We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Cop Choux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mouzeil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you like to sleep in a chateau the de cop choux chateau can give a good value for your momey. It is nice and simple, service is good, dinner was good, breakfast was like tipical french breakfast, therefore not too special.
Rooms were big.
Not very comfortable for families with more than 2 kids

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itayzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed for an overnight stop off whilst driving south. Found this hotel at reasonable cost as a suprise treat to stay in a french chateux. We couldn,t believe that this is where we were staying as we aproached wow a real chateux. Our room had a huge double bed, modern bathroom and en-suite overlooking the parkland to the front with opening french doors to a juliet balcony. The hotel does have the chabby chic look about it but it was very pleasant. the gardens are good to wander around and have a swimming pool and tennis court. There are even camels in the rear garden.
it was very quiet when we stayed i think that the hotel only has seven rooms, there was no wardrobe in the room but that was no problem for our overnight but what you would do for a longer stay i'm unsure. Breakfast was ok with homemade jams and bought in youghurts adequate but again quiet. The owners do not live there so the gates are shut and you are given a code to get in and out, a bit odd to be locked in at 8.00pm with no bar open or much else to do, a bit spooky in fact as only one other room occupied that night even had owls calling from outside the window.
A truly romantic place for that special occasion, would i go back ? sure and i probably will, thought it was great, a real taste of France with delightfull hosts who couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: upgrade to a premier room for that extra treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanWorcestershireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I booked the Chateau de Cop-Choux as the penultimate night of our touring holiday through the Loire. We were not disappointed and had a wonderful stay in the beautiful Cannelle room overlooking the French gardens.

We made a reservation for dinner and we're so glad we did as the Gourmet menu although simple was superb.

A great experience and one we would truly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsthomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was an overnight stay and a halfway point on a 2 day drive.
We arrived a little early as we did not realise you book in after 4 pm. No worries we just sat under a great tree in their wonderful grounds.
The Chateau was a gret surprise to us and was like stepping back in time. Beautifully and traditionally restored but with a modern bathroom.
We had previously booked for dinner as it was a Sunday (and know what France is like on a Sunday).
We had a warm reception and then enjoyed a local bottle of wine in the setting sun prior to dinner.
Dinner was sensational and all cooked fresh by the resident housekeeper/chef.
We believe we were really lucky to have found this property with some Roman structures within the grounds. Don't miss the local sculptures in the paddock and easy walk just down the hill.
Whilst this is a very special property you do get to experience what the elite must have lived like back in 18th century. However the atmosphere was very relaxed.
We met the owners the next morning and they were very pleasant.

Room Tip: We has a room at the front of the Chateau that overlooked the huge grounds. The doors opened onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a lovely and relaxing stay. The food was simply exquisite with an excellent selection of wine. The bedroom was spacious and confortable. The grounds are lovely to walk around. The hosts were very friendly, helpful and professional.
We would most certainly go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed twice at Cop Choux in May, with different friends, and each time was bliss. The bedrooms are very large & beautifully furnished (we loved the book on each bedside table). Frédéric provided a superb meal, & the accompanying wine was some of the best we have tasted.

Both Frédéric & Patrick welcomed us warmly, and the second time we arrived it was like returning to stay with friends. We also enjoyed talking with Christine (our breakfast host) & maybe we'll see her in New Zealand one day!

All in all, some memorable experiences, and we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetSueNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed overinght at the Château de Cop-Choux as a family of 4; 2 parents and 2 teenage children. We had a suite of 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. We were the only guests as it was during the week and I underatnd that they are busyest at the weekends especially with weddings. I regret that I did not reserve dinner as the visitor books were very compilmentary of the dinner. The breakfast was fine. It's not the easiest plcae to find, but Sat Nav is a great help. For harpists' information, it is very close to the well known Carmac harp factory. Since the last review on trip advisor was written the ownership of the Château de Cop-Choux has changed and it is now owned by Patrick Moreau and Frédéric Ouvrard.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mouzeil
4.9 mi away
Le Domaine des Lys
Le Domaine des Lys
#1 of 3 in Ancenis
82 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel SOZO
Hotel SOZO
#4 of 107 in Nantes
720 reviews
24.3 mi away
Abbaye de Villeneuve
Abbaye de Villeneuve
#1 of 1 in Les-Sorinieres
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Best Western Plus Villa Saint Antoine Hotel & Spa
18.1 mi away
Chateau de Challain
Chateau de Challain
#1 of 1 in Challain-la-Potherie
142 reviews
10.9 mi away
Le Manoir de La Jahotiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Cop Choux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Cop Choux

Address: Cope Choux, 44850 Mouzeil, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Mouzeil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mouzeil
Price Range: $115 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Cop Choux 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de Cop Choux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Cop Choux France/Mouzeil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing