We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A SPECIAL PLACE!!!!”

Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "With over 130+ exotic cats and other wildlife on display, Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is one of the largest big cat sanctuaries in the United States. The non-profit USDA licensed refuge, founded in 1992, has grown to become one of the Top 10 attractions in Arkansas and the most popular in Eureka Springs. Lions, cougars, leopards, tigers, and bears are displayed in large natural habitats surrounding the main compound enclosures and gift shop. Each animal has its own story/history plaque for self-guided tours and over night accommodations are available via the Safari Lodge, RV park, and camping facilities. Guided tours available and popular daily feeding times are 4 p.m. (winter) to 5 p.m. (summer). The refuge is open year round (except Christmas Day) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.."
La Vista, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WHAT A SPECIAL PLACE!!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I LOVE THIS PLACE......such a sad storyfor these poor animals bless this non profit organizations heart!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,325
    234
    80
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best ever”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

love the wild cats could spend hours there, well worth the price and experience, you won't be let down

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Come at feeding time”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This was a great addition to our weekend trip to Eureka Springs. We came a little after 3 and went on the 3:50 trolley tour. This costs an extra $5 per person but was very much worth it. The tour finished about 4:30 and as we got off the trolley the compound came to life. The trainers feed at 5:00- and the tigers, lions, and cougars wake up hungry!! Best part of tour was explanation that the animals are rescues from private collections and most are not eligible for release in wild or to be given to a zoo because of health problems.

Helpful?
Thank Extratall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lions and tigers and bears, oh my!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We love and support Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge and visit each trip to Eureka Springs. This last visit we were happy to see the new enclosures that allow the animals to be on grass and roam and out of the smaller cages. Call ahead to confirm feeding time in the afternoon. Be sure to arrive for the last tour, then stay for feeding. It is awesome! The animals are more active at this time and there are great photo opportunities.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, AR
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing and educational experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I visited all the wonderful animals at Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge and had a great time. The staff was very knowledgeable, friendly, and informatitive. We learned the personal stories behind the majority of the animals, and they were beautiful to observe. We especially observed Bam Bam the bear playing with his big ball in the water tub. Would recommend for animal lovers of all ages.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing