We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining, informative & heartwarming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge

Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "With over 130+ exotic cats and other wildlife on display, Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is one of the largest big cat sanctuaries in the United States. The non-profit USDA licensed refuge, founded in 1992, has grown to become one of the Top 10 attractions in Arkansas and the most popular in Eureka Springs. Lions, cougars, leopards, tigers, and bears are displayed in large natural habitats surrounding the main compound enclosures and gift shop. Each animal has its own story/history plaque for self-guided tours and over night accommodations are available via the Safari Lodge, RV park, and camping facilities. Guided tours available and popular daily feeding times are 4 p.m. (winter) to 5 p.m. (summer). The refuge is open year round (except Christmas Day) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.."
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Entertaining, informative & heartwarming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family just happened to see billboards for the sanctuary & decided to stop. I sure wish we had planned our visit so we could have had more time but we had to get to Oklahoma that day. But the short time that we were there made a huge impact on us. This place & these people are flat-out amazing in the work that they do rescuing these animals. They have signs on each enclosure telling the story of each animal & how they came to be at the sanctuary & I think that if everyone read these stories, there would be fewer ignorant people buying big cats for pets. We were very touched by this place. We are "adopting" a cat to help pay for its food & we plan on visiting as often as we can. Next time we want to stay in the tree house!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    220
    74
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Eureka's Large Cat Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Most likely, the closest that you will ever come to the Big Cats! This place is so awesome, I come every time I visit Eureka!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank alskx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice little outfit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Really nice and informative. We took the walking tour lead by Diane. She knew her stuff, which was nice if you're interested in learning about the animals. Walking tour is a half mile down a rocky, hilly, path. No too bad. Water is available half way through. I recommend wearing a suitable pair of shoes and a hat. $15 for adults, $10 for kids and vets.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravette, AR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful animals in a great home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in the B&B, so we got a chance to see the cats early in the morning when they were just waking up. Sooo cute! There was a story for almost each cat (or bear), and some of them were quite sad. The best part is actually the people who work there. Everyone was friendly and had a smile on, and you could tell they really loved their job and cared about the difference they made for the cats. I couldn't imagine anyone not having a good time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank theshelbstinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“They love their Tigers and Lions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Fantastic place for a visit. The caretakers know a lot of details about the animals lives. You get up close and personal. I would suggest going back at 4pm at feeding time (no extra cost to come back the same day). CHOMP! Very educational and fun for kids and adults . They do good work out there. A must stop for my wife everythime we visit Eureka Springs

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing