We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same place as 1886 Steakhouse...awful....see reviews” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Dining Room

Crystal Dining Room
Ranked #42 of 129 Restaurants in Eureka Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1886, "The Grand Ol' Lady of The Ozarks" opened her doors to America's travelers. After more than 125 years, the Crescent Hotel has stayed true to keeping the traditions of Historic Hotels alive. One such tradition is in Culinary excellence. At the Crescent Hotel weekdays our Crystal Ballroom is transformed into the 1886 Steakhouse serving the finest steaks in Eureka Springs while on the weekends the Ballroom becomes host to weddings and on Sunday becoming the place where end of week visitors can enjoy the Grandest Brunch in the Ozarks. Such is the case at Arkansas' historic mountaintop spa resort, the Crescent. ... in the tradition of America's Finest Historic Hotels.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Same place as 1886 Steakhouse...awful....see reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Recently changed name to the 1886 Steakhouse so checkout reviews there as well. We had an awful experience. First time my husband and I ever sent back food, leaving only to pay for wine/appetizer. We proceeded to "Local Flavor" cafe which was delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    51
    41
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Flavorless food, bad service & deceiving wine selection”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I write this review to "warn" future diners of the 1886 Crescent Dining Room. Don't try it! You will waste your money, sit for overly long period of time before served, and be served flavorless food. Its a beautiful dining room and atmosphere but does not make up for poor food and service. To start with, we ordered a 2004 selection of wine in which a 2010 bottle was brought out saying there was no difference in age. This took 30 mins by the way. We ordered an appetizer that took 45 mins and was brought out after our salads. Proceeded to see one couple leave before drinks were brought back (we should have done the same) and one couple wait nearly the 45 mins for bill/checkout. The Dining Room wasn't that busy and this one girl waitress was taking up the entire responsibility for tables because our waiter was new and not trained well. When the entrees came out, my husbands $50 ribeye had no flavor and was less than 1/2 inch thick, steamed veggies were cold and not fully cooked, and no idea why sweet potato was burnt; my stuffed pork tenderloin was actually bacon-wrapped tough tenderloin and overcooked. We sent entrees back, paying for wine and appetizer. This was the first for us....but didnt want to further regret paying/eating for that kind of food. The food was like the kind that is served in a buffet line mass-produced. I hope management reads this and takes this criticism constructively. As far as the Crescent Hotel, it's beautiful, historic, and haunted. We enjoyed the ghost tour immensely...so i would in the least try that. We thought perhaps the poor food/service was due to ghosts haunting in the dining room and kitchen :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sept 15 Breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Yucky biscuts and gravy and that's about all that is offered besides sausage links and toast. You can get more offered at a cheap hotel and this is a "resort".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CherylR374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sept 14 wknd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

At $25+/person for a brunch it needs some better ideas for what is offered. Too much meat and salads of the same type.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CherylR374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude wait staff and horrible value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The older lady in the dining area was very rude to customers and they would stand in a corner by the curtain and talk about the customers and make faces. The front desk staff is exactly the same, so I think this is the general concensus of the hotel. The food was mediocre with the brunch costing $25 each and having dried out roast beef for the only luncheon meat and the rest being inexpensive breakfast food such as eggs, pancakes, salads, etc. We asked for a mimosa which was advertised and was told that the bartender had not gotten to work yet and it was 10:30 whereas it was supposed to start at 10:00. I was very disappointed for the cost and think that the hotel in general need to take customer service classes before they lose even more business.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ustcbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing