We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect for children and families of all ages, a...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Tavellerie

South West facing front facade. large pebble courtyard in front of house for your cars
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South West facing front facade. large pebble courtyard in front of house for your cars
Beautiful pool surrounded by fence for peace of mind when holidaying with young children. Living room - sink into a sofa with a glass of wine. Great open fireplace for colder months
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
South West facing front facade. large pebble courtyard in front of house for your cars
Beautiful pool surrounded by fence for peace of mind when holidaying with young children.
Living room - sink into a sofa with a glass of wine. Great open fireplace for colder months
Kitchen - table seats 12
kitchen has 5 burner gas hob, oven, dishwasher, microwave, fridge, washing machine and dryer.
Eat on the sun trap stone terrace surrounded by flowers, fig and olive trees, and a vine.
Play badminton on the lawn, and in summer eat in the cool shade of the mature trees
A view of the pool taken from the gardens. In the distance poplar trees surround our orchard.
Downstairs double room with superkingsize bed and en-suite bathroom
The house from its own grounds - plenty of space to run around or just lie in the sun.
Upstairs double room with antique carved bed and views on to front courtyard
hammocks in the shade of the trees beyond the garden
Upstairs twin room with traditional French beds
our outdoor ping pong table
large twin room upstairs.
Steps from the front courtyard into meadow above.
Cosy fire to relax by in the winter months
beautiful winter scenery around the house
ensuite downstairs bathroom with freestanding bath and shower (unseen)
our grounds in winter
local lanes perfect for winter walks
the terrace at Easter - a sun trap with the sweet smelling wisteria in flower
twin bedroom with cot and toy cupboard - further travel cot available
One of two newly renovated bathrooms upstairs - the other has a large walk in shower.
beautiful gardens to relax in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
La Caillere-Saint-Hilaire, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ellie0411
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect for children and families of all ages, a real gem of a place”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here with a wide range of ages, from my 2 year old right through to my mum of 59.
This place is a hidden haven offering absolutely everything you could ever want, for an easy and relaxed family holiday. I was quiet nervous about travelling with a toddler, but I need not have worried. The journey was easy, route simple and beautifully clear wide amazing roads. It didn't even take long to get use to driving on the left hand side. Services stations were clean and everyone spoke good English.
The house was completely equipped with everything you could possibly need, plastic baby bowls/spoons/cups, high chairs, cots with extra travel cot, stair gates ( god send ), micro wave and a beautiful playroom (my son referred to as toy land) .
On thing worth mentioning is there is a great washing machine and tumble dryer so no need to pack hordes of baby/children clothes, enabling you to keep your packing light.
The house is much bigger than the pictures portray and has ample of space for a large family or two. We went with 5 kids aged 2 - 13 and 5 adults and didn't feel as though we were on top of each other at all.
Lots of garden toys too, sand pit, swings, bikes, toy cars, all the children loved this.
The pool is amazing , again pictures don't go anywhere near doing it justice. And take it from a mum who has endured swimming with children salt water is the way forward. If you want it heated allow a good day for it to reach temperature, was warm enough with the sun for us, but a great benefit to have if needed.
Anyway if your lucky enough to get away outside of the six weeks holidays snap this place up as its a pure gem of a holiday.
We are already booking for next year as already it has become a place of special memory close to our heart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the grounds
Liked least: the internal house pictures/paintings, not a big deal at all just not to our taste.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Liked least: No Boulangerie in the village for us to walk to, to get our daily bread. The nearest one is quite close though - a 5 minute drive away.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
john p
Fletching, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable house with excellent facilities for a great family holiday”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved La Tavellerie; it has large airy rooms, comfortable beds, plenty of space for everyone, good bathrooms, indoor and a choice of outdoor eating spaces, a garden with sun, shade, and many facilities for adults and children including a fabulous pool, and a meadow and a wood! The owner was amazingly helpful and thoughtful, providing even toys and sports equipment for us to use. We would highly recommend this rental to families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden and pool
Liked least: we liked everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house, oozing with character yet totally practical - would highly recommend”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful week at La Tavellerie. While the house is full of a character and feels very homely, it also worked really well for us both in terms of the layout and the facilities. We settled in really quickly and the kids loved all the toys, the pool, the bikes and the space, making the holiday all the more relaxing for the rest of us. I would highly recommend this beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look and feel of the house and gardens and all the space.
Liked least: The dishwasher
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catgal29
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely French Farmhouse”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently retuned from our stay at La Tavellerie with our daughter and other family members. The house is very pretty, with a large front drive and several outdoor garden areas, including a lovely shaded lawn area which was perfect for our young daughter. The pool is a good size and there are several sun loungers and parasols around the pool. The kitchen is spacious and is kitted out with everything you need. The lounge is cool and comfy, with a large fireplace, which we didn't need to use as had good weather. Bedrooms are spacious and the upstairs bathrooms are modern and smart. This house has a very rustic, lived-in, feel and it is evident that the owner's family have used the house a lot. It almost feels as though they packed their bags and moved out the day before you arrived. This gives the property a nice, homely, feel rather than that of a pristine, holiday let with matching ikea crockery and eight of everything! During our stay we visited Fontenay le Compte for the Saturday market and the zoo in Mervent is lovely. Communications with the owner of the property were spot on and the housekeepers were friendly and courteous on arrival/departure. The reasons I have not given a five star rating is because of the lack of any soundproofing at all between two of the upstairs bedrooms and the lounge and kitchen directly below. You can hear absolutely everything through the floorboards and air vents. If you are a very heavy sleeper, this may not worry you. Also, some kitchen equipment/utensils etc could do with renewing. All in all, a lovely, spacious, house in nice spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Shaded garden and nice pool.
Liked least: Old kitchen utensils/equipment and no soundproofing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful, tranquil place, set in stunning countryside - the perfect French escape”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The lovely photographs of La Tavellerie raised our expectations and we weren’t disappointed when we arrived – it really is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures.

The setting is stunning, it sits on a hillside overlooking the rolling hills of the bocage and you could spend your entire holiday sitting and enjoying its charming surroundings.

The house is very tastefully decorated throughout. It has a lovely spacious kitchen in which to prepare and enjoy meals with plenty of equipment and cheerful yellow crockery to remind you that you are in one of the sunniest spots in France.

The sitting room is cosy and comfortable. We visited in April so we did light the log fire in the evenings. The piano and keyboard were a favourite with our older son. There are also plenty of books, games and toys to play with.

Bathrooms are plentiful – all modern and stylish with either roll top baths or good showers. Bedrooms are simply decorated with original works of art adorning the walls.

The extensive grounds are lovely to explore with meadows and woodland for children to play and make dens in. The saltwater pool is a sun-trap and is safely fenced and gated for anyone travelling with young children.

Hammocks and chair swings are there for lazing around in and we borrowed bikes for a local cycle ride. There’s also a huge sandpit for children with buckets, spades and little diggers to use.

The sunny patio is a relaxing spot to enjoy meals al fresco and there is a huge parasol to keep you in the shade if the sun gets too hot. Your only companions will be the small lizards you spot basking in the sun.

La Tavellerie is on the edge of the village of La Jaudonniere. From the house and village there are pleasant walks through the surrounding countryside. We spotted deer, hares and birds of prey circling above on one of our walks.

Tempting though it is to stay put, it is a great base from which to explore this part of the Vendee. Following the owner’s recommendations we visited the nearby market in Fontenay Le Compte, Medieval keeps, a lovely beach, acrobranche where the kids could climb through the trees, and went punting along the canals of the Vendee.

La Tavellerie is a beautiful old house that has been lovingly restored with so much thought given to make it such a welcoming place. Thoughtful touches included the welcome pack of fresh milk, bread, juice and wine. We had a wonderful holiday here.

With no distractions from the TV or computers we were able to spend precious time together as a family. Our kids found so much to occupy themselves with and we enjoyed the tranquillity that the house and gardens offer. We can’t recommend it highly enough and we would certainly love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its setting
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing