We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dusty Room, Complaining Management, Thin Towels and 100 Stuffed Cats” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegate Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stonegate Inn
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dusty Room, Complaining Management, Thin Towels and 100 Stuffed Cats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I were guests at the Stonegate Inn Oct19-21,2012. Our room was minimally clean. The breakfast consisted of Walmart snack cakes and coffee. The earliest you could get coffee was 7:30am which being an early riser I consider late.. The breakfast area was one table with 4 chairs and was situated in the lobby filled with 100's of stuffed cats. I asked the proprietor how often she had to dust all the cats and she said in 7 years she had never had to do so since she kept the floor clean and that if you kept the floor clean dust never collected on the cats! Really?

My last morning I walked up 3 flights of stairs to the office. It was still dark.and the stairwells were un-lit which made me feel uncomfortable as well as somewhat unsafe. When I entered the office I suggested to the owner/husband that he might like to turn on the lights to make it safer. He replied that the system was on a timer and that since season was almost over there was no reason to change it and asked why people had to always complain so much. I said that he might have a problem if someone fell or was attacked in the dark. He again said there was too much complaining. I replied that it would seem that he would want to take care of his guests. He kept complaining about complainers and when put up my hand to signal I had heard enough, he told me to just take my coffee and go to my room!

Yikes, could he have been more rude? I might add I am a 67 year old woman and do feel my request was not out of line. His behavior was!

Jacie Minick

Room Tip: . Some people will like it,others won't..I' say Here's a tip....choose somewhere else to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anemone400, Manager at Stonegate Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our Continental breakfast is served from 7.30 Am to 10.00 Am, we have a big sign about this outside by the door. Continental breakfast included coffee or tea and pastries.Pastries need to be individually wrapped. We are living on the Ozark Mountains area and we have no bakeries here, all stores are miles away. It is not so many chances than the big cities have.Our cat collection has been only 2 years and they need to dusted every week. Our lightsystem is on the timer and it goes on and off by the sunset and sunrise. We try to make all customers happy, but still is complainers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    16
    14
    29
See reviews for
20
33
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Observations about Stonegate Inn:

1. Clean, fresh smelling sheets
2. Clean, new, fresh smelling towels/washcloths
3. Friendly owners
4. Check out is 10:00 a.m.
5. plenty of hot water and pressure good
6. cats in the office. If you are allergic, steer clear as the cat smell is "strong", especially when the heat is on.
7. Very friendly large dog with an owner (male) who likes to walk him/her on a leash to interact/greet customers. If you fear dogs, or are allergic to them, steer clear as the dog likes to "sniff" you everywhere.
8. The soft drinks are "help yourself" for $1 in the office refrig, and snacks are also kept in the office for purchase
9. Owners make sure, if you have a front room, that you also have frontside parking space
10. Like most hotels in Eureka the rooms show wear and tear
11. There was no hair dryer in our room
12. Refrig/microwave in our room, but the refrig did not cool very well even after adjusting control.
13. Bathroom was clean, especially under the commode lid where I always check
14. Only toiletries in room are bath/basin
15. Llimited plug ins
16. One only room key
17. Heat/cool worked perfectly as it was 80 degrees when I arrived and two days later 31 degrees
18. Rates were approx $100 per night which included tax
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkieArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eureka Springs hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and a large group of friends reserved rooms for the blues, bikes, and bbq weekend this year. Unfortunatley my friend lost his life Thursday, most of us cancelled our rooms but they needed 48 hours notice. So canceling our rooms on Thurs. before checkin would leave Sat. that we would'nt have to pay for. But instead they charged all of us for the whole weekend and still rented out the rooms. To me that is bad business no compassion and then double dipping on the rooms and still charged my late friend for his room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anemone400, Manager at Stonegate Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. The cancellation policy of a group reservation is one week for a whole group. Individual customers for 48 hours. Hotel never got any report or any official statement of the incident. This group had reservation for 3 days at the hotel. Hotel got only a lot of cancellation phone calls very late on the arrival day and nasty, treatening phone calls weeks later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Junction
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I decided at the last minute to go to Eureka Springs for the Labor Day weekend. We found this motel online and booked it. It is an older place but very clean. The owners (and their dog) are very friendly. The cleaning staff was very helpful and offered fresh towels even though we did not have them clean the room. The shower was great, good pressure and temperature. The beds were hard, but we are used to our feather bed. The second night we slept better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed three nights. Owners were friendly and so were most of the guests. The hotel was clean inside and out. What I liked best was that most of the rooms had a table with chairs on the outside. The hotel is also located close to the main tourist district.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minters Chapel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stopped with no reservation Thursday, got a room but was told they were booked for the coming weekend. Older but clean property, wierdass room decorations (stuffed animals). Limited continental breakfast - cinammon rolls and coffee. This is a funky older property but OK for a road stop.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor in the very back - very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#35 of 37 in Eureka Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eureka Suites
Eureka Suites
#27 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Village Inn
Swiss Village Inn
#32 of 37 in Eureka Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Trails Inn
The Trails Inn
#1 of 37 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ozarka Lodge
Ozarka Lodge
#19 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brydan Suites
Brydan Suites
#20 of 37 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Inn

Property: Stonegate Inn
Address: 2106 E van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-8806 (Formerly "Budget Host Inn")
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stonegate Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Stonegate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegate Hotel Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing