We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La demeure de l'ile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La demeure de l'ile
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craon
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Warm Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were very sceptical upon arrival as there does not appear to be anyone at home! Eventually the owner let us in and gave us a warm welcome and took us to our room in the new annex. Very
comfortable and modern but no air conditioning.The breakfast was very well presented and included everything. Parking is an issue, the neighbours complained that we were over the line for parking and we had to move the car. We stayed two nights and the room was only serviced at 7pm the second night when we went for dinner, unacceptable!
The pool area was nice but you had to request the electronic pool cover to be removed prior to use. The gardener cut the lawn around us at 6pm whilst we were sunbathing but the hostess apologised as we were very agitated at our interruption.
The village has very little to offer as everything was closed throughout our two day stay except for the Boulangerie that choose it's own hours. This is a one night stop over en route to your destination.a

Room Tip: Stay in the new annex very modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
20
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for just one night whilst property hunting in the area. The hotel is charming and stylish, and the breakfast was delightful. Very good value. The hostess was friendly with advice on where we could eat out. Sadly nowhere, as we had arrived on a bank holiday! We would definitely stay there again. My only comment was that we didn't think the hotel was open, as it was in darkness

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaJonMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed whilst cycling through the area. The welcome was very friendly.

The house is easy to find and set in a superb position next to the bridge over the river. The situation is peaceful other than for the sound of the church clock chiming and it is a great place to relax with a pool for the summer. Rooms are beautiful and mine was spacious as well as very clean.

Breakfast included eggs and freshly squeezed Orange juice as well as the usual continental.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelskeepturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was on a trip through France and found this wonderful hotel for a brief stop over and what a find. Fantastic rooms set in a magical location next to a stream with a classic French family house. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the owner very attentive and friendly to your needs. I had asked for an evening meal as part of my stay and was presented with a fantastic French style dinner. Though my stay was short ( one night ) this would be a good location for anyone touring the area and wanted a safe, clean and beautifully decorated hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artfuldodger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craon
17.2 mi away
Perier du Bignon Hotel
11.6 mi away
Hotel du Cerf
Hotel du Cerf
#1 of 3 in Chateau-Gontier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Premiere Classe Laval
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Laval
Ibis Budget Laval
#2 of 2 in Bonchamp-Les-Laval
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
11.6 mi away
Parc Hotel
Parc Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chateau-Gontier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La demeure de l'ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La demeure de l'ile

Property: La demeure de l'ile
Address: 16 rue du Vieux Pont, 53400 Craon, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Mayenne > Craon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La demeure de l'ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing