We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Onyx Cave Park

Onyx Cave Park
Attraction details
Stacy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was a "beginners" cave..if you have small kids, maybe a good one because it is a short tour. Self guided and not a lot of climbing, so older folks might enjoy it. We wanted to get out of the heat and it was perfect for that!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    131
    64
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mayflower, Arkansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place has a beautiful waterfall you can stand under along a bridge. We took an easy cave tour. Not too long or deep in the caverns. It was a great visit.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jrenay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“simple, so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Looking for something to do out of the heat wave northwest Arkansas is in-- we headed down to the Onyx Cave.

$7.00 for adults.
Simple cave- not strenuous!

If you frequent, or like cave adventures, you'd probably be unimpressed with this one.
Definitely more appropriate for a first-time cave explorer.

Helpful?
1 Thank monikaesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Cave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had fun visiting this cave. It is a short self guided tour with older headsets but we enjoyed it. It's an easier walk than most caves I've been to and would be good for younger kids as the tour only lasts about 30 minutes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easy to access, good for kids, needs maintenance, overhyped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Handrailings were inadequate. Audio tapes worked only about 95%. Experience of cave could be improved through better coordination between audio tour and lighting to point out what features were being discussed in the tour. I couldn't pick out several of the features being discussed. When features were behind plexiglass it wasn't always easy to view as some of the plexiglass was scratched or had condensate on it, not sure which. Otherwise, a nice cave for beginners and children. Not as impressive as others we've seen. We only ran into a couple of other people there on the hot July afternoon. Prices in the gift shop were reasonable and the staff ranged from friendly and engaging to quiet / indifferent. Regrettably the museum was closed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx Cave Park also viewed

 

Been to Onyx Cave Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing