We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful town”

Eureka Springs & North Arkansas Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“wonderful town”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

this town is so lively you have to see it. Every year we go and every time there is a new shop to see. the prices are reasonable and the shopkeeper are so friendly to talk with. Now parking is alright during the week. If they have a festival you will have a hard time parking close. they have free parking hard to fine thou but like any town the parking is a charge, bring coins and bills depending where you park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TishandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    110
    64
    23
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful ride back in time (and a decent meal)!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

When researching the "must-do" activities in Eureka Springs, the ES&NO railway dinner excursion was on everybody's list... so we figured we'd best check it out.

And we were glad we got to experience the wonderful little "trip back in time" of the short, but enjoyable, early-evening experience.

The adventure begins at their historic depot - a beautiful bucolic open-air "museum" where you can enjoy walking around all the old examples of heavy industrial machinery.

When they call "All Aboard", you step onto the train and back in time to a lovely dining car where you will (slowly) travel down the tracks a ways, while enjoying bread and salad and soup and the like, to a lovely river glade and trestle bridge where you will spend some time while you enjoy your entree staring at truly lush and beautiful forest scenery, before heading back down the tracks for dessert and coffee and a return to the depot.

The food was very solidly good, but not great -- which is what you would naturally expect for food that had to be prepared elsewhere and served on a train -- and which was actually much better than I had anticipated (feared). So while I wouldn't recommend the experience for the food alone... the food certainly did not detract from the experience!

It was a truly splendid backdrop for a romantic dinner with a beautiful Lady... so I highly recommend it for such purposes -- or to enjoy a memorable train ride with kids or family. But as others have suggested, there isn't really much scenery besides glorious nature (so the history is in the nature of the experience, rather than from what you see and hear).

It's an early dinner though... so we strongly recommend other plans for later in the evening. After the dinner train, we chose to head to the Crescent Hotel for their Ghost Tour, but you could just as easily have gone to Intrigue Theater or the like.

If you enjoy history (and if you don't, then why are you going to Eureka Springs) and/or the romance of trains... you will most assuredly enjoy this wonderful ride back in time, and the decent meal you'll enjoy during the trip!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank maxntropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what you think it's going to be”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed. We've taken train rides all over the country and this was the least impressive. We didn't pay for a meal, thank goodness. The scenery...well, there really is NO scenery other than trees and you can see the same from your car! The conductor told stories, and gave a little history. But it's not worth the price. No senior or AAA discounts offered. They do offer help boarding if you're physically challenged. The only real "attraction" is the train driving over your coins when it changes direction. Again, very disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jydnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a surprise.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Definitely more than what we expected. We went for the lunch time tour and were surprised with just how elegant and delicious it was. The service was exceptional. I would highly recommend this and would do it again if given the chance.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StarDuster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time and the lunch was very good. We had the stroganoff, the dessert was amazing! This is a short little excursion but lots of fun.

Helpful?
Thank arfcamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eureka Springs & North Arkansas Railway also viewed

 

Been to Eureka Springs & North Arkansas Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing