We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great steak”

Gaskins Cabin Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Terrell, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great steak”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Best steak I have had in quite a while. It's about three miles out of town but worth the drive.The standard steak potato and salad was very good. The service was excellent. It is a little pricey, but worth it if you want a really good meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank txtraveler75161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    79
    43
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Killer Food, Let Down By Service”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

highly recommended, and a pretty comedic disappointment. For starters, it's quite a drive - a good 10-15 minutes past downtown, in the middle of nowhere, really. We went for dinner on Sunday evening, and had read online that there can be a wait, so we phoned 30 minutes ahead to get on the waiting list, as recommended. When we arrived, there was no one waiting out front, and the entire front bar (with 6 six-seater tables, 2 of which were fully 'set') was vacant. The hostess was the bartender, and informed us it would be about 20 minutes. We nearly laughed out loud, but decided to wait anyways. We watched 3 different couples leave separately, in the 20 minutes before we were seated. We also watched 3 couples come in, two of which left after being told there was a 30-45 minute wait (despite my wife and I being the only ones waiting). Their dinner service is from 5p-8p, and we were finally sat just after 6p - one hour into dinner service. As the name suggests, this is a cabin converted to a restaurant, so the seating was sparse and slightly cramped, but we still walked right past 3 open tables on our way to ours (which made me wonder what, exactly, we'd been waiting for?).

When our waiter greeted us, he informed us that they were out of the calamari appetizer and the macaroni and cheese side dish. Again, this was 1 hour into dinner service, and there was MAYBE 20 tables in the whole place. How are you already running out of dishes, especially macaroni and cheese? After seeing a few plates come out, my wife and I decided to split the 12oz prime rib, and also got Cesar salads, and sides of asparagus, sauteed mushrooms and onions, and a loaded baked potato. Meanwhile, the waiter brought out the bread, which was warm and soft, though he seemed to forget that I asked for another loaf - twice.

The food - OMG, the food. IT. WAS. AMAZING. SO AMAZING. Like, ridiculously amazing. Was that worth the absurd and ridiculous wait? Not really, in my opinion. The prime rib was juicy (and PLENTY for 2 people to split), and the sides were fresh and delicious, as well.
Total bill for 2 = $65 with tip (for a split plate, mind you).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The prime rib was excellent. My wife had the salmon and it was also very good (but after I had been eating that prime rib I could have been a little jaded :-P) The service was very friendly and personable, not pretentious like you might expect. The only negative was the "loaded" baked potato was just a side of fixings to go with the potato, not melted in it like I am used to. All in all I will definitely be going back and recommending to friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pricetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Eureka”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Perfectly cooked medium-well filets, awesome service and great specials. Our first visit but wont be our last! Kudos!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CubbiesFan303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the some of the best Prime Rib we have ever eaten and the restaraunt feels like a family or friends house. Very impressed with food and service and if you go you must try the Prime Rib without a doubt.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jamie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaskins Cabin Steakhouse also viewed

 
Eureka Springs, AR
Eureka Springs, AR
 

Been to Gaskins Cabin Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing