We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great ambiance”

Gaskins Cabin Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Granbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We ate here our 2nd night in Eureka Springs. This is a really nice place to go for the ambiance. Nice mood lighting, cozy dining experience. The fact that we were eating in an old log cabin was really cool. We also liked that the owner was there. He was very personable and took an interest in our dining experience. The atmosphere was excellent, even if the food was not as good. The bread that came before the meal was cold, hard and tasteless. We both had the prime rib and, while good, we wouldn't say it was the best. It was also a bit chilly while we ate. We asked that the vent above us be shut off and overheard another chilly couple ask the same. A real fire in the fireplace would have been a nice touch, but instead there were electrically lit candles in the fireplace. Nice if you had a view, but providing no warmth to the room.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lonestarway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    77
    43
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Disappointing - What Did Other Reviewers Eat?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Visited this steak house last Sat. evening based on the rave reviews found here on TripAdvisor. Called weeks ago for reservations - they would not accept, but offered to put on the 'wait list' for that evening at 6:30 hoping for seating by 7:00 or 7:20. We arrived at 6:50 and they had our name (but doubted it really was integrated into a wait list until we physically arrived). We were finally seated at 7:40. We both chose the prime rib because this was the "place" to enjoy this roast. Choice of soup or salad - we both chose the salad with honey/mustard vinergerette - tasted more like Catalina. Salad consisted of two curly leaf lettuce leaves, (chopped), one under ripe cherry tomato and a red onion ring. Small luncheon plate size swimming in dressing. For some they might like plenty of dressing - I don't want my greens swimming. Prime rib arrived with baked potato - both only just warm. A baked potato should be piping hot to melt that butter or sour cream! Cooked as requested, but far from really tender - lots of scrapes and fat remained on our plates. I've eaten better prime rib at the Texas Roadhouse chain restaurants. Waiter Brent very accommodating, but owners who host seemed unorganized and may have kitchen back-log problems. Tables were empty and ready for seating, but guests still waited.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbO45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaskinsCabin, Owner at Gaskins Cabin Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
BarbO45, I’m very sorry that you were so disappointed when you came to visit us in October. We appreciate your review and have worked with our Chef to make sure that we don’t repeat this experience in the future. Bert and I hope you will give us another chance. Due to the size of Gaskins it is impossible to take firm reservations but having a “call ahead” list gives our guests an opportunity to spend an extra 30 minutes enjoying all the great things that Eureka Springs has to offer. Again, we apologize for your disappointing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“False Advertising - doesn't adhere to advertised operating hrs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I planned to have a nice dinner at Gaskins and drove out to it and found the closed sign up. It was 7:30 pm and their website advertised that they were open from 5:00 pm until 8:00 pm. My boyfriend went in and found the manager inside eating his own dinner - he stated that he had already closed the grill and the owner had approved closing early since they weren't real busy. What a wasted drive to go outside Eureka Springs and find the restaurant closed early. They may had good food (we'll never know) but it certainly isn't worth it to drive out there and take a chance on whether they'll be open or not.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LROD_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib BAR NONE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Advertise Prime Rib as specialty- Must Say BEST PRIME RIB I've EVER HAD! Wow, seasoned and cooked to prefection. Great wine/bar selections and fettucine as a side was OUTSTANDING! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pagriego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This restaurant was the first place we ate after we got settled in. It was really good. A bit pricey but it was really good. My steak was the best I have had and the Prime Rib my husband got was really good also.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmbowen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaskins Cabin Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Gaskins Cabin Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing