We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "With over 100 exotic cats and other wildlife on display, Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is one of the largest big cat sanctuaries in the United States. The non-profit USDA licensed refuge, founded in 1992, has grown to become one of the Top 10 attractions in Arkansas and the most popular in Eureka Springs. Lions, cougars, leopards, tigers, and bears are displayed in large natural habitats surrounding the main enclosures and gift shop. Each animal has its own story/history plaque for self-guided tours and over night accommodations are available via the Safari Lodge, RV park, and camping facilities. Guided tours are available from 10am until 4pm (Summer) or 3pm (Winter). The refuge is open year round (except Christmas Day) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.."
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This refuge specializes in rescuing large cats in private ownership whose owners have been unable to care for them adequately for a variety of reasons. There are dozens of tigers, cougars, lions, bears, and one very nervous coyote. The guided tour provides lots of details on the life stories of the animals. All in a beautiful setting in the Ozarks. A truly fascinating place. Well worth adding to your itinerary if you're in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    239
    81
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Mi
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Just Do It!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I cannot add anything to what has already been said in the previous Reviews except; Take the time and DO IT! You will not be sorry that you did. My wife and I will be returning. Look for their Discount Coupon on their web-site; www.turpentinecreek.org

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Old_Geezer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Granddaughter loved trip!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at feeding time and it was a great experience. Lots of beautiful cats, plus bears, white tigers, black panther and lions.
We enjoyed the day greatly. I highly recommend visiting. They also have cabins that you can rent for the evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dyana221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtn. Home
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place and very informative”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our son's family had visited last spring and they loved it. They rescue these animals and give them care for the rest of their lives. There are states that do not have laws against the purchase of exotic animals. People purchase them as kittens and think the can domesticate them. When they get 200 to 400 hundred pounds or the owners get older they unable to care for them and turn them over to Turpentine Creek.

The tour was great and very informative.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RogerMtn_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Safe place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We didnt visit the entire park as it was late in the day, we did go in and check out the gift shop and talked with some of the staff who were all very good natured and helpful. How sad the stories are of the conditions most of these cats were saved from. Turpentine Creek seems to care a great deal for these animals. I will visit hopefully in the future when we can spend the day..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing