the credit card company that Elise had 24 minutes earlier ran my card for 250.00 ! Soon as I got off the phone with her she ran my card! Fortunately the credit card company removed the charge for me because I did have the confirmation.

Very questionable business practices!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank kidsmovedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athyrio, Front Office Manager at 1881 Crescent Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

This was a misunderstanding. This lady had to cancel for our Murder Mystery weekend. We usually require 1/2 down for the event as there is quite a cost for set up and such. She was only charged $25 which is our regular cancellation fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

From the moment we walked in the door we felt like we were at home. Our hosts - including Missy, their sweet Springer Spaniel - did everything they could to make our visit memorable. Our suite was beautiful and comfortable. After a full day of exploring and shopping, the big jacuzzi and fireplace were perfect, especially with our bottle of champagne!
We thought it couldn't get any better until we went to breakfast the next morning. The meal, the setting, conversation with the other couples and our hosts all made it just perfect. Not to mention some of the best coffee I've ever tasted!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2004

I only recently found this website or I would have posted my review sooner. We stayed here for a friday/saturday night weekend package deal in August, 2001. I think we paid about $500ish for the whole package which included our room, the Adeline room, gourmet breakfast both mornings, massages at the local massage parlor, $40 gift certificate at our choice of several local restaurants, horse/buggy carriage ride, tickets on the trolley, tickets on a boat ride and/or to a magic show. We did everything but the boat ride/magic show.

Our suite was very beautifully decorated with tons of antiques. There was another room attached that had a wonderful jacuzzi tub. The owner is a chemist and makes all kinds of soaps and encouraged us to use his bubble bath in the jacuzzi tub. There was also complimentary champagne, free use of video library, a refrigerator with sodas/water, and a bowl of candies in our room. I believe we were also offered tea/cookies and other snacks in the afternoon. The jacuzzi room led us to an outside porch with a porch swing overlooking the hill down into Eureka Springs.

It was a wonderfully relaxing trip, and I really enjoyed this B&B. We were within walking distance of all of Eureka Spring's shops, and the Catholic Church was just a block or so away.

7  Thank vossjemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank guarnmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,841 reviews
0.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rock Cottage Gardens B&B Inn
Rock Cottage Gardens B&B Inn
#1 of 68 in Eureka Springs
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 68 in Eureka Springs
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heartstone Inn and Cottages
Heartstone Inn and Cottages
#3 of 68 in Eureka Springs
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
5 Ojo Inn Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 68 in Eureka Springs
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1881 Crescent Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1881 Crescent Cottage Inn

Address: 211 Spring St, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3153
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $109 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you’re planning a wedding, honeymoon, anniversary celebration, or a relaxing getaway in Eureka Springs, think of Victorian elegance and charm, relaxed and gracious hospitality, history, and -- most of all -- romance. Imagine all of these in the heart of Eureka Springs’ famed Historic District only a few minutes’ stroll from downtown shops, restaurants, galleries, and nightlife. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing