We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway for couples” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Ridge Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great getaway for couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We have stayed at a cabin here four times over the last thirteen years. It's beautiful here and sooooo relaxing!! The racoons do come up to your door but beware!! One tried to attack us for our steak! They are violent & dangerous!!
The cabins are confortable and fairly clean. I agree with other posters who said the decor is outdated.
We found a dirty dish in the cabinet and noticed that we weren't left a whole lot of stuff like paper towels, charcol & lighterfluid. We asked for some and did get the items. :)
Overall, it's expensive here but definitely worth trying out for a couple nights. Any longer than that & it gets boring.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure-Team_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    18
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
107
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Carmichaels restaurant - was very impressive thta we ended up having been there twice within two days. Clifford, the food manager was very helpful and attentive. Our party comprised a vegetarian - the main chef Mathew was very accomodating, Gregory prepared a very tasty grilled vegetable dish. Thoroughly enjoyed the setting and the meals.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Morar069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We were delightfully surprised to find this nice resort so close to Eureka Springs. It was clean and spacious, with a marvelous view of Beaver Lake. We had the 2 story log cabin. We enjoyed the 2 living/den areas. The large porch where 15 can have breakfast was terrific.
The neighbors were quiet. The animals have learned to come up to the cabins for snacks.
Only a few things we did not like: There was no housekeeping if you stay only 4 nights. The kitchen table seats 8 not 15! There were only 2 bathrooms and one of them was off the masterbedroom, which has no lock on the bedroom door.


The views were so refreshing and we hope to come back! And for a group of 15 it was affordable!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank croadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

We just returned from our trip to Eureka Springs where we stayed at Sugar Ridge in one of the cabins. It was absolutely amazing!!!! So relaxing. The kitchen was very well equiped. Others have complained about no dishwasher, but please, these cabins are for couples. How many dishes can you possibly have? The location was a little out of Eureka Springs, but that is what we wanted. It is so beautiful and peaceful. Use the birdseed in the morning and you'll be amazed by all the birds that will turn up. Then if there is any left, the racoons will visit that night.

The decor is mountain victorian which sounds kinda odd but it is actually very comfortable and cozy. The linens were so soft and I was concerned because I am used to very soft sheets (my one little luxury at home) and actually brought my own, but didn't need them.

There were bath salts for the jacuzzi. A CD player was available which we moved in by the jacuzzi. The couch and recliner were extremely comfortable and the "furry" rugs were great on bare feet. Comfort is definately not a problem. We stayed for 5 nights and they will come in and straighten up and freshen up upon request, so don't hesitate to ask. Otherwise they will not disturb your privacy.

The balcony that overlooks the lake was incredible. The views were amazing any time of day. The breeze was always nice and the cabin was always surprisingly warm. Oh, warm, did I mention the fireplace. They provide the wood and the starters, so all you have to do is strike the match. They have thought of everything for your comfort. Dish TV is available as well in the living room. They have a collection of movies at the office too if you just want to snuggle down and watch a good flick.

The staff was always friendly and very helpful. You feel like part of the family immediately, but a pampered part. Oh and if you get a copy of the Eureka Springs guide for this year (with the green front), the owner and operator of Sugar Ridge is the one with the big grin on his face holding the giant fish!! Ask him and he'll tell you the story and get that same look on his face.

I can't say enough about Sugar Ridge. If you are looking for a romatic getaway, this is the place. We heard that you can have a massage in your cabin, but we kept forgetting to ask.

This was our 10th anniversary and we renewed our vows while in Eureka Springs and this was the place to stay for that romantic event!!

Thanks to you all at Sugar Ridge for making it that much more special. You have a wonderful place and we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

sugar ridge was wonderful!! you can sit in the hot tub and view 180 degrees of beaver lake! Breeze from lake would gently swing you in porch swing on deck.sits on hill in woods and is so peaceful.swim area for beaver lake is really close.I recommend lake leatherwood for photos. lake was full of water lillies.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hawker_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

Cabins in very good condition (recent remodel), although no dishwasher. Well supplied with most needs; including charcoal & lighter, coffee, corkscrew, etc. Interesting glass shower in bedroom. Comfy brass bed. VERY large jacuzzi tub next to window with absolutely gorgeous view of Beaver Lake. Even a swing on the covered porch for outdoor fun or just to enjoy the lake view.

Highly recommend the resort. Reasonably priced for the quality provided.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi Tub
  • Disliked — No dhishwasher
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titleatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, MO
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

As others have mentioned, this resort has incredible views of Beaver Lake. We opted to book a suite instead of one of the cabins. The suite was large, with kitchen, king bed, jacuzzi, and private balcony. The kitchen was reasonably well-equipped, though no dishwasher. I was surprised that the decor was as old and tired as it was. The linens are dated. The pictures on the wall are straight from the Dollar Store. The cabinetry in the bathroom desperately needs to be refinished. Certainly the setting dictates a country feel, but it needs to be updated.

For anyone planning to hike, understand that you must drive out to safely hike anywhere. The road to the resort is curving with no place to walk safely. There are no trails accessible from the property. Also, there are no large grocery stores nearby, so if you plan to eat in, shop before you get to Eureka.

Nonetheless, I would not discourage anyone from this location. We had a nice get-away and loved the spectacular views. However, for the money, I think there are probably comparable places that are not so dated.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Furnishings/decor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PJKJoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
7.2 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
7.3 mi away
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
Palace Hotel & Bath House Spa
#14 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
7.4 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
BEST WESTERN Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 36 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beaver Lake View Resort
Beaver Lake View Resort
#17 of 69 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beaver Lakefront Cabins
Beaver Lakefront Cabins
#8 of 64 in Eureka Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge Resort

Property: Sugar Ridge Resort
Address: 1216 Dam Site Road, Eureka Springs, AR 72631
Location: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Eureka Springs
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing