We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up keep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a nice time hotel staff was friendly.
Hotels require up keep the carpet was so old in bedrooms looked like you could catch something if walked on bare foot, also area rug in living area was very dirty. Towels an bed linens were wore needed replaceing.
The atmosphere was good location wonderful.
Would like to come back if the up keep is done.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at Grand Central Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We take cleanliness very seriously and just had the carpets all professionally cleaned this summer, so your claims regarding the carpet don't add up. We will make sure to inspect the linen inventory for tattered sheets and blankets as we do our best to provide clean, comfortable, and high quality bedding on our nearly new mattresses. Our housekeeping staff does deep cleaning in each room on a regular basis so "up keep" is done. We're glad the rest of your stay was pleasant and will revisit our current stringent cleaning regiment to avoid such "claims" by future guests. Thank you again for your review and I promise we will address cleanliness as we have always done and will continue to do.

Dustin Duling
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a wonderful two days and nights at the Grand Central Hotel. Clean, attractive, lots of space, largest tub (jetted) I have ever seen in a motel or hotel, and wonderful hosts. One highlight was that Jerry Yester (past member of The New Christy Minstrels and The Lovin' Spoonful) played piano and sang in the lobby on Thursday night. The restaurant in the hotel is one of the best within many miles. We also had free parking which is not true at many hotels nowadays. I almost forgot to say that we had: a refrigerator, a microwave and a dishwasher. It added up to be one of our favorite places we have EVER stayed and we have stayed at m-a-n-y hotels and B&B's over the years. We look forward to going back in the future. The building is old and historic but has been restored over the years; it has a fascinating history. The furnishings are perfect for the type of building it is.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms and each one is different from the rest. There are convenient stairs (build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hello and thank you very much for the kind review. It was nice talking to you and hearing of your musical travels and experiences. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you and all the best to you.

Take care.

Dustin
Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Three of my girlfriends and I stayed this past weekend (4/20-4/22) at the Grand Central Hotel in Eureka Springs. The rooms are definitely old, but that just adds to the charm of the hotel. We stayed in suite 205 and it was very large, the four of us all slept comfortably. Dustin at the front desk was very helpful with all of our questions and even helped us get all our bags up the stairs. Lindsey in the spa gave the best massage ever. Overall it was a great stay! Also enjoyed the complimentary onsite parking.

Room Tip: View the 360-degree virtual tours on their website to help choose a room that suits you-we needed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at Grand Central Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for the review! We are happy to host you and look forward to you returning to the Grand Central Hotel & Spa.

All the best.

Dustin Duling
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The high ceilings, furnishings, and atmosphere makes us want to come back. The Bed was very comfortable and the little kitchen was a pleasant surprise. If want modern hotel don't come here. If you Want pleasant and helpful staff and old Victorian atmosphere, then this is your place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Love staying in Historic Hotels. This one is right in the heart of the old section of Eureka Springs. Building and Lobby carry that Historic theme. Very nice restaurant on the first (lobby) level. Staff nice & efficient. We had a good stay - but - our suite left a little to be desired. The older construction & sloping floors are what we like about staying in a building over 100 years old. But somewhere/someone must have decided that the sitting room part of the suite needed a full kitchen? Understandable? Maybe if the market dictated extended stay and a family Hotel? This was neither. And the inexpensively installed circa mid-80's oak and laminate with harvest gold appliances - well - just didn't fit. I hope somewhere along the way someone sees fit to remove the kitchens, upgrade the bathrooms (similar off-period finishes) and return this to the Historic property that it's meant to be. Then it would be highly recommended and a "Grand" stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJantsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin D, Manager at Grand Central Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. Sorry Suite 306 didn't meet your expectations. We have made several upgrades in the past couple of months since your stay, but the layout is pretty much set until a major renovation. Our housekeeping gets rave reviews so we know the room was immaculate and most people are completely happy with the layout. The fixtures and finishes are consistently being upgraded always with aspirations of Grand. We hope your experience overall was pleasant and that this particular and all future visits to Eureka Springs are enjoyable.

All the best.

Dustin Duling
Manager
Grand Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We slipped away for a couple nights stay in our favorite getaway spot - Eureka Springs (AR). This was our first stay at the historic Grand Central Hotel. Loved the high ceiling and creaky floored room. Our suite was exceptionally large. This property is purely authentic feeling like you have enter the past. Nicely coupled with the historic is the modern spa and salon - you receive service second to none experienced in any given prominent travel destination. You will not want to miss the Grand Tavern Restaurant - exceptional and nicely priced. Your hosts will make you feel like welcomed friends... this is a must do to be put on your list.

Room Tip: The Hotel web site give an accurate deception of each room type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beastie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The location is perfect; we will always stay in the downtown area now that we realize how much fun this provides. We did not need our car any time during the stay….the free parking was very convenient.

The decor is charming. Probably about 50% of the furnishings we saw were repros, another 40% were less expensive antiques and 10% were very nice pieces. It all came together (with the flowery wallpaper to be very charming). We were in Room 205 and loved it. It's huge--a separate sitting room, hallway leading to the bedroom, one room for lavatory, another for the Jacuzzi/shower. The two televisions were old, but we never considered turning one on. We were way too busy! We would be bummed if we had time to watch television on a trip out of town.....when we get out of town, we like to stay busy until bedtime….and one can easily do that in downtown Eureka Springs.

We loved the ambiance, our meal at the hotel restaurant was perfect, Gracyn (the owner's dog) is tooo adorable. Dustin, the seems-to-lots-and-lots-of-things around the place was a top notch concierge. He gave us spot-on advice on where to go and what to do. He went out of his way to be helpful.

Tip: pick up the "6 Historical Walking Tours in Eureka Springs" from the desk. We went on two of them and saw more fascinating Eureka Springs than we have ever seen in previous visits.

The downstairs spa was a good experience. The clinician was friendly; in fact, she was great. One of the hotel owners was quite involved in the hotel operations while we were there. She came across as very upbeat and maybe a bit quirky --- in a good and friendly way. : >

We highly recommend the Hotel Grand Central---the coolest place we have stayed in Eureka Springs --by far. We loved it so much, we are gifting half the expense for our daughter to stay here on her next visit. We know she will enjoy this.

Loved Grand Central Hotel and wish we were still there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,392 reviews
0.4 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#12 of 35 in Eureka Springs
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#18 of 35 in Eureka Springs
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel & Spa

Address: 37 North Main Street, Eureka Springs, AR
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Eureka Springs
Price Range: $156 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Central Hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown within easy walking distance to shops, galleries and restaurants. The award winning Grand Taverne Restaurant is located on the lobby level. Onsite parking. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing