We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an interesting place to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quigley's Castle

Quigley's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ferdinand, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What an interesting place to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is such a interesting and fun place to visit. The granddaughter of the couple who built the house greets you and tells you the history of the house but be sure to ask her questions before you go in she soon leaves you alone to explore as much as you want and you don't see her again :( We would have loved to ask a few more questions after looking around. There is a $7 fee for adults.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank couplefromIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    118
    55
    15
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had heard of Quigley's Castle for many years, but finally took the opportunity to see the "Castle". The story of Mrs. Quigley and how she built this house and the original details is definitely worth taking the time to absorb. The plants and butterfly collection is impressive. Don't go too quickly, you'll miss the amazing details.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WildPlum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is probably the most unique house you will ever see. The hand construction of cement, stone and rock is something you would think could not be done. The plants growing inside the house are really something to see as well as the individual irock and stone items in the gardens. Place cards at various places explain the background on many items. My wife and I spent 1 1/2 hours here last Wednesday and you could spend more if you really looked into details. Don't miss this if your anywhere near Eureka Springs, AR.. Closed Sundays and Thursdays. (Also if your here, you can go 3 miles further down Highway 23 to Turpentine Creek Big Cat Wildlife Refuge which is a unique and worthwhile tour,)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I was delightfully surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had not planned on stopping at Quigleys Castle on this trip. But we seen the sign on our way to another attraction and decided to stop and check it out. I'm glad we did. My daughter in law were fascinated with the vision this woman had. She had a passion and wether or not you like it, you have to admire and marvel at it. I say don't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank crystalh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Hope, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Money hungry!!?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The house was interesting but the lady only wanted your money. She wouldn't tell you any history until you paid her and then after she gave her little speel, she didn't want to answer any questions and when she did she was so rude! Don't waste your time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quigley's Castle also viewed

 

Been to Quigley's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing