We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place....But make sure you stay at the front of the tour group” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge

Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "With over 130+ exotic cats and other wildlife on display, Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge is one of the largest big cat sanctuaries in the United States. The non-profit USDA licensed refuge, founded in 1992, has grown to become one of the Top 10 attractions in Arkansas and the most popular in Eureka Springs. Lions, cougars, leopards, tigers, and bears are displayed in large natural habitats surrounding the main compound enclosures and gift shop. Each animal has its own story/history plaque for self-guided tours and over night accommodations are available via the Safari Lodge, RV park, and camping facilities. Guided tours available and popular daily feeding times are 4 p.m. (winter) to 5 p.m. (summer). The refuge is open year round (except Christmas Day) from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.."
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome place....But make sure you stay at the front of the tour group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Tickets to this refuge are a little pricey, but once we got there I realized it was well worth it. The refuge is in a beautiful location and is easy to find. You can really get up close and personal with the animals and each enclosure has a sign telling that animals story. We took the tour in the morning and while it was enjoyable our guide did not use a mike and it was very difficult to hear what she was saying. I would recommend going in the morning to look around and take the tour (we took the 11 a.m. tour) and then coming back around 4-5 for feeding time. All of the staff were very helpful and full of information. Overall, it was a great experience!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank barbieisagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    220
    74
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arthur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!! I Love Cats!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Wonderful thing they are doing. I'm not sure why people think they can domesticate wild animals, but nevertheless, this place takes them in, cares for them and finds them a home. This is a must see if your in the area.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, Louisiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This place was awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

These people are my heroes. To watch one of the commercials on TV about abused animals and then to go to a place that takes them from those bad environments and treats them with loving care gives me a great appreciation for the monumental efforts of the staff at Turpentine Creek. I read complaints about the fee but I would gladly pay twice what I paid to enter knowing what good care these beautiful animals are getting. After all, vacation time is not a time for pinching pennies. I can't say enough nice things about this place. Are there negatives? Sure, but show me a place that is PERFECT. Areas that could be improved are wider sidewalks, especially for handicapped using wheelchairs or scooters and more benches. We spent more time here than any other attraction we visited during our vacation.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bayoujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

The cats were great, there are tons of them, all with a unique story of how they came to the sanctuary. You get to be quite close to them, which is much better than most zoos. Some of the cats are in their smaller, temporary enclosures, which you can get very very close to. There was one cat that sprayed some people, so watch out and be careful! I'd recommend doing the 4:00pm guided tour, and then feeding time is at 5:00pm. The cats are very active right before their feeding, running around and playing. Take your video camera.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikaRKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So totally awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Didn't stay, but took afternoon tour. How cool to get so close to these animals! They are so beautiful. And to hear them 'talk' to each other....fabulous.

Helpful?
1 Thank geogchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing