We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Thorncrown Chapel

Thorncrown Chapel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel won an architecture award in 1980.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

It is worth seeing and if you take the trolley rides it is one of the stops. I'm not really religious but it felt different to sit in the glass chapel in the woods.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,827
    394
    93
    17
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“unique but left not feeling blessed”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We got there, walked down the walk way, and i was amazed, it was beautiful. We walked inside however, and the person there was all but RUDE. Then he told us if we were to take pictures they would have to be taken from the door. Which i did not understand.... But anyhow, beautiful church, but the people who run it need some manners!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BroncoRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“trail ride”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Peace and serenity in a wonderful wooded setting. We started our day at the chapel. A wonder in the woods.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty...”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

This was on my list of things to see while there. It is very pretty, nestled in the woods. But it was a QUICK visit... sat in the pew for a minute, then we were on our way!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank N9473QXSarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

You have to stop in and see this church. Nestled in a wooded area, the beauty of God's handy work is there for you to sit and meditate. All of the 400+ windows are a wonderful way to worship God. Best time to go would be in Oct. to look at the leaves changing colors.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorncrown Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Thorncrown Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing